We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great high quality family villa”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sandi2013...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great high quality family villa”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This villa has everything you could want - We are a family of five (children 6,9,9), Grandparents and sister with partner. Spacious accommodation plus every room has a bathroom so we didn't feel on top of each other. High quality decor, lots of gadgets and luxuries. Pool fab but I would recommend you have the pool heating on. You will probably need a hire car but the local taxi service is great. We felt very looked after by the house managers and felt we could ask for help at any time. Planning to go back next year!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L
East Grinstead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa !!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have not long returned from our holiday in Portugal at Villa Gemma. The whole extended family and friends flew out there for a family wedding. I chose very carefully accomodation that would give the separate families a little bit of privacy and space they would need and Villa Gemma did not dissapoint. We were recommended VIP Chauffeurs to pick us up from the airport and return journey, they were on time and easy to find with a billboard in our name. We travelled in a Mercedes, air conditioned minibus with TV !! Great value - 80 euros each way accomodating 6 adults and 2 children with car seats. The Villa was exceptionally clean and well layed out to cater for families. Each bedroom having a separate en-suite was fantastic. Paul & Cindy were very welcoming and so kindly did a little shopping for us for our arrival (even though my list was getting longer than the normal food pack - they covered everything which meant we didn't have to worry about car hire straight away !!) It was a really pleasant stay - we had many a barbeque as the villa could accomodate many of our 'visiting family' as the grounds were so spacious with the lovely top terrace a brilliant bonus ! Once we got our bearings it was only a short walk to restaurants near Rocha Brava Apartments where we had a lovely meal. We didn't attempt to walk to Carvoerio as taxis were very reasonable - around 5 - 6 Euros. Just a small note, there is only one large bedroom with en-susite on the ground floor and not two as advertised. There is one Master Bedroom and 3 no. twin rooms on second floor - all bedrooms were spacious and decorated tastefully. The play room was a brilliant - well equipped addition to the villa, it was used everyday by our toddlers and older visiting children. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you would need. Maybe the pump for swimming pool could be built in a brick shed to drown out noise - but it wasn't enough to worry about, just a suggestion. I would definitely return to Villa Gemma !! Thank you Paul & Cindy for all your help and advice.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !!
Liked least: Only the swimming pool tiles were slippery when wet, children soon learnt not run. Maybe some mats or grooved tiles could be laid near the steps to pool and steps down to grassed area for safety.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

From the very start Paul and Cindy made my family and I so welcome. They were on hand if any problems should occur, however, Villa Gemma was so perfect we had none! Every room was spotless, the layout of the villa was perfect especially having two young children who could use a playroom! The pool and surrounding gardens were well thought out and easy to use. Being a frequent Carvoeiro visitor the location of Villa Gemma is perfect for both the beach and all local amenities. We can't wait to go back next year!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Garden, Cleanliness, Everything!
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StigNL
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“A superb villa; perfect for a great holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were two families from Sweden that trully enjoyed Villa Gemma for a week in July of this year. The villa offered everthing we could have hoped for and more - with a very high standard. It (and its host couple) is highly recommeded for a great vacation in the most beautiful part of Algarve.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outside dining area.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinat21
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We also have just returned from Villa Gemma and have had a wonderful
time. There were 11 of us and the villa was more than big enough to cope
with us all. The garden is extensive so there are plenty of places to be on your own if needed. The villa was extremely clean as well as being furnsihed and equipped to a high standard. It had everything that you would need. The pool was great and we spent a lot of time in it. Would recommend the paying for the heating though. The villa is up a slight hill but it was very easy to walk the various bars and resturants and we did walk into Carvoeiro at least a couple of times. Paul and Cindy who managed the Villa were great and helped us with various things. Although we would like to keep this villa a secret so we could use it whenever we wanted,we are aware that the owners need to make a living and we would recommend this villa and would use again. The transfers were also booked via the Villa and again can not recommend these enough either

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky_9
ESSEX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Holiday”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a family holiday at Villa Gemma and cannot wait to return again soon. There were eleven of us being six adults and five children and the villa had everything you could possibly hope for. The villa is beautiful and very well equipped. All the rooms were furnished to a very high standard and the beds were really comfortable. The pool was lovely as was the BBQ area. There are plenty of areas to sit and relax. There is also a lovely, safe garden area for the children to play.
The Villa is also near to all amenities and local beaches.
All in all our holiday was as near perfect as could possibly be.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UgoD144
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.