We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very dated!! Certainly not 4*”
Review of Tivoli Carvoeiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here recently for a couple of nights (July 2014). The hotel location is a bit out the way up a hill but once your up there the views are absolutely stunning!!

The hotel is sadly in need of a bit of TLC. If you like bamboo and wicker though you'll be in heaven :) ! The rooms are very dated; basic bathrooms, portable Grundig TV's, no Alarm Clocks, old curtains, carpets and furniture. On the balconies there were 2 plastic chairs and a mini table - for a hotel which such views to not have loungers or a 'proper' table was bizarre.

Most of the rooms I was told had single beds which needed to be pulled together for couples - again strange for this level of hotel.

Certainly not what I would call 4*.

We were on a B&B rate. The breakfast was busy but not mental. Choice was decent but the quality was average. There always seemed to be a big line for the omelettes - perhaps because the rest of the food was not so good.

There were a couple of pools outside which were nice (no problems getting beds) but I think for slightly older kids it could get a bit boring as apart from these and the indoor pool there wasn't much to do. Outside there's a table tennis table which seemed to be on it lasts legs, a PS3 and a portable tele with a Penguin game on it and some darts though!

Room wise if you are going I would strongly recommend paying the extra for a sea view. The views are totally stunning and the one saving grace of the hotel

Location is decent - if you walk down the hill there's a few nice restaurants.

Staff were generally efficient. Management were nice.

Probably wouldn't go back unless it got a major refurb though.

Room Tip: Go for a seaview all the time!! It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SquidAndBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Carvoeiro. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations.
We all look forward to being able to welcome you back again.
Best Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,993 - 1,999 of 3,530 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Well I have just returned from a week at this hotel. I do not normally write reviews owing to time but feel I must in this instance. From the minute we walked into the hotel to the checkout we received nothing but the best attention from all staff. Even when they must be so tired given the hours they all seem to work. Our cases were carried to the room and everything was explained in detail. Yes the rooms are a little tired but the facilities in them work well. Particularly the shower. The mini bar hasn't a lot in it but it did after my shop in town!

The setting.....well it is simply amazing! I was on 6th floor which although it has a wall in front of it afforded complete privacy and the most fantastic views. So many sea gulls swooping and soaring within the cove. Cant complain though as I guess they were inhabiting the cliffs long before this hotel was built. The private beach is so relaxing and the sea clean and exhilarating. It is a bit difficult to get down to but I am 63 and managed it with ease. If you cant make it to the beach the pool is lovely and clean with plenty of beds and umbrellas. Staggeringly there are still the odd individuals who feel the need to mark their spot with a towel. Really NO NEED! Well I am not writing any more as I don't want too many people to go!

Room Tip: As with everyone else get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snatch15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review and excellent rating on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Tivoli Carvoeiro and were particularly impressed with the amazing location and helpfulness of our satff. It is rewarding and motivating to receive such feedback.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from a week here. Wonderful location, never a shortage of sun beds in this stunning setting and you could always get a shade. Had bed & breakfast and found many restaurants to choose from. Pity that breakfast has to be downstairs and all inside when there are much better areas. However, good selection and hot choice was hot.
Requested a high floor, following advice on this site, and given sixth floor. Small room, double bed, small balcony and it was enclosed with solid walls which meant you only saw the sea if you stood up. After first night, asked to be moved to room where we could see the sea sitting on balcony. Very obliging staff on reception. Went back in an hour, as requested and given 409, which was three times the size (it was, in fact a three bedded room with loads of space). And, we could sit and watch everything from the balcony. Very happy. ( so maybe don't ask for top floor). Rooms and bathrooms may be dated but very clean.
Not overly impressed with drinks in the bar or with prices. Only one type of red wine by the glass. Cocktail had hardly any taste of alcohol. Ask for receipts if putting on room account as we were overcharged.
The new boardwalk that goes all along the cliffs as far as the church and school, after which you can take steps to beach or short steep hill down into town, is amazing. Don't miss it. Turn left out of hotel, walk to bus stop at top of hill, turn left and walk to the end of the road and the board walk is on the cliffs opposite.

Room Tip: Detailed in the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank gillmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your construtive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you were satisfied with so many aspects of your holiday, despite the fact that we did not meet your expectations in the bar. Your feedback is valuable to us and greatly appreciated because this is the only way we can correct shortcomings and prevent similar issues from happening again.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location with good service on reception and in the main bar. Sea view rooms overlook a pretty cove - the view is excellent. Short, pretty walk into the centre with bars and restaurants along the way, though a courtesy min bus is available at set times. Breakfast nice, though the four of us were disappointed that the main restaurant with spectacular views to the sea was not used for breakfast. Instead we were seated downstairs in a covered in, more cluttered area that was quite warm with no air conditioning. If you wanted omelette, you had to queue as there was only one person serving. I'm not sure why this hotel doesn't use the main restaurant for breakfast anymore, but it's a selling point so they should do!! Good selection of cocktails but the second ones we ordered needed more alcohol, so we didn't return for more.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your prefrence for Tivoli Carvoeiro and taking the time to share your exeperience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Unfortunately we can not serve breakfast on the main restaurant when occupancy rises beyond a certain occupancy rate, given the limited seats available.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A lovely view to wake up to every morning from our very spacious room.
The room itself was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, piping hot water always available, beautiful large balcony and comfy beds. The decor could do with updating, especially in the bathroom, but this did not distract in any way from the very good standard overall.
Staff were all welcoming and pleasant, always keen to help us if we needed information.
There was no evidence of the sunbed towelathon, as this was not necessary due to an abundance of sunbeds.
Carvoeiro itself is a beautiful resort with lots of restaurants which we found to be great value for money as well as of excellent quality.
The only drawback is for those looking for a beach holiday - the local beach is very small and the tiny cove near the hotel is regarded as unsafe and is therefore inaccessible for all but the very agile due to the fact that the steps have been removed for the last few feet. Other than this, would highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a relaxing holiday in particularly picturesque setting
Mel and Carol

Room Tip: Must be seaview - though most of them are. Would go for higher floors where the view is even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melvyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for you kind review and excellent rating on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and were particularly happy with the brilliant location, the view from your room and helpfulness of our staff.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views. A 10-minute walk into the town where there is a small beach and lots of lovely restaurants and bars. We stayed half board and the food was lovely and plentiful. Breakfast catered for everyone, full English, Continental, Healthy fruits etc. Evening meal was either buffet or a' la carte. We chose buffet and wasn't disappointed. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel is tired and really needs a refurbishment to freshen it up and modernise it, it is very old fashioned. The hotel and rooms were very clean. Wifi was sporadic. Safe's in the room required a deposit (very old), the bathroom was very 80's, with cracked tiles and the oldest hair dryer i've seen in a long time that would have taken me a month to dry my hair (albeit I have long hair). The beds were hard and uninviting and the pillows were dreadful, a cotton slip with what appeared to be a few balls of cotton wool stuffed into it. When we asked for replacement pillows the receptionist told us it was unlikely they had anything better. It is a shame the hotel is so tired as it could be fantastic given the scenery and setting. I wouldn't return unless they modernised it.

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view room room, the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SD_RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli carvoeiro with us. We are sorry that the room you satyed in did not meet your expectations.
We look forward to being able to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good hotel, fine service, good size rooms, sea view room with fantastic views

Staff all friendly and wanting to help

Pool great and private beach

Was with a group and stayed for 4 nights

Have visited this lovely small town many times and will book again

Electric bike hire 7 euro well worth a go

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful review on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at the Tivoli Carvoeiro. We are delighted you and your group enjoyed so many aspects of your holiday.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 18 in Carvoeiro
751 reviews
16.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carvoeiro Hotel
Carvoeiro Hotel
#13 of 18 in Carvoeiro
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Carvoeiro

Address: Apartado 1299 - Vale do Covo | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £76 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Carvoeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algarve is a recognized holiday destination, but also a privileged destination for special meetings and memorable events. In the picturesque village of Carvoeiro, on Vale Covo beach, where the blue sea draws cutouts on the imposing cliffs and the fine sands contrast with the green of the golf courses, Tivoli Carvoeiro is reborn. The high standards of quality and level of service of the Tivoli brand are portrayed in this unique space of architecture aired and open to the horizon, which proves to be the right choice for the best family holidays as well as meeting and differentiating events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Carvoeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Tivoli Hotel Carvoeiro
Carvoeiro Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Almansor
Tivoli Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing