We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely 19th c palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It should be called Pousada de Estoi instead art is is located 10km north of Faro in the small town of Estoi. This is a nice and colorful palace from the 19th century. It is now the home of a 'pousada'. However, you do not need to stay in the hotel to visit the premises. There are two sides. Firstly, the mansion whose main hall still bears its formal grandeur. Lovely view over the garden, the countryside as far as the sea from the windows. Then, do not miss the beautiful garden inspired by French and Italian designs. This is really with a detour as it is not far from the turnpike.
Link: http://www.pousadasofportugal.com/pousada/estoi.html?gclid=CIGS16qZqb4CFQuTjgodtFIAWA

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Christmate11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Nice old building with a large modern addition cleverly added which contains the bedrooms. Rooms are large and clean.

The staff, when you can find them, are very helpful but let down it appears by management not employing enough of them. The restaurant & bar was a real struggle. 20 mins stood in an empty bar waiting for a drink, staff kept dashing past promising to return. Gave up with breakfast on the last day as one lady seemed to be expected to deal with 100 guests.

The room safe had a flat battery so did my door lock so the receptionist and handyman spent an hour trying to get me back into my room and get me access to my wallet.

If they sort out staffing and maintenance then this has the potential to be lovely and relaxing, currently it's bit like hard work staying there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Achilles_F12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed 5 nights with 2 friends on a deal so for what we paid, it was good value. However, the management need to sharpen up on lots of small things. My bedside light had no bulb and the dark passage on level 0 had l light working out of 6. One evening at dinner the patio lights weren't working at all. There are too few staff serving at table and the younger ones need more training. After lengthy waits between courses one almost loses the will to live! and some of the food arrived tepid. Having said that all the staff were helpful and friendly.

The old palace is a most beautiful, elegant building with delightful gardens so what possessed the interior designer to include a job lot of contract office furniture and a huge flat screen TV to fill the 3 salons is a mystery - much more suited to the modern wing which houses the bedrooms and lovely pool - it's stuck on the side like Zaragoza Station - who gave planning for that? Room was OK with small balcony and good bathroom, wardrobe space and safe.

Drinks are expensive but there are lots of small bars in the village and if one gets tired of the long wait during dinner there is Galeria dos Sentidos just a short walk away where the service is much slicker.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedwig4080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Pousada de Faro
This pousada has had a large modern addition added on which contains the sleeping quarters which are large and comfortable. Wonderful bathrooms.
There is a lovely outdoor pool and a small one indoors next to the steam room.
There are several lovely reception areas in the main building which have character in keeping with the history of the main building.
However, both the bar and restaurant areas were a sharp contrast and lacked atmosphere and colour. The outdoor patio used in nice weather was lovely.
The Pousada is actually not in Faro but in a town close by which was quite sleepy. If you are looking for excitement go elsewhere.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor which was a long walk to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in a superior room. As mentioned by other reviewers, the combination of modern comfortable room with a wonderful restauration of the rococo palace, holding the common parts of the hotel, promised a special experience. However you absolutely need a car for all displacements . The staff is friendly but overworked and too small. Dinner was served at 22h30 in second shift. Rooms were made up at 16h00. Of all Pousadas visited, this one had the poorest management.

Room Tip: During weekends private parties can be noisy, take a room on level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is must visit and great end to a week in the algarve being only 15 minutes taxi drive form the import. The Palace is very impressive and well looked after by the excellent Pousada team. The restaurant is good but strangely the furniture is very modern and doesn't really fit. Notwithstanding the meals excellent and the wine well chosen.

The bedrooms are super, we had the suite, well worth the extra few euros for the space and balconies. Voice it was April it was a bit cool to he the outdoor pool but the indoor spa is excellent with good views and lovely pool. We had a treatment in the spa which was excellent value and great relation. Great venue and experience before flying home.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at this pousada on a half board deal. we found the room & pool area & public rooms to be beautiful. With a first floor room we had a balcony with a view. The breakfasts were excellent with an option of eating on the terrace , again with a view. The evening menu of the day was very varied. We did find however that there is inadequate explanation of what is included on half board , & in fact we were billed for food on the first 3 nights until staff got the hang of things.
Estoi itself was exactly what we wanted , some authentic Algarve. The Sunday market , once per month 2nd Sunday , was well worth a wander around , & the central bar / café by the church became our pitstop after walks , doing a refreshing tuna salad at 6Euros. We didn't hire a car as for 5 days you can manage with a few bus tickets. We had a trip to Faro which was a pleasant wander for a bit of variation. All in all we deemed it an excellent Easter break

Room Tip: first floor for the elevated view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
6 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,027 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#2 of 28 in Faro
1,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#3 of 28 in Faro
155 reviews
7.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,705 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio Estoi

Address: Rua Sao Jose, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £71 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pousada Palacio Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing