We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel close to the airport of Faro.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Palacio de Estoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
“A very good hotel close to the airport of Faro.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

A very good hotel. Close to the airport of Faro.
We stayed 2 nights. The first night was 20th of June and the second the 3rd of July.
Rooms are good and the food is excellent.
Staff is very attentive.
A place to go back to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    241
    71
    18
    8
See reviews for
100
417
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

For a hotel that advertises itself as a palace it's very disappointing. The rooms are actually nowhere near the palace part which is just a small part where the restAurant is. The rooms while specious are very corporate and a bit dark and dingy and the decor for a new hotel isn't that nice. The food in restaurant was v slow and the quality not that good. There was never anyone serving at the bar. The pool area was good with excellent views over countryside. Location is very isolated and there's nothing else nearby to eat or drink so you're a bit stuck unless you're prepared to have a 15-20 mins drive at dinner times.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Albon_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

beautiful location with great views to the coast; Service sometimes a bit arrogant - still nice; In the evening the public toilets are not very clean; the system is a little off, so a rental car is needed; the castle is restored properly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A place to remember. Exceptional location, excellent service. I do recommend. Historic building, with a modern hotel facility built with comfortable and clean rooms. It is far from the beach, but the swimming pool is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel is really amazing.
The old part so beautiful, the new part nicely fits in.
Room and bathroom very spacious, nice terrace
Reception staff is ok
Restaurant staff is hasty, like they are doing a canteen job
Especially breakfast reminds me of a youth hostel: there was something missing every day (one day no coffee cups, the other day no glasses, the third day again no coffee cups, sugar I had to search for every single day,...) and if mentioned to the personnel there was almost no reaction.
Really a shame because the hotel has so much potential!
Note:
We stayed in another Pousada in the North (in Guimaraes) and also there the restaurant is the minor factor (although breakfast in Guimaraes was really good, dinner experience was a disaster). I would say : Pestana do something about it, because it takes the hotel experience down and that is really a shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

First of all, I was very worried by previous reviews about the supposedly poor service at the restaurant. I shouldn't have been at all! There are two new waitresses who help things move along swiftly, without the long waits others have mentioned. The waiting staff are lovely, service was attentive, friendly and second to none. I must mention Renato, who is a wonder to watch working, a real asset to the company, and his service made our holiday.

The food was among the best I have tasted, especially the swordfish on Sunday night. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the breakfast was a little underwhelming, but was sufficient, and then too the serving staff very welcoming and hardworking.

Now to the hotel itself, what an absolute joy it was to stay there. Such a relaxing atmosphere, with stunning grounds. The pool was constantly clean, with bar service. Had to wait a little while one afternoon for a member of staff to come to the bar (there is a telephone to ring reception if no-one is there) which was only slightly inconvenient. Also, the steam room wasn't very steamy, but the sauna was great.

I would recommend hiring a car, as Estoi is quite isolated in itself. The harbour and beach in Faro is lovely. You can take a ferry from Olhao to a really nice island called Armena, which has wonderful views of the hills, and a lovely beach.

Rooms very comfortable. I am an incredibly fussy sleeper, especially with pillows, but the bed and pillows passed with flying colours. Plenty of English speaking channels on the television. We even found ourselves watching Harry Potter one night. Free use of safe, wifi and air conditioning, which we expected to have to pay for. PRINGLES AND WATER ARE NOT FREE. We thought they might be complimentary for some reason, until we found them on our hotel bill the next morning, at minibar prices, ouch.

We also did not realise you could ask for bath robes at reception. Also, our bed sheets were not changed... this is because we did not find the card that you place on the bed for them to be changed.

If you are thinking of booking, I would recommend to. If you already have, I am very jealous :)

Thank you for a wonderful holiday. Will definitely be staying in more Pousadas in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steffateetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We did not know what to expect, when we booked it - but were glad we stayed.

I have noted the previous 6 or 7 reviews and agree with most of them, it is so nearly very special.

Reception staff were very good, tho how one lady is expected on occasions to do everything herself on her own defies belief!

Very slow service in restaurant and lack of staff, and why the tables are not cleared promptly I fail to understand, though the local birds loved their feasts. The bar is hopeless, certainly no chance of having an aperitif on the one seat they have. Having just come from The Pestana Alvor Praia, the breakfasts were disappointing, and you even have to go and fetch your own individual coffees. The TV in the room was the smallest I'd ever seen. The views over the unkempt gardens a disappointment. No coffee & tea facilities in the room is not acceptable.

The restaurant Galeria over the road was a blessing. I suggest a manager from the Alvor Praia needs to spend a week at The Estoi Palace to get their house in order - Shame really as it IS an amazing hotel.

Room Tip: I guess the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton47SalcombeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
6.0 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio de Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio de Estoi

Property: Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Address: Rua de Sao Jose, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio de Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp and Prestigia so you can book your Pousada Palacio de Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing