We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Palm Gardens
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing place to stay!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We visited this resort on a timeshare exchange via RCI. The resort comprises approx. 74 units being 2 bedroom townhouses. It is situated atop some cliffs overlooking the sea. A short walk to the west of the resort brings you to a beautiful small sandy cove adjoining a large hotel.
We were allocated Unit number 72 and this appeared to be larger than the majority of other units. There were 2 double bedrooms of equal size, 2 bath/shower rooms and a sitting room with dining table. There was a fully equipped kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher and full size cooker, microwave and fridge freezer. There was a shady terrace with 6 seater patio dining table and chairs. There was a staircase to a mezzanine with an extra sofa and a door to an enormous sun terrace. The sun terrace had another large patio dining table and chairs plus four sunbeds. There was usually a nice warm breeze which enabled us to use the sun terrace every day. The unit was spotlessly clean and we had a daily maid service.
There was no wifi in the units but wifi was free either in a special unit or around the pool.
The pool area was very pleasant with a fair size pool. There was a very good snack bar right next to the pool and a quality restaurant on site, although we did not try this.
There was a table tennis table available to use plus several tennis courts. Equipment was available from reception.
The village of Carvoeiro was 5 minutes away by car and we went on an excellent boat trip from there to see the local caves. Excellent trip.
We spent many happy hours exploring the cliffs and coves in the area and there are some beautiful tucked away beaches along that stretch of coast.
We had a rental car for the whole week and we went as far as Sagres and Cabo San Vicente to the west. We also had a fantastic day out in Monchique and drove up to Foia which is the highest point in the Algarve. If you go there, make sure that it is a very clear day as it was hazy when we went up there. Even so, the views were fantastic.
The resort is not close to any shops so if you wish to self cater, then you will really need a car. There is a large InterMarche supermarket about 10 minute drive away.
We really enjoyed our week at this resort and will definitely go back there one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank timetraveller_20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    233
    57
    15
    8
See reviews for
287
218
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed at the Pestana Palms for a week from 19th August. The accomodation was great, clean with lovely comfortable beds. Stayed in no 70 which had an ocean view and a nice outside area. Found all of the staff extremely welcoming particularly those in reception. We ate in Carvoeiro and enjoyed all of our meals. It is a bit of an uphill trek home but worth the effort. A trip to the caves is a must, we joined a boat trip from benagi beach. We had a fantastic time and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enoughsaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

16 days of holiday bliss with children and grandchildren aged 1 to 5 yrs! Excellent facilities for all ages - heated pools, play areas, cafe, restaurant and comforty town house with all self-contained facilities. Beautiful beach within walking distance and wonderful Carvoeiro square full of activities by the beach. And such friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Town house overlooking the sea with splendid views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at the Pestana Palm Ocean Garden Villa from the 26/07 to the 06/08 this year. Two adults and two kids (8 and 6). We were very impressed with the accomodation and the location of the villa and the beautifully maintained gardens. We stayed in no 78, beautiful views from the terrace, bedroom and lounge. The villas are very clean and spacious. The kitchens are very well equipped. The swimming pool area is very well kept and very relaxing as there is no music blaring by the pool. The on site restaurant was one of the best we had eaten at in carvoeiro. We ate at the restaurant on a number of occasions and went there on our last night where there was a guy playing classic guitar who was fantastic. Our two kids loved the place, one of the bar staff in particular was very good with kids (Good Mornings!!). The resort is a bit of a walk down hill to the town so I would hire a car if you have small kids or do not like walking too much. Taxi is €5 to the town. We were looking for a relaxing holiday by the pool and we got exactly what we wanted. The on site restaurant staff is excellent. This resort is one of the best holidays we have been on and we were very sad leaving it. We will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hennessy_Midleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for 7 days with our two young children. The accommodation was very nice, spacious and very clean. Accommodation wise it had all you could need for a comfortable self catering holiday and we would say it was an excellent base from which to explore. The pool area was nice, a good size and very clean. Unfortunately, we found that the town/beaches were just a ‘bit too far’ to walk especially with two young children in tow. As we chose to self cater we would have found it useful to have a supermarket within easy reach of the accommodation, unfortunately it was a taxi ride away or a good 45 minute round trip (walking). It’s a very hilly resort which isn’t a problem but just be prepared to work those legs or as we did make use of the taxis! Overall, we couldn’t fault the accommodation, perhaps the location could be better – next time we would most certainly hire a car.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DennyIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We booked this at fairly short notice based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were very happy with our stay. The townhouses are nicely furnished and clean and the air conditioning is great. There is probably a fair amount of variety between the different townhouses, but we were happy with ours that had a nice lawn at the back and was not too far from the pool. The overall atmosphere was very nice with lots of families and people relaxed and pleasant with each other. The pool like all pools (!) was a bit smaller than it looks on the photo, but was fine. We had laughed at the review that mentioned the seagull noise but it is true that they are quite noisy. There was a nice beach only about five minutes away at the bottom of the cliff the townhouses are located on - so a fair amount of steps on the way back! We had a lunch snack at the bar when we arrived, but the food was really unimpressive. We didn't have any more food after that, but probably should not have let the bar lunch menu put us off the restaurant which looked rather different. Overall, we were very happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HamptonDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowestoft
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Have just returned from 2 week holiday in Pestana Palm Gardens - no 72 absolutely brilliant aparrtment -huge roof terrace with superb views across to the sea. Maid service excellent - apartments clean and inviting. We had lots of guests coming and going but the maids changed the beds without any problems.=nothing was too much trouble. Pestana are grdually up dating the apartments and adding new equipment etc. The seagulls were very noisy especially in the morning. Local beach lovely. Rather a long walk to the town of Carvoiero especially as it is up hill on then way back!!!! The gym did not officially open until 9am but after asking at receptiom we were allowed to use it at 8am. The grounds around the apartment are lovely and very relaxing. We did not have a car and it was a long way to the hipermarket. The cost of food etc in the local shops was much more expensive, We found the local market which had good fruit, vegetables, meat and fish. A lively buzzing resort Villa Medici a super restaurant but need to book
visited 5th august -2012

Room Tip: Apartments above 60 have the best position -no 72 one of the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3,311 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
720 reviews
16.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
#6 of 19 in Carvoeiro
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palm Gardens

Property: Pestana Palm Gardens
Address: Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palm Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Palm Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palm Gardens Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing