We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Residencial Dandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencial Dandy
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Fuseta, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

As others have said its a traditional guesthouse that looks tired inside,corridors that go off in all directions!It's central for the bus and train staions so is good for an overnight stay but I wouldnt want to stay any longer. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mev29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    39
    31
    17
    25
See reviews for
9
54
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in July 2012 and was pleased with the experience. It is an old, traditional guesthouse/hostel in the center of Faro, very central to everything but on a quite street. It may not suit everybody but I loved the old fashioned style, it had character and was not a bland copy of so many chain hotels. I always try to stay at independently owned hotels where possible. The owner did not have much English but we got by on universal handsigns and a lot of laughing.


There are 2 separate buildings and we were given rooms in the 2nd building located around the corner on another street. The room has lovely high ceilings and were cool in the afternoon. No Air Conditioning but we had electric rotary fans. My friend was not impressed but then again she is much younger and used to having tv and internet in every room. So really its all down to personal choice. The room were spotless, cleaned every day and daily change of bed linen and towels. The cooking facilities were not the best, but it was so cheap to eat out that we never used the kitchen.

It was very quiet at night and we rarely heard the other occupants as the walls are solid.

It felt very safe for female travellers and I would have no hesitation staying here on my own.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the square as the church has very loud bells and there is traffic in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenF2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Dandy Residence was a great value for money. A vintage hotel-like room with its own bathroom, a small balcony and very, very close to the city center. There was not much going on in the hostel in terms of activities. The staff is distanced but friendly and I was very impressed by how helpful they were (I forgot my passport there and they shipped it to me the next day for their expense). Very nice people and a great place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syeira_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Located in the center, close to bus station. Very interesting interior with vintage decoration.Room was clean. Staff very polite, pleasant and always tried to help. Staff speaks English and Portuguese, and even Russian and Ukrainian languages.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuliya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

There are so many soulless hotels, in most you could be any where in the world, they are so lacking in character. This hotel, guest house, what ever you want to call it is totally Portuguese. It has large plants growing up into the atrium, lovely old Portuguese tiles. A lot of the bad reviews, I think is to do with people expecting modern standard rooms. This guesthouse is certainly not like that but it is very clean, and lovely people, honestly so. I look forward to going back with my partner.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pattyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The Hotel/Hostel is in a great location, near the bus station, train station and close to the old town and bones chapel (all the tourist attractions).
We stayed for 2 nights in Faro at Residencial Dandy. We were given the room right beside the receiption desk. Cost 35 Euros per night.
The rooms are very old looking and are quiet dark due to no window, very old fashioned furniture.
We did book for a private double ensuite but received a private room with a shared bathroom, which we didn't make a fuss about. You do get a sink and mirror in your room and plenty of storage space. An old TV and air con are also included.
The whole of the hostel is pretty clean and tidy, they also serviced our room.
I found the place to be too cluttered and compact with the amount of furniture inside.
So overall i found this hotel/hostel quite average.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at Residential Dandy for one night this August, when we arrived we were walked to another building where our room was. The room itself was very basic and dated but comfortable and perfect for our stay. The bathroom was shared between 5 rooms, so we had to wait to use it a few times but overall we were happy with what we paid for the room.
If you are looking for a luxurious stay this isn't the place to go, but if you need somewhere cheap and comfortable to rest your head then it is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav-han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial Afonso III
0.1 mi away
Pensao Residential Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
6.5 mi away
Algarve Hotel Quinta do Atlantico
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Dandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Dandy

Property: Residencial Dandy
Address: Rua Filipe Alistao, Faro 8000-343, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Residencial Dandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing