We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed and cool”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just 15 minutes away from Faro we spent a relaxing week at Pousada de Faro, Palacio Estoi.
We are fond of the concept of combining old, refurbished buildings with modern facilities, and Estoi didn't disappoint us in that. The old palace is just beautiful, the ancient cooking range and hobs, though not in use, smelted my heart. The rooms are modern, very spacious and offer a lot of privacy with a stunning view from down to the sea level at Faro. Personnel is friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is just fine, with maybe too little variety for vegetarians, but hey, they have soy milk and tofu!!
Wifi not powerful enough, resulted in a lot a frustration. Entering the otherwise excellent underground garage requires stepping out of the car, one wonders why?
If the outside pool would have been heated a little we could have taken a swim outside; the indoor pool is very small.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    255
    75
    20
    9
See reviews for
105
441
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

a beautiful hotel just 13 minutes from faro airport and 15 minutes from down town faro (each by car). the hotel is situated in a small little cosy village. the hotel itself is a great mix between old and modern style, it is a real pleasure just to take in the few surrounding the hotel and the hotel itself.
the rooms are large and the beds are huge and conferrable. the own balcony, with the room, is just wonderful and is great to take in the view, it is as spectacle as from the outdoor pool. unfortunately we did not had the time to check out the indoor facilities but what i’ve seen from the corner of my eye they look excellent and the service provided by the spar looks good.
the food itself lives defiantly up to the standards of the hotel stunning layout. breakfast was excellent and the choice provided has been excellent. the snack at the pool side is getting provided by the bar are good, exactly that what you would look for. the dinner had been just great and you could see that it had been made with passion.
this is a hotel which i will be back in future for sure, besides the hotel itself the staff had been good , professional and wanted you to stay on a tick longer.

Room Tip: ask for the wifi pass at reception at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMaxx_jps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After landing in Faro, picking up a hire car, we drove the short route and found the Pousada fairly easily...there are so many signs it is hard to miss. We had a good welcome and made our way to a large bedroom, well appointed with a small private terrace. Our only complaint was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities (only available in the suites), in the 21st century is too much to expect a kettle and a few sachets?
The menu of the day is worth looking at, it is fair value for money and we took advantage of it on the first night. Breakfast outside was a joy, plenty of food choices and a superb view.
The pool facilities were very good, the water was refreshing and clean.
Loved it/the weather amazingly warm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmie8588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September. The staff are lovely, very helpful and friendly. The palace is beautiful and views are great. The rooms are in a modern extension but I think it works really well. The pool area is great for relaxing and the gardens are very pleasing.
Lovely meal in the restaurant and breakfast has everything you need. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our first experience of Pousadas and what an introduction! Only a short drive from Faro airport, the Pousada is situated above the 'plain' with views over Faro to the sea. A perfect mix of a historical building beautifully restored (lounges, dining room, terraces overlooking the gardens) with a contemporary extension (bedrooms, gym, underground car-park, pools and spa). The pools are set in a large decked area with stunning views. This hotel was the perfect way to unwind for the first day and a half of our holiday. The dining - breakfast, light lunch and dinner - all full of delicious choices!! The hotel staff were exemplary. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The quality of the design of the new extension which houses the rooms, ensures privacy and quiet, ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location, calm and quiet. Food was excellent, service first class - breakfast out of this world Need I say more? The views out to sea are great, the lights impressive but most of all was the ambience at the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMACR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I dislike staying in starred hotels as they are 'without soul', without conveying any idea of what the local architecture and food is all about. Hence we spend effort and search hard for boutique hotels that are small and have local character - we are willing to pay obviously for the experience. Like the Riads in Morocco or the small palaces of Rajasthan, India.

This was supposed to be a Pousada, and turned out to be a poor parody of one. The restoration of the 19 century building has been done remarkably poorly, and the rooms are as bad as any of the many faceless ones across the world in 3 star hotels. What was the idea? The restored old part of the Pousada - with 18th century walls and ceilings - has couches in rexin and stainless steel ! Did they run out of money or ideas?

The service was poor, not because the people are not trying but because there is no central belief driving this place. With a confused restoration and a confused staff it is not surprising our stay was disappointing. If you are looking for an authentic Algarve experience in a carefully restored home, then don't go here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacredspacesindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
6.0 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
7.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 15 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio de Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio de Estoi

Property: Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Address: Rua de Sao Jose, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio de Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Palacio de Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing