We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Hotel Baia Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baia Cristal
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stayed here for 7 nights from the 11th May, we arrived early afternoon and was able to store our luggage, we were given excursion trips and car rentals plus info on the all inclusive, receptionist was very nice and told us that lunch would be served in 15 minutes, our all inclusive started straight away and was able to get some drinks and then lunch, our room was then ready and headed down, we asked for a sea view which we got and the room was very clean. Rooms were cleaned every day, swimming pool was lovely and wasn't busy so was able to relax, the walk into town was about 20 minutes but there was free shuttle to book if needed, there's a small beach just out to the right of the hotel which was amazing but the tide does come in afternoon so get there for the morning, food was great, loved the salad bar and the local wine and beer was good, good selection for breakfast lunch and dinner, entertainment was good, did aerobics in the pool for a laugh which I enjoyed. There's a gate at the back of the hotel where you can get access to the cliff tops, we got some amazing pictures up there. We used the jacuzzi and sauna, just asked at reception and they turned it on, we went to slide and splash water park on the Friday as we wanted something exciting to do, best decision we made had a great day here, we booked at reception and got shuttle bus to park which picked us up at 4pm, on the sat was my fiancés birthday, and after lazing by the pool we got back to our room to find birthday cake :) also last day in restaurant we were given a shell. Only thing I would say is if you want holiday to visit pubs bars etc this is a way out of town, however taxi rank was in town and only costs 4 euros to come back up the hill, if you want a relaxing time then this is the place to go! Lovely weather all week as well which really topped it off, :) :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizsmith50460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and your review.

We are very glad to know that you have had a good time in the Hotel Baía Cristal Beach & Spa Resort, and that you apreciate our staff and our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindests regards,

Vera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel and can't believe some reviewers have said food wasn't good as it was excellent !! A wide selection every night with a lot of lovely salads in varying flavours and including rice pasta and fruit !
Staff were excellent and very attentive only problem was when the restaurant was busy you could wait a while for a drink - we just popped to the bar though as it was easier :)
Very clean all around the hotel and rooms not put to date modern but bathrooms lookeD like recently re tiled and the rooms were large airy and had flat screen tv where we got addicted to CBS action channel lol x
All inclusive was worth it with drinks being very generous too and snacks throughout the day by the pool bar
Fabulous views and on hill top just 10 mins walk down to Caveiero which is a lovely bustling town with lots of small streets and shops bars and restaurants not too spoilt and enjoyed more than Albufrueria
Transfer not too long either from airport which is another plus !
All in all you cannot fault Portugal and this was no different only issues were entertainment not that great but we headed out in the evening or just chilled and went to our room for a few drinks on the balcony to admire the views and when they had a bus trip in they became very busy and felt a bit neglected after the superb attention before this so it may be busy in high season. It hope they would put more staff on ?
Bar staff were all lovely and we tipped at end if holiday was was well worth it
Would recommend definitely and may even go again :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and your review.

We are very pleased to know that you have had a relaxing time with us, and that you apreciate our staff, our service and our rooms.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindests regards,

Vera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I was really disappointed with the Baia Cristal Beach and Spa Resort Hotel; it certainly does not rate 4 stars.
The meals were poor. Breakfast was the worst: they never served fried eggs and the bacon was always cold. One morning we had to leave early and arrived for breakfast before the restaurant opened. Even immediately after opening time, the bacon was stone cold – maybe they had cooked it the previous night and expected it to heat up on the hotplate. You could always get a cold, hard-boiled egg, and occasionally they served scrambled or poached egg.
The evening meal was better, but the food was rarely hot enough. Typically, there was a choice of one fish and two meat dishes. Often the food labelling was inadequate, simply “meat” or “fish”. I was disappointed not to have any Portuguese specialities, no piri-piri chicken at all.
We went all-inclusive, but found too many things that were not included. We had to pay for the room safe and internet access. Cocktails and local (i.e. Portuguese) brandy were not included. Carbonated soft drinks were served from a 2-litre bottle, and the last few portions from a bottle were usually flat.
We paid extra for a sea view. The room overlooked the pool; you had to go out onto the balcony to see the sea. The room was clean and comfortable.
The hotel is on a cliff-top. Access to a beach involves a walk along the road, and onto a path with lots of steps, about 10 minutes’ walk. I don’t know why it is called a ‘beach hotel’.
The quality of the staff was very variable. Some were extremely friendly and helpful, but others were less so. Often, the staff would complain to the guests about the penny-pinching attitude of the hotel management. The staff had a defensive attitude of, “Don’t blame me that you can’t have that – it’s not my fault.”
I understand that the credit crunch has hit Portugal very hard, but cost-cutting like this can only drive people away – I won’t go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and for your feedback.

We regret that your stay was not entirely pleasent.
We respect all opinions, even though sometimes we have a lot different opinion from what is being transmitted. Either way your comments are very important to us, to improve aspects which may have been not as well as it should.

With my kindest regards,

Vera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Brilliant! Just returned from a week at the Hotel Baia Cristal in Carvoeiro. The hotel was wonderful, very clean and comfortable, the food was lovely especially the salad bar and the hotel staff were happy and friendly. It was the most relaxing hotel I've stayed in and I will be booking to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and your review.

We are very pleased to know that you have had a relaxing time in the Hotel Baía Cristal Beach & Spa Resort, and that you apreciate our staff and our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindests regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel was beautifully situated, provided a great base for the holiday and we enjoyed the meals and accommodation which was clean and perfectly adequate. The staff were pleasant and the guy on reception was willing to go the extra mile by printing off our boarding passes . Entertainment was a bit cheesy but not compulsory. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Lindsey576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy to know that you have had a good time with us, and that you apreciate our staff and our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Hotel Baía Cristal Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.

Kindests regards,

Vera Gomes Graca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at Baia Cristal for easter week. Love the hotel and its the surroundings, staff very helpful, views of the ocean just mind blowing , had very relaxed time at the hotel with my 15 yrs old son who just loved to be in the pools. The hotel is very clean felt very welcomed by the stfaff nice evening entertainment food was really impressive good variety to see whole of my all inclusive stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Hotel Baía Cristal, the staff and our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel Baía Cristal in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely two weeks stay at the Baia Cristal. We stayed all-inclusive, and found everything to be a good standard; the pool bar was opened during our visit which was a boon, and my sons loved breakfast and the filled-rolls at the snack bar. The rooms were cleaned every day and the whole place was spotless and we found the staff very attentive and professional. The cliff-top location is fantastic, and the beach below is idyllic. Carvoiero itself is a nice little town, not too over -the-top touristy, and we loved the Grand Cafe.
Back to the hotel, the swimming pools were just right for a swim, much prefer the sea-water to fresh. Although it got busy for the Easter weekend, calmness was restored very swiftly, and it really was a relaxing place to stay. The Turkish Bath and Sauna were great, and the masseuse was very good!
All in all, it was exceptional value for money for a 15 night stay, admittedly about 8 days too long for my boys, but it was just what I expected and I wasn't disappointed.
Only one thing in the negative column, the use of "Panda Pop" diet cola instead of Diet Coke, but the Super Bock was nice enough, and the Vodka & Tonics generously measured!!

Room Tip: Sea/Pool views best to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevmogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonPascoal, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Baia Cristal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to know that you have had a gooh time with us.

We want to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel Baía Cristal Beach & Spa Resort in the near future.

With my kindests regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
663 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 18 in Carvoeiro
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quinta do Paraiso
Quinta do Paraiso
#11 of 18 in Carvoeiro
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 18 in Carvoeiro
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Cristal

Address: Vale de Centianes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range: £30 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baia Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most beautiful places in the Algarve, on a cliff top, the Hotel Baia Cristal offers a peaceful atmosphere with a fantastic sea view. Upon the beach of Vale Centeanes and 1700 m from Carvoeiro beach, this 4 star hotel has 120 rooms. With areas from 36m2 to 55m2, Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal 14 Suites sea view, 10 Suites garden view, 38 Rooms sea view and 58 Rooms land view, with Private bathroom, Satellite TV, Individual A/C, Minibar, Safe, Direct dial telephone, Balcony, Tea and Coffee facilities, Kitchenette (only in suites). Hotel Baia Cristal has at your disposal Restaurant Gaivota, a cosy restaurant with beautiful views to the sea. Open for breakfast and dinner with Portuguese and international cuisine; and Bar "Albatroz", a relaxing bar with live music, ideal for enjoying the sunset in the company of a delicious cocktail. The terrace serves meals and snacks throughout the day. During the Summer, there is also Barbeques, where guests can enjoy barbecues by the pool, filled with popular music and dance; and also a Pool Bar "BierGarten", where it is possible to enjoy refreshing drinks throughout the day. For Leisure, there are two outdoor Swimming pools, a kid's club, Tennis court, Giant chess board, Indoor Swimming pool, Sauna, Turkish bath, Fitness room, Massage and body treatment room, Games room (snooker, table football, ping pong and video games). For business purposes, there is Meeting room "Lagoa" with Capacity up to 80 people (8,5m x 10,85m x 2,29m). Other services: 24 Hour reception, Multilingual staff, Tour and information desk, Wireless internet, Live music, Car rental, Private parking, and a Shuttle bus to Carvoeiro. Vale de Centeanes Beach: 300m, Carvoeiro Beach: 1.7 km, Lagoa: 7.5 km, Portimao: 16 km, Faro Airport (FAO): 65 km, Lisbon Airport (LIS): 275 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Baia Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Cristal Hotel
Baia Cristal Vale Centianes
Hotel Baia Cristal Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing