We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely not 4* especially the restaurant very poor indeed!”
Review of Hotel Baia Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Baia Cristal
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definitely not 4* especially the restaurant very poor indeed!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Things started badly when we arrived we were given a ground floor room at the back of the hotel overlooking a 12 ft. chain link fence and gravel with tall dark pines cutting out the light. The terrace was a couple of rows of tiles and white plastic table and 2 chairs stacked in the corner and all covered in dust and pine needles. The room was small and dark and had no windows just a door which couldn't be left open as it was a security risk.The dining room was the worst we have ever experienced for food, decor and service. The restaurant manager seems to have lost the plot. This was supposed to be 4* but resembled a school canteen, plates were scraped into plastic boxes in the dining room, there were no niceties like tablecloths candles or flowers. The staff were too laid back chairs were left scattered the windows were so filthy you couldnt see out of them.The air conditioning wasn't on a high enough setting so that it was unbearably hot and windows were kept closed ( because of mosquitoes)! When we insisted they open a door near us the door was jammed and they bent a knife trying to release the catch., this was a fire exit. Oh dear the list is endless tired decor, 3 choices of food for dinner Lasagne, spongy fish nuggets, and pork medalions resembling rubber rings, ants crawling in a long train to food on the floor that had not been cleaned. Breakfast was even worse streaky bacon swimming in grease fried eggs cooked en masse and stuck to the tray, 3 cerealsto choose from and tinned fruit salad ,. After complaining to the manager we were told this was a 25 year old hotel with a 5 year plan for refurbishment and that times were hard . Well the hotel was full there seemed to be plenty of income and not to many signs of refurbishment. The rest of the hotel was ok the bar area was nicely laid out , the pool was reasonable but not heated. We elected not to eat there although we had paid for half board, so we had a 20 minute arduous walk morning and evening into town, uphill and down dale. The local beach was a steep walk down and an even steeper walk back. And the sea was freezing and doesn't warm up apparently. We went on an interesting excursion by boat to the cliff caves,. Would we go to this hotel again or the Algarve for that matter definitely a big NO!!! Very very disappointed with it all .

Room Tip: Don't accept room 208 on the ground floor over looking 12ft chains link fence and gravel and tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Owner at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Customer
You spent a few days at the Hotel Baía Cristal and then you made ​​comments about a hotel of your imagination. You know that your comments do not correspond to reality...
Regards,
Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    174
    111
    38
    24
See reviews for
135
226
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have just returned from the Baia Cristal hotel (12-19 July). I went with my 18yr old daughter for a relaxing break; and it was just that. The hotel is some way out of the town and the area is very hilly, so if you have any mobility difficulties probably not the hotel for you (also, lots of steps within the hotel site too). we had a hire car from the airport (Faro) and trip is about 40mins and straight forward - found the area to be well signposted throughout. We arrived at the hotel at about 12.45pm and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a sute, which are along the side of the car park. Very nice rooms, spacious, very clean, good air con. There is a TV, with 2 english chanels (BBC1 and sky news, telephone and small sink, fridge area - not enough for self catering, but good to keep your water cold etc. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and I have no complaints at all on either front. Breakfast was between 7.30 - 10.30 so catered for a sleep in. No matter what time you went there always seemed to be full stock of everything. Fairly usual hotel type of breakfast, cold meats and cheese, fresh and tinned fruit and yogurt, cereal, breads, croissants and a variety of hot items - good hot drink machines offering full variety and nice fresh juice.

I found all the staff I came into contact with at the hotel to be very helpful and friendly - A particular bonus of the hotel was the pool area - no issues with people reserving sunbed and unearthly hours of the morning, like some other hotel's i've stayed in. I can't comment about evening meals or entertainment as we tended not to stay in during the evenings. There are a good variety of local restaurants around the area - something for everyone.

There is a market in the area at Quartiera (about 30mins by car) on a Wednesday - pretty standard, usual type of fare - there was quite a police presence around the gate and i believe there are some issues with pick pocketing, but we did not experience any problems - no charge for entry.

Can't comment on the spa as did not use any of these facilities - there was a games room downstairs with the indoor swimming pool which appeared to have a range of games (tabe tennis, pool etc)

All in all our stay was relaxing and enjoyable - the hotel was clean and well maintained with helpful, friendly staff - no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbeyswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and special mention to our staff and service.

We learn a lot with the reviews and it helps us to improve and correct services.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Hotel Baía Cristal.

Kind regards,

Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Baia Cristal is a good, value for money hotel, with many amenities on site and friendly welcoming staff. We had booked into the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis, but it was no problem at all to buy extras and add them onto our room bill. The location is quiet, with a nice beach nearby and the town only a 15 minute walk away. The tennis court and other recreational facilities are good. Booking a car is advisable for at least part of your stay, as there is more too see elsewhere in the Algarve. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others. However, the room we stayed in was in need of a little updating and I would question whether the hotel is a 4 star hotel. I would place it between 3 and 4.

The only slightly strange part of the hotel's service was the bar, which was chronically understaffed (one man was taking orders, cooking food and serving it!) and which only served it's menu of baguettes and burgers until 6pm (even though the same menu was available 24 hours through room service). The onsite restaurant served a 'formal' menu into the evening which may not be as appealing to children or those just wanting a snack. This mattered little to us, as we mostly ate at other restaurants in the evening, but it is worth bearing in mind if you plan to go full board or all inclusive. We have still given the service 4 out of 5 though, as the man staffing the bar should be commended for his abilities to be as quick as possible and efficient while producing good food and staying calm and friendly in what must be a stressful environment!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonWhite82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to write your review, very much appreciated.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Baía Cristal. Our aim is to work hard to provide an even better experience, and for that reason your comments and feedback are very helpfull to help us recognise areas for improvement

With our best regards,

Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel is 'ok' (but not much more) for a 3 stars hotel, but quite poor for a four star. The staff are not rude, but not very caring either. Nothing is very bad, but everything is a bit shabby. No wi-fi is available, which my husband and I thought it is a major flaw for a four star hotel in 2013 and the bathroom in the room was just dingy and had major problems with the drain in the bathtub, which we talked to the hotel staff about, but they didn't really take care of. We don't need a four start hotel and we were not very bothered, but it is not good value for money and we wouldn't go back or recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your review and for your constructive feedback.

Our aim is to improve our facilities and conditions of the hotel in general and the comments of our guests are very importantes to help us recognise areas for improvement.

We would like to welcome you back at Hotel Baía Cristal in the near future.

Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked the Baia Cristal through an on-line search as part of a self-book last minute holiday, arriving in our hire car at 01:00 in the morning, we had no problem locating the hotel or finding a parking space.
We were greeted by the night porter and were directed to our room. As the hotel bar had shut, we asked for a taxi into Carvoeiro, as we weren’t yet ready for bed, this was arranged by the night porter.
On waking the next morning we were impressed by how quiet the hotel was, however, we were on the third floor with a sea view, so had no other apartments above us. The room was clean and had all we needed, although it was in need of updating and also had the smallest balcony I have ever seen, the small table and two chairs pretty much filled it up.
Breakfast was fine, with a choice of hot or cold buffet, even at 10:00 there was plenty of choice (breakfast 07:00 – 10:30), the same however can’t be said for the pool bar which only offered the local draft beer and had little else available in the way of bottled beers and ciders ect, a tad disappointing.
We never had a problem finding a sun bed around the pool, which it must be said, is quiet small for the number of rooms, however, it never get so crowded that you couldn’t swim from one end to the other. The slight niggle was that everything was left as it was from the day before i.e. sunbeds scattered everywhere, waste bins still full from yesterday and the nights leaf-fall still in the pool, the pool man only seemed to appear about 11 ish even though the pool hours are 8 to 8!
It’s a bit out of town if you don’t like walking, but the taxi ride is only 5 euro and there is a great beach with a bar just a short walk from the main entrance.
All in all a nice place, with friendly staff (apart from the woman when we checked out, who couldn’t be bothered to ask if we had a nice stay or acknowledge our existence………..there’s always one!) and a laidback no frills atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view, if possible the ones away from the pool area near the tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that your experience at Hotel Baía Cristal was very good until the end of your stay, except the moment of check-out that we regret.

Your comments about our service are also much appreciated, it is our aim to provide the best service for a memorable and relaxing holiday.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Baía Cristal and Carvoeiro and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Have just returned from 10nights at the Baia Cristal. We had a great holiday.... We arrived around dinner time on the Sunday and straight away we were told we'd been upgraded to a suite- great start to the holiday as we'd only paid for a studio!

The hotel is situated about 10mins from Carvoeiro centre, however there is a nice Italian restaurant across the road (we ate there twice and had pizza takeaway twice!)
There's also a restaurant on the beach (5mins walk) and some towards the Rocha Brava resort.

The walk really isn't bad- nice to stroll after you've finished dinner or just 5euros taxi (2mins drive)

The hotel itself had everything we needed- a nice pool area with sufficient loungers, beds were comfy and maids came in everyday. Free air con in the rooms and BBC1 and Sky News channels.

We hired a car so travelled around the local area, however Carvoeiro was by far my favourite resort. In the centre there's loads of restaurants to choose from and a small bay- (however there's many other beaches within a short drive)

We didn't sit in the bar for entertainment as we only went on B&B basis, however the breakfast was fine for us- croissants warm from the oven, cooked breakfast if you want that and fresh melon/pineapple, yoghurts, cereal- what more would you need?

For the price we paid, we were pleased with the service received, the cleanliness of the hotel and location, you can't expect too much for a cheap 4 star hotel!!

We would 100% return again and recommend to others....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Na0mi_W87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are very happy to hear that your stay at Hotel Baía Cristal meet your expectations and that you have had a nice and relaxing stay with us. Your comments will also be shared with our staff.

We all look forward to welcome you back soon

Warm regards,

Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We've just returned from a week staying at the Baia Cristal in Carvoeiro. We booked our trip through lastminute.com picking one of their four star 'secret hotels'. Having read several positively glowing recent and photos reviews on Trip Adviser, I thought we had a great deal and the hotel looked lovely and was reasonably priced for the number of stars.
We've stayed at many four and five star hotels before in Europe and further a field, (not to brag but to put my comparison into context) so my expectations were high. The driveway was nice and the main foyer and guest areas are nice and clean but not luxurious.

I have to say we were deeply disappointed when we got to our room. Although clean, it was dark and with two single beds pushed together. So not a double room, as we requested. I opened the curtains and noticed they had a huge rip down one of them, again not very 'four star'. The room also had a bizarre locked cupboard, we later found out that that was a unused kitchenette. Our booking was for a ‘sea view’, if you squinted you could see the sea! We stayed in room 442 which was right beside the housekeeping cupboard, so very noisy.

We thought our TV didn't work so I went down to report it to reception. I mentioned the ripped curtain and the receptionist didn't seem to really care.
The room was cleaned every day, not to a very high standard. The replacement towels were worn and ripped/with holes. It’s absolutely shocking and disgusting for a four (or any star) hotel.
You have to pay €14 to hire a safe, very pricey and it should really come as standard. No iron, ironing board or tea/coffee making facilities. A basic requirement for any four star.
Breakfast was okay, if you didn’t mind the flies sitting on the cheese and meat. The pool bar does a good selection of food but it's pricey, that's how they can maybe justify a four star.
Another guest complained about the lack of four star facilities and was spoken to very badly by the manager named Pedro. They later moved hotel.
I've stayed in Carvoeiro before at another four star hotel Vale D’ei Rei, which I would highly recommend - it is a true four star.

In all, the resort and people are lovely but please stay somewhere else not Baia Cristal, it’s truly awful AND NOT A FOUR STAR! We certainly would never go return.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel -simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fripp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Manager at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to respond to your comments, but as your description is pure fiction I can not answer ...
greetings,
Nelson Pascoal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carvoeiro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
2.8 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
#12 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Cristal

Property: Hotel Baia Cristal
Address: Vale de Centianes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#8 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful places in the Algarve, on a cliff top, the Hotel Baia Cristal offers a peaceful atmosphere with a fantastic sea view. Upon the beach of Vale Centeanes and 1700 m from Carvoeiro beach, this 4 star hotel has 120 rooms. With areas from 36m2 to 55m2, Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal 14 Suites sea view, 10 Suites garden view, 38 Rooms sea view and 58 Rooms land view, with Private bathroom, Satellite TV, Individual A/C, Minibar, Safe, Direct dial telephone, Balcony, Tea and Coffee facilities, Kitchenette (only in suites). Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal Restaurant Gaivota, a cosy restaurant with beautiful views to the sea. Open for breakfast and dinner with Portuguese and international cuisine; and Bar "Albatroz", a relaxing bar with live music, ideal for enjoying the sunset in the company of a delicious cocktail. The terrace serves meals and snacks throughout the day. During the Summer, there is also Barbeques, where guests can enjoy barbecues by the pool, filled with popular music and dance; and also a Pool Bar "BierGarten", where it is possible to enjoy refreshing drinks throughout the day. For Leisure, there are two outdoor Swimming pools, a kid's club, Tennis court, Giant chess board, Indoor Swimming pool, Sauna, Turkish bath, Fitness room, Massage and body treatment room, Games room (snooker, table football, ping pong and video games). For business purposes, there is Meeting room "Lagoa" with Capacity up to 80 people (8,5m x 10,85m x 2,29m). Other services: 24 Hour reception, Multilingual staff, Tour and information desk, Wireless internet, Live music, Car rental, Private parking, and a Shuttle bus to Carvoeiro. Vale de Centeanes Beach: 300m, Carvoeiro Beach: 1.7 km, Lagoa: 7.5 km, Portimao: 16 km, Faro Airport (FAO): 65 km, Lisbon Airport (LIS): 275 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Baia Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Cristal Hotel
Baia Cristal Vale Centianes
Hotel Baia Cristal Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing