We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TIVOLI - 'I LOV IT'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tivoli Carvoeiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“TIVOLI - 'I LOV IT'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

After booking the wrong hotel last year, (the Sol), my wife trusted me enough to have another go, and, second time lucky, we arrived at the Tivoli just after Christmas to enjoy a few days of rest and relaxation, interspersed with plenty of long walks. We were not disappointed by any aspect of the hotel, and received exactly what we requested, i.e. a double-bedded room with a spectacular sea view from our balcony, and no hint of a smoker having been near the place.
In line with last year, the weather was generally good; a couple of days of rain, and a good deal of warmth and sunshine. One good feature of the Tivoli is that if it does rain, you don't feel like an extra in 'Key Largo', as there are numerous lounge areas where one can relax in comfort.
The bedroom was comfortable, the service was good, and the buffet breakfast was just as one would expect - chewy bacon, lukewarm eggs, dodgy sausages and a toaster that seemed to make the bread even paler. There were, however, many alternatives to choose from, and who wants to eat bacon and egg on your holiday anyway? We found that a Mista toastie at the Imprevisto bar at about 2 p.m. was all that was needed to keep us going until dinner.
We decided not to eat at the hotel buffet in the evenings, preferring to walk down into the town and try a different restaurant each evening, with mixed results. They say that one should never go back to somewhere that has impressed in the past, but we had to try O Tasco again, and enjoyed good food and service for a second time. Repeat visits, to the Chinese restaurant at the bottom of the hill, and A Galeria, were not as good, and in the case of the latter, disastrous, with the Fawltyesque owner,(with mobile strapped to ear), presiding over poor, slow service, cold food, and a visit from the local SWAT team! (They were trying to placate a group of a dozen irate diners, whose booking had clearly been lost in the ozone!) Thank goodness for the toastie!
Most days, we left the hotel after breakfast, and turned left. On New Years Day, we went to the right; and ten minutes later, were in the next cove, enjoying equally spectacular views, this time down at sea level. Fantastic! If you decide to take a stroll from Monte Carvoeiro towards Ferragudo, save yourself twenty minutes, and take a short cut via the Quinta Paraiso Park, and follow the signposts for scuba club and supermarket ( not in the same building), admiring the lovely villas on the way. I am sure that the folk at the park will not mind, provided you purchase a property!
If you are without transport, the local bus service to Lagoa gives one access to several local towns, including Silves, which is worth a visit. It is still disconcerting to see the driver on his mobile as he negotiates tight bends, but no-one seems to bother over there, and when not on the phone, the driver will be holding an heated conversation with someone halfway down the bus anyway!
After two New Year visits to Carvoeiro, we love the place, and will return to the hotel(not the Sol) soon. If you haven't been to the Algarve, give it a go, but don't nab our room at the Tivoli.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    1,432
    407
    76
    51
See reviews for
715
1,633
82
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

We visited this hotel last year in October and we were determined to visit again this year.We were not disappointed.We had a sea view room on the 3rd floor with superb sea views.The hotel is in a peaceful location but a 5minute walk will take you to a selection of restaurants.A Rede was our favourite with fresh fish bought daily from fishermen at Benagil.We sampled superb sea bass and King prawns.Fantastic...
The hotel is in the early stages of renovation and upgrading to a 5* hotel.Work on the ground floor had begun and we were warned on check in that there could be some issues with noise from the workmen.However we only heard noise on the penultimate day,but I would agree that it was very intrusive,so please be aware of this if you are going to book this hotel and request a quiet floor well away from the current renovation work.
We were on B&B basis-plenty of choice ,cereals ,bread,jam,pastries ,cake,bacon ,beans ,scrambled,boiled,fried eggs,salad,cold meats and cheese,fruit juices and fresh fruit- it certainly set us up for the day!IThe weather was brilliant whilst we were there,so we were able to sit outside for breakfast on the balcony overlooking the cove .What a beautiful view..I hope that the tariff doesn't go through the roof once the renovations have been completed because we would certainly love to visit this hotel next autumn.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniversarycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Haviing viewed the hotel website we had high expectations of the hotel and its location; we were not disappointed. Although we did not have a sea view the room was well appointed, clean and spacious - and quietly situated at the rear of the hotel. Avoid rooms overlooking the car park, and bear in mind balcony rooms with sea view have to contend with the nightly entertainment! The 'hotel' beach is beautiful, although down some very steep steps; the pool is big enough and surrounded by enough sun beds to satisfy everyone. We had the half-board option - and were very pleased with what was on offer. The quality of the food was very good, varied and plentiful - and a much better option than trailing into town on a nightly basis. Alcohol is fairly priced - the house wine is very drinkable, although I would give the cocktails a miss! Great place, great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunty03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

When booking our trip to Portugal, we wanted to find a hotel in the Algarve a little off the beaten track, but not too far. Most of the reviews we read were quite accurate, and well explained the Tivoli. The views are stunning, and never get old. I would definitely recommend a seaview room. Without that, just an average place.

The rooms do need an update. The furnishings, etc. are dated, but clean. Bathroom was bit tired as well. Tiny elevators move guests between floors. Not a big inconvenience, but they can only handle a few people at a time. I must say I have never seen a hotel charge for a lock on the room safe in all of my travels. I'm sure it happens elsewhere, but not in places I have stayed. Our room did not have wireless access, either. There were a couple of PCs for public use in the lobby, but were almost always in use. On the upside, you really shouldn't need/want the internet in the Algarve!

We did not use much of the hotel service, but where we did, it was adequate. Pool service was good. The pool itself was nice; the kids (ages 12/13) loved it, and the private beach as well. Just a word of caution to those sensitive travelers, the pool was topless for many.

The walk into Carvoeiro was very easy, not nearly as difficult as some lead to believe. Ten minutes or so and you are in the heart of everything. Lots of choices for restaurants, pubs, etc.

All said, the Tivoli is well represented by most opinions on TripAdvisor. Hotel location is fab, but the rooms are a bit tired. But who spends much time in the room anyways? Carvoeiro was a nice little town, not terribly crowded. In the middle of July, we never waited once for a dinner table. Being an American, it was also nice not being surrounded by other American tourists :) That alone will draw us back to Portugal!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roverelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed half board and the buffet food was great- in terrms of never ending quantity. The quality was good too but not particularly Potuguese or imaginative. No Portuguese steak or sardines.
10-15 mins walk into town centre. The cliff route to be recommended rather than down the busy main street.
A large hotel. Personally I prefer something smaller.
Clean and hotel staff mainly friendly apart from the occasional unsmiling waiter/barman.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argybargy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

This was the second time to the Tivoli in Carvoeiro and we were really disappointed. We had stayed the previous November and had a lovely room and the sea view rooms all have fantastic views where you can sit on an evening with a drink and watch the sunset or sit during the day and soak up the sun if you do not feel like being round the pool.
This time we noticed that the hotel was looking tired and dated and our room, which still had magnificient views, was old and worn. it was clean but looked grimy and there was rain overnight and this came through the ceiling and was dripping all night onto the bedside lamp, until we moved it obviously. We could see by a stain on the celing that this was not the first time this had happened and it looked like it had been there some time with noone bothering to do anything about it. I know they do not have much rain in the Algarve but this needed dealing with.
When we told reception they did not seem to be interested and when we found out there was due to be rain again we asked for a different room. The room they offered us was in a worse condition than ours and was still dirty from the previous guests. There was blood on the sheets and even though I knew these would be taken away I did not want to sleep on that mattress. I know this probably goes on a lot and with other bodily fluids but once I had seen it then I could not have slept there. I do not know why they could not have shown us a room that was already free as the hotel was by no means full but we stayed in the same room and didn't sleep much with the pat pat of rain hitting the carpet, and bedside table (we had put a glass there but it filled up within about 30 mins so we were constantly up to change it).
The staff are neither friendly nor horrible, they just do there job and you get a smile every now and then.
The views are gorgeous and the hotel is in a good position as you can easily walk into town. If they overhaled the rooms and gave the hotel a lick of paint then I would recommend this hotel to others. It's just a shame they are letting it go a bit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolanism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Stayed here for a few nights with my wife and 1.5yr old son. The staff were excellent, very helpful and accommodating at all times. View from hotel rooms, bar and restaurant are fantastic. However, the rooms badly need a revamp and charging €3 per day to rent a safe lock and not providing irons in the rooms is ridiculous for a 4 star hotel in this day and age - very annoying (they want you use the overpriced in-house ironing service... so we bought a travel iron).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
2.5 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Carvoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Carvoeiro

Property: Tivoli Carvoeiro
Address: Apartado 1299 - Vale do Covo | Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400-553, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Carvoeiro 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algarve is a recognized holiday destination, but also a privileged destination for special meetings and memorable events. In the picturesque village of Carvoeiro, on Vale Covo beach, where the blue sea draws cutouts on the imposing cliffs and the fine sands contrast with the green of the golf courses, Tivoli Carvoeiro is reborn. The high standards of quality and level of service of the Tivoli brand are portrayed in this unique space of architecture aired and open to the horizon, which proves to be the right choice for the best family holidays as well as meeting and differentiating events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Carvoeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Carvoeiro Hotel Carvoeiro
Tivoli Hotel Carvoeiro
Carvoeiro Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Almansor
Tivoli Carvoeiro Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing