We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco Hostel Algarve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eco Hostel Algarve
Ranked #4 of 23 Faro B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a wonderful place and what wonderful people. The place was so beautiful and so clean, easy to find, easy to get around and we loved it. Location is great actually, as you would be a short drive from Faro Airport, and easy drives from the rest of the Algarve. We were made so welcome, that we didn't want to leave. We just loved this place - we had BBQ's most nights, sat in their beautiful garden and even had a Movie night in Hammocks. Awesome!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Owl House and had total privacy and our own bathroom. Each room has its own charact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
34
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a lovely week at Quinta Stuart! We were well-cared for by our sensitive and perceptive hosts, and found the coast and countryside to be very accessible on the well-serviced bikes we rented from Quinta Stuart. It's a straightforward (and slightly downhill) 7.5 mile cycle to the famous fishing port of Olhão, with its ferries and water taxis to the island beaches (Armona is particularly recommended -- in early May we found ourselves with the vast south beach nearly to ourselves and the water warm enough for swimming, by UK standards), and this route came to dominate our week.

We also spent a day bicycling to Faro and Faro beach (only a few more miles than the ride to Olhão), and a particularly lazy day at Quinta Stuart, cycling less than 10 minutes to Estoi for a magnificent grilled (and inexpensive) lunch, and otherwise reading in the shaded hammocks, playing table tennis, and going for a walk with our hosts' three very well-trained and sociable canine companions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Loved the relaxing atmosphere here. Great garden with hammocks. Owl house is nice with own bathroom and own outdoor kitchen.

You should have a car to get here & around. There are nice beaches to visit in the area. Closest beach is in Faro, a 15 minute drive.

We loved our stay here. Very nice people!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Myself, my brother and Mother wanted to go to somewhere unique and different for our summer holiday and my goodness did we find the perfect place! Stu, Owl and Petra are great hosts and hostess' who bring a welcoming atmosphere along to a truly magnificent environment. We didn't know what to expect the first day and night of our arrival, meeting a few new people we have never met in our lives, but the way Stu, Owl and Petra showed us around the accommodation and broke the ice to make us feel more comfortable was outstanding, never have I seen such excellent hosting skills! We met some amazing people along the way, hope to come by soon! Thank you for making our visit to Faro that extra bit special, hope to be back soon:) lot of love xxx

Room Tip: It depends on what you want on your stay, each different accommodation has its own different environ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent 11 nights at the eco hostel and had one of our most peaceful and relaxing holidays ever. Stu, Owl and Petra are lovely warm hosts! Stu and Owl have built a tranquil, attractive green oasis a million miles away from most modern, soulless hotels. Particularly enjoyed watching a film swinging from a hammock in the Theatre of Dreams. Great value and we hope to come back soon xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Lovely place, just basic, back to your roots, yourself and nature, with great people, nice talks, a family feeling...just the real deal. Thank you guys! I had a nice time, good chats and a new start of living again! Thanks you owl, stuart and petra. I hope to see you soon again! XXX

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Perfectly located for exploring Southern Portugal.
Stu and Owl's ingenuity, practical skills and artistic creativity have made the Eco Hostel a very special place to stay.
Saturday night with a home made pizza cooked in Stu's outside wood burning oven followed by relaxing in a hammock watching a film in the Theatre Of Dreams was a sheer delight.
The Eco sustainability has been well researched and thoughtfully constructed.
Comfortable, clean and tidy, there was always enough solar heated hot water for a refreshing shower.
We had a great time and enjoyed the happy atmosphere.
We have already recommended it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolmhall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
4.4 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
4.3 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
6.6 mi away
Winniehill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Hostel Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Hostel Algarve

Property: Eco Hostel Algarve
Address: Sta Barbara de Nexe, Faro, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at Eco Hostel Algarve. From only 25 euros per person. Breakfast included. All rooms are unique and comfortable. All have private outside seating area or wooden shaded deck. Some have bathrooms ensuite, with air-conditioning or ceiling fans. Choose from A Goan style eco elevated wooden room. A 4 bed Family room with toilet and shower en-suite. A private Insulated Chalet with air-conditioning, en-suite bathroom and outside sheltered kitchenette on wooden deck. Or A charming, Cosy Cabin, a wooden chalet with air-conditioning, shaded fruit trees outside. "Theatre of Dreams" is an outdoor movie theatre, with hammocks, and comfortable chairs. Hemmingway's, an eco bamboo chill-out Lounge, with comfortable sofas and a pool table. New for the summer of 2015 is a cool shaded area available for yoga or snoozing on sun lounges . Cooking areas including a Kitchenette, BBQ and genuine rocket-stove. Lots of places to socialise. Darts board, Table Football as well as various board game and cards free to use anytime. We offer a popular buffet breakfast. There are regular pizza nights using our big bread oven. We now even make our own charcoal! Guests are welcome to self cater in our communal kitchenette. There is a well stocked honesty bar which also has water, juice and soda cans. We recommend you rent a car, but we can organise a taxi, and have various bicycles for hire. The local town of Estoi is three kms away, Faro is 12kms away. Stuart and Owl are the owners and with nearly thirty years of living in the Algarve know the best restaurants and beauty spots. We look forward to seeing you soon. Come, stay, Chill-out at our Eco Hostel the stress free way!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing