We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to be something it's not”

L'Orange Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 148 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trying to be something it's not”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We chose l'Orange after reading the excellent reviews and being told by some people that it was the best meal they had during their holiday. The menu aims for creative / sophisticated food but the result is quite disappointing. The meals feel quite dated attempts at international food, as if someone is trying too hard without the skill. My husband compared his tiger prawn stir fry with a meal you would make when you're learning to cook just after you've left home and are trying to impress somebody - basically chunks of pepper in soy sauce without much else. Very generous amount of fish in the portions though. The service is genuinely pleasant and welcoming and the patio is quite nicely lit, nice plants etc. But we wished we had gone for a cheaper and less pretentious meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    44
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Ate here twice with the family and loved it. Great staff and great food. A quite relaxing location which is well worth a short walk for Carvoerio or Monte Santo.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We ate at La Orange twice in the last week. The walk up the hill is well worth it to get to the delights at the top. I can not fault this restaurant, a little pricey but the food and setting are absolutely wonderful, The staff are fantastic, friendly but not all over you. You really need to book in advance as people can be turned away if they are not booked in. The lamb shank is to die for and I have eaten plenty of lamb shanks in my time,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in quiet location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked the restaurant as I was visiting a friend who lives nearby but never been there. The food was lovely, good selection, well presented and very tasty. The service was attentive and friendly, but not obtrusive. Overall a very enjoyable experience. I would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacandjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night out at La orange”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this restaurant and we had a very great evening out, the food was very good and we were surprised with the good crew who gave us the feeling we did come in the restaurant for a long time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Orange Restaurant also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to L'Orange Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing