We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and great value”
Review of Haweli

Haweli
Ranked #16 of 145 Restaurants in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hello and welcome you all on our page, Haweli O Indiano is located in the hearts of Praia do Carvoeiro, Haweli offers dishes from North of India (Punjab). Like we say " Just name it and we'll make it "
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and great value”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked a table as there were nine in our party, and you need to as the restaurant is very small. The food was top class,everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed it. Rice portions were huge and also very tasty( make sure you share )..!! I had lamb pathia, not on the menu but not a problem to the staff. We are regular curry eaters back home and this one has got to be up there with the best. We are planning a second visit this week..!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    41
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant curry in Carveiro”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lovely indian restaurant in the main strip in Carveiro .
All served in terracotta dishes , great size portions , kids should share!
Prices very reasonable and food was delicious .
We went twice in two weeks ...excellent both times ,
Better than most back home ,if you like Asian cooking you'll,like this .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bazzaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagoa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Strange tasting food! Service lacking language issues and knowledge about the food they serve. Really not recommended

Helpful?
2 Thank Davide1992a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good quality”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We ate here twice during our stay in Carvoeiro. I tried the chicken dhansak on our first visit which was one of the best dhansaks I've had- not just the chicken but the pulses in the sauce. My wife had the sag chicken twice, lots of chicken and spinach- and the best sag chicken she's had so she says. I tried the chicken jalfrezi on my second visit which i didn't enjoy quite so much as the chillies weren't particularly hot. We also tried the Bombay potatoes which were a bit different -they came in a thick spicy sauce. The dhal was also better than what one gets in the U.K.-whole pulses delicately flavoured and not just the usual garlicky mush! The food was not at all oily which can be a problem with some Indian restaurants in the U.K.

All washed done with ice cold lager.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argybargy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This restaurant appears twice”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We originally researched O Indiano (Castelo) which is now a Guest House (very nice it looks too). O Indiano has moved and is called Haweli O Indiano or simply Indiano. This restaurant has moved to Estrada do Faro. Confusingly there is another restaurant called O Indiano on the same road. We have not been to that one. Hope this is clear ( it foxed us for a while). The food is very good, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return. Very reasonably priced. It's making me hungry writing this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haweli also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Haweli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing