We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of Quinta do Paraiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta do Paraiso
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my sister and 25 year old daughter for a short break. The one bedroom appartment was fantastic, very clean and very modern with everything that you need to stay for short or long holidays. The kitchen was amasing, very modern with a washing mashine and huge fridge freezer, all of which were built in behind unit doors.
The swimming areas are lovely and well kept. You can select to go by a quiet pool amongst the gardens or use the bigger pools down by the reception. We were self catering but ate at the restaurant that was on site. The breakfast choice was also very good and cooked to order. You could also have the buffet breakfast for 8 euros, which was also very good.
The town was a short 5-10 mins walk away, but they do offer a free shuttle bus to the town/ beach and back, 3 times a day.
The only problem was that our appartment did not have air conditioning, which at night made it very hot. As the hotel is in a quiet area you can open your windows all nite for fresh air.
I will be going back to this hotel, hopefully in September.
Would deffinately inform people to go here if they want a quiet, relaxing holiday.
There is some entertainment in the evenings, which is also very entertaining.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom apartment is ideal for 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    68
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
77
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

we booked a 3 bed villa with private pool through Travel Republic, as a result we didn't know which villa we'd be staying in 'til we arrived. It was the Casa Carina (Villa 12). The villa was enormous, 3 large bedrooms, 3 large bathrooms, massive open plan lounge/ dining area & a reasonable sized kitchen. The garden was also huge, you could easily have fitted a further 2 villas in. In general, the whole 'quinta' area was very open and spacious - it would take in the region of 25-30mins to walk from one end to the other.

The communal pool area was very clean and also very spacious. We ate in the pool snack bar a couple of times and the food was typical snack bar stuff and a reasonable quality. we went to some of the evening entertainment and the staff worked hard to get everyone involved but I think it was just too early in the season as it was fairly quiet and most guests had young familes and left by maybe 9pm.

Our 5yo went to the kids club a few times and loved it. Nearly all the children were german when we were there but I guess this changes depending on who's holidaying that week.

We hired a car for the holiday and found that between the saving from not taking the resort transfer and the savings from being able to shop at the large supermarkets it more than paid for itself. We thought we'd hardly use the car other than this but found we used it pretty much every day. Laziness maybe but everything's a fair trek when you've got two young children.

The main resort is within walking distance but it's a fair old climb home. We took a taxi if we were out on the evening & I think it was something like 5euros to get home.

The Monte Carvoeiro complex is about a 5min walk away and has a really nice courtyard with lots of really nice restaurants and bars and much closer than the main resort. It's also very child friendly as there's a large area in the middle where they can run around with their friends and be seen from every bar/restaurant and no traffic.

we really enjoyed the privacy and space of the villa but it was nice to have communal areas too for socialising and would happily return here again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank murron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Although I would agree that our appartment was not the most modern, it was clean and tidy and had everything we needed to make a quick pasta dinner, although no oven.
The pools were clean, and rarely busy and the beach was quite a short stroll away. By the beach were several nice places to eat or have a drink. We also found the onsight italian above adequate, with delicious pizzas. The cocktails at the bar were nice, as were the bar snacks.
Generally the staff were very helpful.
The only thing I would say is that, without a car, it is hard to get to any of the other towns/ attractions in the algarve. We didnt attempt to get a bus but without any success. The reception are happy to help arrange trips and so forth, but most required you to pay extra for transport.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Service is excellent. Pool area is fun. Enough room for small children to play.
But... ask to see your room, appartment, villa first. There are big differences. Some appartments are very modern with everything you could wish for and some are very basic and run down. We switched from a superior appartment to a regular bungalow because the appartment was simply too small and miles away from the main pool area. There was a pool right in front of the apparment, but the poolbar didn't open until July. The bungalow was sort of run down and had a musty smell, no AC. But there was nothing else available. I've heard that the villa's are perfect... but they are also the most expensive.
A couple of nice beaches in the area, but you need a car to get there. Carvoeiro is small, but there are some nice restaurants. Especially beachfront Onze!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwionclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Though I have to admit that the park is on the verge of getting outdated (staff; be aware of this), I can honestly say that we have had a terrific time here. We stayed in a 2 bedroom bungalow which was spacious and clean and with all the utensils present. We also had room service.

The swimming pool is nice (but beware of people draping their towels on the deckchairs as some kind of reservation; staff does not do anything about this), the restaurants provide a cosy atmosphere and there is plenty of animation to keep children occupied.

Beaches are a 15 minute walk from the park as well as Carvoeiro (a romantic and pleasant sea side village). People sometimes complain about the walk as you go downhill to Carvoeiro but you have to walk uphill back to the park. We did not care as it is a lovely walk past the coastline, restaurants and Portuguese houses. Also, in the evening the temperature cools down to about 17 degrees C (July/August).

Staff provide service with a smile. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markalexanderdegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Had a lovely time here although I do think it was slightly mis-sold by either their own website or booking.com with whom I made the booking. Quinta do Paraiso is a sprawling complex that is made up mostly of beautiful privately owned villas. At the back of the complex are several blocks of apartments which were basic and functional and very clean - apart perhaps from the bed cover. This area has it's own swimming pool which is great. I got there quite late at night and when I picked up the key from 'reception' was given directions to the apartment. Luckily I had a car as it was a good 15min walk away, which, when it's dark, you're on your own and you don't know where you're going would have been a bit of trek. All this said, it cost €200 for the week so I feel quite petty complaining about anything. Oh - it's also about a 15min walk from Carvoeiro.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajmac_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

whole complex spotless,well tended gardens and pool areas with plenty of free sun loungers.maid service 5/7 days with towels and linen changed almost every other day.reception staff speak excellent english,are very friendly and helpful.one bedroom apartment was adequate but we found the dark wood furniture a bit dreary but air conditioning was great.15 minute stroll down to town which is one of the prettiest I have visited....plenty of bars and restaurants but not rowdy.It's a fair uphill hike back to base but trial and error finds best route... or a taxi is less than 5 euros .will definitely return to Carveiro and likely to this complex.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carvoeiro hotels
1.3 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#7 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#9 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Paraiso

Property: Quinta do Paraiso
Address: Praia do Carvoeiro, Carvoeiro 8400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta do Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Paraiso Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing