We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
O Castelo Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mirachoro Praia(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palm Gardens(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocha Brava Village Resort(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tivoli Carvoeiro(Carvoeiro)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Placid Village(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Colina Village(Carvoeiro)(Great Value!)
US$82
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
171
39
7
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
39
7
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenettebreakfast was deliciousroom numberamazing balconyoverlooking the mainplace to stayperfect locationlooked wonderfulrooms are extremelyhomemade yogurtview from the balconyhuge terracecarvoeiro beachfollowing morningevery morningalgarve regionshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A great welcome - we had got lost in the Carvoeiro one way system and had to be rescued by the very kind owner of the guest house who then went on to take us to a restaurant. Nice room with a stunning view over the beach. Good breakfast (but book the day before). There is a kitchen so you could self cater though we just used it for tea and coffee. It is definitely in the best part of town.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank howamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this guest house while we were exploring the west coast of Algarve.
We were welcome by the owner and showed around the facilities of the house. The house is very well designed to receive guests. There is a nice terrace to relax and enjoy de majestic view. This is accessible to all the guests. On the second floor, there is a kitchenette that can be used by all the guests with a fridge, dishes and all necessities.
Our room was comfortable, extremely clean and we had a wonderful sea view.
What a pleasure to wake up every morning with a breathtaking view!!!
The breakfast were prepared by the lovely staff - warm bread, toasts, jam, cereals, fresh fruits were available.
We also got the chance to chat with the owner that was very eager to help us with all request.
I recommend to drive to the National Park - Alentejano & Costa Vicentina (city of Sagres). The scenery is amazingly beautiful and the nature still well preserved.
Carvoeiro is a very small city with good restaurants and a very small beach so its nice to explore around and discover the beauty of Portugal - certainly O Castelo is a good choice to gravitate around the region & I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose at least a room with a sea view. Free parking available
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mylene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Mylene,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very pleasing to hear such a detailed comment. I also appreciate the recommendations you make that will certainly help other guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We did not have a booking and found o O Castelo Guess House on the lonely planet book - what a lucky day. Only one room available and the one with a beach view!!!!
Upon arrival, the staff efficiently check us in and helped us with our big and heavy luggages to go down the stairs. The room was spotless!!! There was a self-contained kitchen, large bathroom and the bedroom was big enough but the best was outside - the view from the balcony was a portrait. The blue ocean, the cliffs and the village... one could sit there for hours enjoying the view while drinking a good portuguese wine or beer.
Later on the day, we had the opportunity to meet the owner - such a gentleman.
It was such a shame we were there for one night only.
Needless to say that I highly recommend O Castelo and cannot wait to go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardoamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The professional photo shows an amazing balcony with views over the sea and that is where I was sitting last night enjoying a night cap. (Now back in rainy Belfast). This guest house is beautiful. We have been to Carvoeiro before and kept promising ourselves we would stay here. We were not disappointed and would definitely recommend to anyone. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the owner is happy to give advice on the area if needed. There is probably not a better view to be had and lying listening to the sea at night was amazing. Thanks for a great stay we will be back.

Room Tip: Sea view amazing although is a terrace everyone can use if you have a street facing room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Ms Monty,
Thanks for the lovely review of our guest house. I completely understand how different the weather must be in Belfast right now, compared to Algarve. Here, the temperatures are up again and feels a bit like summer again.
I appreciated your room tip.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Castelo Guest House met and exceeded all our expectations. Centrally located to the village below and a view from the balcony which is exceptional. Spent every morning and every evening just sitting on the deck watching the ocean below. The rooms have been recently updated and the owner and staff are very knowledgable and friendly. We will be back and would recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Get rooms with balcony and cooking facilities.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casteloguesthouse, Owner at O Castelo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi Rodney!
Thank you for your fantastic comment about O CASTELO.
It's very motivating for us to know when our guest expectations are exceeded. It was a pleasure having you with us.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews