We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent townhouse complex for 2 couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Palm Gardens
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent townhouse complex for 2 couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here with good friends in early November 2012. The 2 storey 2 bedroom unit was clean and well maintained. We enjoyed breakfasts at Pimenta Preta restaurant which is owned by Nuno Diogo. We felt it was well worth the price. We dined there on 2 evenings and were quite impressed by the hospitality and quality. The pool was heated and maintained perfectly every day. Wifi is only available in the restaurant and pool side. You need to have a car to get into town and elsewhere. The walk is about 40 minutes into Carvoeiro on a narrow road.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Spazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    230
    56
    14
    7
See reviews for
283
213
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just returned from a week at Pestana Palm Gardens, late Sep't into October. We had the most fantastic week here which all started with a very warm welcome from staff at reception. On arrival, we were upgraded to Townhouse no. 77 with the most amazing sea view, at no extra cost. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and helped with all questions regarding the resort and local area. The accommodation was spotless and we had cleaning service 6 days a week (not on a Sunday) The townhouse was well equipped with everything you would need and more. The roof top terrace was very spacious with 3 sun loungers and a patio table with 6 chairs and still plenty space to move around.

It is around a 20 minute walk into the beautiful town in Carvoeiro, where we ate our evening meals ( Mirage, Happy's and Villa Medici are a must!) We did not eat in the restaurant but that was only due to my dislike of seafood and my fussiness!! however the interior is beautiful and the restaurant gets very good reviews locally. This is where we had breakfast in the mornings, and a big thank you to the breakfast waiter who even seated us at the pool on request. The staff at Pestana Palm Gardens cannot be faulted. They have the friendliest cleaning staff I have ever encountered whilst being abroad. Their service was top class and we left them a well deserved tip!

We would certainly return here to this beautiful part of the Algarve. We booked (very ) last minute for this holiday and couldn't have picked a better place. 10 out of ten...SUPERB!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose from Townhouse number 70 onwards for the pefect seaview. We had no. 77....... Amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PC_GK_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Pestana Palm Gardens at the beginning of September for one week with our 18 month old son. We had a two bedroomed appartment with a roof terrace, well equipped with a separate kitchen with everything you would need to self cater. The hotel was within walking distance of 5 or 6 restaurants although it was a little dark on the walk back, it was a steep hill to walk back but we managed it every night of our stay with a push chair. We did'nt dine at the pestana restuarant however it did look very nice. The appartment was exceptionally clean and serviced every day except Sunday. We also had 6 sun beds outside our appartment and two sets of dining furniture which were great to enjoy the fantastic view and wonderful view.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nigel Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We visited this resort on a timeshare exchange via RCI. The resort comprises approx. 74 units being 2 bedroom townhouses. It is situated atop some cliffs overlooking the sea. A short walk to the west of the resort brings you to a beautiful small sandy cove adjoining a large hotel.
We were allocated Unit number 72 and this appeared to be larger than the majority of other units. There were 2 double bedrooms of equal size, 2 bath/shower rooms and a sitting room with dining table. There was a fully equipped kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher and full size cooker, microwave and fridge freezer. There was a shady terrace with 6 seater patio dining table and chairs. There was a staircase to a mezzanine with an extra sofa and a door to an enormous sun terrace. The sun terrace had another large patio dining table and chairs plus four sunbeds. There was usually a nice warm breeze which enabled us to use the sun terrace every day. The unit was spotlessly clean and we had a daily maid service.
There was no wifi in the units but wifi was free either in a special unit or around the pool.
The pool area was very pleasant with a fair size pool. There was a very good snack bar right next to the pool and a quality restaurant on site, although we did not try this.
There was a table tennis table available to use plus several tennis courts. Equipment was available from reception.
The village of Carvoeiro was 5 minutes away by car and we went on an excellent boat trip from there to see the local caves. Excellent trip.
We spent many happy hours exploring the cliffs and coves in the area and there are some beautiful tucked away beaches along that stretch of coast.
We had a rental car for the whole week and we went as far as Sagres and Cabo San Vicente to the west. We also had a fantastic day out in Monchique and drove up to Foia which is the highest point in the Algarve. If you go there, make sure that it is a very clear day as it was hazy when we went up there. Even so, the views were fantastic.
The resort is not close to any shops so if you wish to self cater, then you will really need a car. There is a large InterMarche supermarket about 10 minute drive away.
We really enjoyed our week at this resort and will definitely go back there one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank timetraveller_20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed at the Pestana Palms for a week from 19th August. The accomodation was great, clean with lovely comfortable beds. Stayed in no 70 which had an ocean view and a nice outside area. Found all of the staff extremely welcoming particularly those in reception. We ate in Carvoeiro and enjoyed all of our meals. It is a bit of an uphill trek home but worth the effort. A trip to the caves is a must, we joined a boat trip from benagi beach. We had a fantastic time and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enoughsaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

16 days of holiday bliss with children and grandchildren aged 1 to 5 yrs! Excellent facilities for all ages - heated pools, play areas, cafe, restaurant and comforty town house with all self-contained facilities. Beautiful beach within walking distance and wonderful Carvoeiro square full of activities by the beach. And such friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Town house overlooking the sea with splendid views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at the Pestana Palm Ocean Garden Villa from the 26/07 to the 06/08 this year. Two adults and two kids (8 and 6). We were very impressed with the accomodation and the location of the villa and the beautifully maintained gardens. We stayed in no 78, beautiful views from the terrace, bedroom and lounge. The villas are very clean and spacious. The kitchens are very well equipped. The swimming pool area is very well kept and very relaxing as there is no music blaring by the pool. The on site restaurant was one of the best we had eaten at in carvoeiro. We ate at the restaurant on a number of occasions and went there on our last night where there was a guy playing classic guitar who was fantastic. Our two kids loved the place, one of the bar staff in particular was very good with kids (Good Mornings!!). The resort is a bit of a walk down hill to the town so I would hire a car if you have small kids or do not like walking too much. Taxi is €5 to the town. We were looking for a relaxing holiday by the pool and we got exactly what we wanted. The on site restaurant staff is excellent. This resort is one of the best holidays we have been on and we were very sad leaving it. We will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hennessy_Midleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
2.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palm Gardens

Property: Pestana Palm Gardens
Address: Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palm Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palm Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palm Gardens Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing