We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco style Algarve”
Review of Eco Algarve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eco Algarve
Ranked #6 of 26 Faro B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eco style Algarve”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

As a single traveller, Ecohostalalgarve was an ideal place to stay and relax. It is easy to get to and fom the airport, Owl can organise a taxi for a reasonalble price straight to Quinta Stuart. Stu and Owl are thoughtful, attentive hosts and the relaxed, efficient atmosphere really made for a comfortable holiday. The location is convenient for visitng lively coastal towns and yet is a quiet and peaceful, safe retreat for chilling out. It is only a ten minute walk down to a bus stop but frequently Owl or Stuart will give a free lift down to Estoi where there is a bus to Faro. The hostel is full of charm and style, my room was very comfortable and clean. Communal meals and the open air hammock area for reading, chatting or watching a film, were ideal for meeting new people and making new friends. I look forward to returning very soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and the one you choose would depend on personal choice and number of people. Ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
34
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

If you are looking for a trip with a difference Quinta Stuart is an amazing place to stay. The accomadation was beautifully decorated and really comfortable, theres privacy if you want it and always someone around for a chat if your looking for company. The hammocks are perfect for chilling out and the movie nights are great fun. Stu and Owl are the perfect hosts always around to advise on places to visit, give you a lift somewhere and just generally make your stay as pleasent as possible. The dinners are really tasty too so definately partake in the evening meal at least once. All in all the experience in Quinta Stuart was fantastic and I will definately go back on any return trips to the Algarve.

Room Tip: Owl house has air conditioning and en suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We absolutely loved our weekend with Owl and Stu and appreciate very much the work they are doing to provide more sustainable, higher quality of life, and practical travel options. Aside from the campo-chic accommodation and community feel, the home cooked meals were superb, and they were always available to provide insights to the city and surrounding area. We hope to be back in the future and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at Quinta Stuart for 3 days and it was fantastic! We were looked after very well by Stu and Owl and had a brilliant time. The food was fab and were made to feel really welcome. We will definitely go back if we visit the Algarve again. :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_co11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We had a great stay at Eco hostel. It provides a different holiday experience to the normal high rise hotels on the Algarve. Here you live close to nature and appreciate the resources we take for granted in the city. The Owl House was very comfortable with its own outdoor kitchen and patio. We loved watching movies while lying in hammocks under the stars and picking fruit from the trees. Stuart and Owl are great hosts who provide meals on request- the delicious seafood paella- was a winner. We came away having learnt so much about permaculture and how to live gently on the planet. Take time to cycle in the hills and visit the roman ruins. The mosaics are fabulous and it is very unspoilt with no crowds.

Room Tip: Owl house has airconditioning and a bathroom en suite. The tepee looks great fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edujen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I live in the Algarve, not a million miles away from Stu and Owl who have been my friends for many years. I took the opportunity to "get away from it all" and stayed at Quinta Stu with a visiting Canadian friend. Stu and Mary are the kindest, most genuine couple you could ever meet. We had a very warm welcome, shared a fabulous seafood rice meal with them on the terrace, then took to the hammocks in the outdoor cinema to watch Pirates of the Caribbean 4. Quinta Stu is a totally relaxing place and somewhere you can go to unwind and simply chill out. Love it! Look forward to introducing more of my Algarvean contacts to it who will, in turn, recommend it to their friends. Thanks Owl and Stu, and c u soon. Love 'n' light, Jennie x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dVyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We spent 6 lovely nights at Quinta Stuart at the end of May 2011 (extended from 3 because we were enjoying it so much!). We stayed in the Owl house which was clean, comfortable and well equipped, though the least eco friendly of their accommodations with its own bathroom, a/c unit and outdoor kitchen. Stuart, Owl and Holly (& the dogs, cat and chickens!) were amazing hosts, welcoming us as if we were long lost friends. They did everything in their power to ensure we had a great time and were able to enjoy the area even though we were without a vehicle, which was very much appreciated. The property is beautiful and lush, with fruit and nut trees, herbs and veggies throughout, and several areas to lounge, relax and sip a cold beverage. We even got to enjoy a movie outside in the hammocks one night, which was great.

The only slight negative is that it's about a 10-15 minute drive to the slightly larger surrounding towns and beaches. With a vehicle, this would be no problem at all, but could potentially be a bit challenging without one. That said, I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing, unique and very reasonably priced place to stay near Faro. The passion that Stu and Owl put into running Quinta Stuart is evident and shines throughout the property.

If I return to southern Portugal one day (and I hope to), I will certainly return to Quinta Stuart!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_in_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
951 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
100 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,564 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Algarve

Property: Eco Algarve
Address: Sta Barbara de Nexe, Faro, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are closed whilst re-sturcture is underway, and look forward to welcoming you in the summer of 2018. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing