We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing and tired 4* Star hotel”
Review of Tivoli Carvoeiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A disappointing and tired 4* Star hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Arrived 26 Aug and disappointed. After reading reviews we were really looking forward to our stay. The hotel is tired and a debatable 4*. 2 soft drinks €5. Twin room instead of the booked double. Not eaten yet so can't review food. Previous reviews said plenty sunbeds, unfortunately not our experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Carvoeiro with us. We are sorry that we could not met your expectations.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    1,440
    410
    77
    52
See reviews for
720
1,648
82
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
romsey
Level Contributor
226 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Although the pool is not large, there is always a nice group of youngsters playing carefully and somehow all ages and nationalities mix in. The 'entertainment' team do offer some simple activiites for very young children. Its an excellent base for a family, with a super sandy beach at low tide, plenty of sun beds and the large family rooms on 3rd floor can easily accommodate 4.
some facitlies are a bit dated, umbrellas frequently had to be swopped and there was a tendency for people to book sunbeds by the pool from very early. IN a similar situation members of staff marked unoccupied beds and if no one there 1 hour later removed towels. might be a good idea for Tivoli.

Room Tip: always worth getting a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomseyChechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent saty with us. I am glad that you found our hotel excellent for family with small children. Your comments are greatly appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is excellent, well situated with magnificent views, We stayed on the 6th floor with a perfect view of the hotel setting on the coast. The service and overall standard was excellent. Please sign up to the hotel loyalty scheme to get wifi free Swisscom (internet service isnt great)
The hotel and its staff are excellent

Room Tip: Request sea view on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review and excellent rating on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Tivoli Carvoeiro and were particularly happy with the views, the service and with our dedicated staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Having read all the reviews beforehand my wife and I chose the hotel for the location. We were not disappointed - it is stunning. While the hotel is not ultra modern it was very comfortable and relaxed with everything immaculate. Our room was a sea view on the third floor. It was much larger than expected and the balcony was also large with excellent views. We stayed half board at the hotel and were more than happy with the food on offer. Good selection at both breakfast and evening meal with a number of fish dishes in particular. In the evening we had no difficulty eating on the outside terrace where the view across the cove and sea is stunning. Service was unobtrusive but attentive. Without any prompting from us and much to our surprise a bottle of fizzy and some cake arrive in our room on my wife's birthday...... nice attention to detail.

The beaches around the hotel are all excellent. The hotel beach is OK to get to at low tide but there are so many others within reach. We walked east along the cliffs to a number of beaches with Carvalho being the best. Also on the other side of Carvoeira the Prai Paraiso is worth a visit. Carvoeira itself has a nice beach and the town is pretty laid back. As others have mentioned the new board walk along the cliffs is useful as an alternative route to town.

For a relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings I would recommend the Tivoli.

Room Tip: Got to be a sea view rooom......but not top floor which appears to have restricted views if sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank offagainagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at the Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your holiday and that our dedicated team made you feel so welcomed.
We all look forward to welcomig you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just got back from spending 5 nights at Tivoli and it was a great experience.
The hotel is located 10min walk from the city centre, the view from the room (get a sea view room) is breathtaking, the rooms are a little bit dated but it's fine. There are plenty of sun loungers so no need to rush early in the morning to fight for one. :)
The breakfast was good, there is a nice selection of food and the staff were doing a great job at replenishing the food and clearing tables quite quick.
The one thing that I definitely think needs to be improved is the internet connection, I personally wasn't too bothered as I was out most of the time but a lot of people would be annoyed by it.
Now, let me tell you what really stood out for me... and it was the customer service, everyone is friendly, happy to help, smiley and this makes such a huge difference wherever you go.
The maid, the bartender, the staff at the restaurant and of course the reception, especially Kader who is just the loveliest guy. Working in the food and customer service industry myself, I know how difficult it can get sometimes but I appreciated all the staff, they made our stay very enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to stay in Carvoeiro!
Keep it up! :)

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19DanyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your preference for Tivoli Carvoeiro and taking the time to share your exeperience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our brilliant team made you feel so welcomed. We are trully commited to delivering excellent service.
We all look to welcoming you back again soon.
My best wishes,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We recently visited the Tivoli hotel in Carvoeiro as part of a wedding party so we didn't actively choose it however we were very happy with our stay. The setting of the hotel is gorgeous with beautiful cliff views and a walkway down to a secluded cove. It is definitely worth paying more for one of the balcony side rooms. The food was fairly average, I wouldn't go all inclusive especially with so many restaurant options a short walk away. The hotel is situated very close to the main strip of restaurants and there is a lot of variety, its a great little town. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were nice and clean and very spacious.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a balcony although avoid the lowest level as you would be right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review and excellent rating on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Tivoli Carvoeiro and were particularly happy with the amazing location and helpfulness of our staff.
Looking forward to be able to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location you can walk along the seafront (cliff edges) all the way into carvoeiro during the day only or stroll up the main street at night which takes about 10-15 minutes, really its a blessing to help burn of some of this holiday calories :-)
We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the pool and out onto the sea. The hotel seemed overcapacity, there is a difference between being full and over capacity some of the staff were new and unfortunately it showed, but not to be too downbeat, for the most part everyone was helpful and pleasant.

The pool is good and there are plenty of lounges available so you can soak up the sun.

The room was fine, but dated.

The Internet in this hotel was shocking around €15 a day (which fortunately we got for free by joining their loyalty program) and it hardly worked! Any hotel that cannot see that high speed reliable Internet is a must is 3 stars for me. I want to spend 10 minutes checking emails then getting on with my holiday, not 10 minutes + 20 minutes of loading time!

We made use of the breakfast most days and the staff do a great job laying on a morning banquet for the guests. There is also a stand where you can get freshly made waffles or omelettes which were great (although the queue could be a bit lengthy so two staff on this would be a huge plus during peak season).

We have to mention the sunset dining experience, it was expensive but amazing, it was just the two of us with our own waiter and the food was great, if we could rate this separately it was 5 stars the whole way!

Overall we liked the hotel and would recommend it as a safe bet for a base to relax, but we found nothing particularly outstanding (when we checked out we weren't asked any questions about our stay) and will look at other options nearer the town based on the price before booking here again.

Room Tip: Sea view balcony is worth the extra if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scottalfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamantino S, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Carvoeiro with us.
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel.
Kind Regards,
Diamantino Silvestre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#9 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Carvoeiro

Property: Tivoli Carvoeiro
Address: Apartado 1299 - Vale do Covo | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Carvoeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algarve is a recognized holiday destination, but also a privileged destination for special meetings and memorable events. In the picturesque village of Carvoeiro, on Vale Covo beach, where the blue sea draws cutouts on the imposing cliffs and the fine sands contrast with the green of the golf courses, Tivoli Carvoeiro is reborn. The high standards of quality and level of service of the Tivoli brand are portrayed in this unique space of architecture aired and open to the horizon, which proves to be the right choice for the best family holidays as well as meeting and differentiating events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tivoli Carvoeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Tivoli Hotel Carvoeiro
Carvoeiro Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Almansor
Tivoli Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing