We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous resort and very personable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palm Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Palm Gardens
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous resort and very personable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I hadn't been back to Portugal for 19 years and thought it might have turned into an over spill of Spain, how wrong we were. Very relaxing, a lot green instead of burnt grass and trees and a little laid back - Superb! We had taken the advice from others on trip advisor for the better accommodation and not to far from the restaurant and pool area, which they were very accommodating when we arrived. Very friendly Reception the English spoken by the reception was superb (I did detect a slight Leeds accent from one of them). We were put into a two bed end of terrace house which offered great space, two double bedrooms, two bathrooms and a fabulous view over the ocean. We were there for two weeks, didn't have to change our unit and parking was very close to our unit. We paid for a breakfast package(49euros per head for 7 days) which meant we didn't need to feed ourselves all the time, the restaurant served quality food(average to expensive) lunch & evening time. Both Bar food and the restaurant our run separately from the resort and take cash or card for payment. We will be going back and would recommend this resort to retired, semi retired, couples and very young families alike. Great place. This resort is a good 20/25min walk to the main town of Carvoeiro which has many restaurants of all types. You will need a car to get around and specifically if you want to get to the many superb beaches around.

Room Tip: If you like a sea view go for the units with a number 7 in front of it. Don't unpack you bag un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dogman1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    227
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
282
208
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

10 day break in Oct lovely apt, nice gardens, English speaking very polite and helpfull staff. We had our most relaxing holiday for many a year, car would be usefull but not essential. Walked most nights into town and taxied back for 5 euros. Stone steak restaurant on far side of down brilliant.Would definitely visit again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The location of this resort overlooking the sea is excellent if you have a car. If not you are rather isolated and need a good pair of legs to reach the village and any shops - down hill there and uphill back. The gardens are beautiful with palms and flowers and the pool is pretty - but VERY cold even in early October. The overall size is small with just 79 two bed units. These are very well furnished town houses on 3 levels. There is dishwasher and and cllotheswasher plus large fridge and freezer. As is the case with all Pestana resorts the quality is excellent. The small restaurant provides good food but it is not cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for unit with 6 or 7 as the starting digit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelphiniumColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our first sun holiday with our children (11, 9, ,7) as a family, so we didn't know what to expect. We wanted a family friendly accommodation and Palm Gardens was recommended. The moment we stepped off the transfer bus we had the most fantastic time. The resort is so lovely and the all the staff from reception to cleaning were always so friendly and helpful. we spent every day going from the pool to the beach back to the pool. Having read previous reviews about recommendations of a car, we were a little nervous, however if you don't mind walking and hills its fine... and on the very warm days you can always get a taxi back up the hill.

We had an apartment overlooking the sea and gardens and it was just beautiful. On one of the days we decided to go to zoo marine, and the hotel organised transfers and tickets for us, which resulted in a no hassle day as we didn't have to worry about how to get there.

Before we knew it our holiday was over, and as the children said "it was the best holiday ever". We would definitely return again as the hotel and surrounding area is so family friendly. thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmK1234b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally C, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent holiday at Pestana Palm Gardens, we are very pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed the resort and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards
Sally Costa
Commercial Director
Pestana Palm Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Palm gardens was one of the best spent holidays me and my family have been on in a long time! Originally we had booked a studio but when we arrived realised we would prefer a 2 bed villa overlooking the sea, a magnificant view! Thanks to helpful staff at reception even at high occupancy they managed to make this arrangement. The beach vale centeanes is very beautiful and the sea was lovely and calm during the end of august, it's literally a 2 minute walk situated right next to the resort, it was ideal for my 5 year old girl we went to the beach almost everyday!

Something i really liked about palm gardens is how friendly all of the staff were, they always went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our holiday, as we didnt hire a car it was good to know taxis and transfers for excursions etc.. could all be reserved at reception.

Although we tended to go to the beach more than use the resort pool, we did spend our last day around the pool and had a lovely evening meal in the resorts on site restaurant "Pimenta Preta", the food and service was 5 ***** quality and the atmosphere was special as they have live musc on sundays!

I recommend this resort to anyone with or with out children, its a great location and the staff are always happy to help with anything!

Room Tip: The villas with sea view and garden are the best by far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally C, Manager at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear SofiaC,

Thank you very much for your review of Pestana Palm Gardens, we are very pleased to hear that you had such a great holiday with us and thank you also for your compliments to the staff which will be passed on. We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to the resort sometime in the near future.

With our very best regards
Sally Costa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freuchie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent a lot of time choosing the best hotel for us and our 7 year old son, eventually settling on the Dom Joao II Beach Hotel in Alvor. Having found out a week before heading out that we had been double booked we were devestated. Having been offered a Casino Hotel we declined it as it didn't sound like a relaxing family orientated stay. We agreed on swapping for a studio apartment at Palm Gardens in Carvoeiro and arrived with some trepidation.

The staff were great and agreed to pay for a free transfer from & to Faro Airport as compensation (approx 50mins away). The villa was great - clean, large and comfortable. The pool was lovely -and the setting was quiet and relaxing. We spent much of our time by/in the pool, the grounds are beautifully maintained with colorful blossom everywhere. The rooms were cleaned daily, you get given beach towels for the pool area which saves you taking your own or getting yours wet and the tennis court offers an extra distraction if you can survive the heat.

Palm Gardens is a 10 minute walk to the nearest beach (turn right & walk down the hill) or for restaurants turn left & follow the road down towards town (first batch (La Rede etc) are approx 15mins with the main town & beach a further 10mins.

My only criticism would be that there isn't really an area to sit and have a few drinks on an evening - the pool area is set up for the restaurant (the food is nice but a little pretentious/OTT for my liking) which leaves nowhere to sit and just chill with a glass of wine. With no kids entertainment laid on it does leave you a little restricted but a trip to neighboring hotels or town means it isn't a major issue.

Considering it's not a location that we chose to stay at, I have nothing but praise for the Palm Gardens and the staff that work there. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing spot with beautiful views of the ocean away from the hustle and bustle of the main town then this is the place for you. Incidentally our 7 year old son was happy to spend his entire holiday in the pool and never once got bored having made plenty of friends there so the entertainment wasn't a major issue either.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view of possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Grim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally C, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review of your stay at Pestana Palm Gardens, we are very pleased to know that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us.
The assessment of your stay is very important to us in order for us to always continue to improve our facilities and services.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Pestana Palm Gardens in the near future.

With kind regards
Sally Costa
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Having been double booked at a sister hotel the Dom Joao II in alvor and managing to get an apartment here in carvoeiro we were apprehensive on arrival ( in case we had been double booked again!!).
We shouldn't have worried as we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. Our room wasn't ready as we had an early flight so we had a nice lunch in the nearby pool bar with free wifi.
The apartment was lovely, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen. Everything was clean and tidy as they have a very good (and as already mentioned very friendly) cleaning team.
The hotel was situated out of the town but was within walking distance, as was the lovely beach nearby.
The only problem was the supermarkets were in town or a spar up the hill from the beach to the right. Ideally if staying here a hire car would be advisable as local supermarkets out of town are much cheaper.
We enjoyed our stay and our two teenage boys have informed us we are definitely returning next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJMA08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally C, Director of Sales at Pestana Palm Gardens, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear LJMA08,

Thank you very much for your review of Pestana Palm Gardens, we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us having being reallocated from the Pestana Dom João Hotel,
and shall look forward to hearing from you should you wish to book your holidays again with us next year. We were very happy to hear that we already have your teenage sons vote!
Please let us know if we can be of assistance.
With kind regards
Sally Costa
Director of Sales
Pestana Palm Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
2.7 mi away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#2 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monte Dourado Resort
Monte Dourado Resort
#7 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palm Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palm Gardens

Property: Pestana Palm Gardens
Address: Praia Do Carvoeiro | Vale de Centeanes, Carvoeiro 8400-525, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palm Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pestana Palm Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palm Gardens Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing