We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, no character”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ibis Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Faro
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Faro
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sussex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value, no character”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good value for the modest price, but utterly lacking in charm and character. Fine for a one-night stay not far from the airport, but you certainly wouldn't want to stay a minute longer than necessary.

Comfortable bed, good sound-proofing.

Front-desk staff helpful and speak good English.

Food very limited.

Free Wifi connection just about adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    347
    223
    59
    24
See reviews for
149
435
55
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is very reasonable but the location is not good as we had to get taxis (at an average cost of €16 round trip) into Faro every day as it was too far to walk. There is a bus stop nearby but you have to walk on a narrow path next to motorway and it was extremely dangerous. The room was fine, clean and the TV had BBC World News channel which was great. Staff were OK on the whole, most of them did not have great English which made ordering food difficult. The first night, my husband ordered steak and the woman taking the order could not understand that he wanted medium rare. I asked her if it came with chips or potatoes and she said yes (which I understood to mean one of those things), what we got was crisps. I'm not joking. They served crisps with EVERYTHING. The breakfast which was only €6 was the best food we had in the hotel - it was a buffet of lovely bread, cheese, croissants, freshly squeezed OJ, cereal etc. The pool is nice but the loungers are a bit grubby. This hotel would be OK for one night's stay and if you had a car, I would not recommend it for a long stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Linda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Faro hotels

Stirling
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent one night here en route home, stopping over due to an early flight. The room was very small but I thought the best use was made of available space. The bed was very comfortable. I loved the fact that breakfast started at 4am as we were checking out at 6.30am. The fresh breads, pastries etc in the morning were lovely. I eat in the hotel the evening before too and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food. Nice little swimming pool and terrace are to enjoy our last bottle of vino verhde! As long as you're not expecting too much, I thought this a good hotel for short stopover at an excellent price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosTraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

really disapointed ! Don't even think it reach the Ibis-Budget standard. Used to visit accord hotel, we took the Ibis because we got a good offer, and that usually we know what to expect. IBIS faro was the worst Ibis we ever saw! mainly dirty feeling (carpet, bath turned to yellow ,no more soap ...), bad smell...not efficient AC. also heard a lot of noise from corridor and other rooms. to avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidvarso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Positives: very comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. V good for a one night stay beside the airport.

Negatives: small rooms - this is not really a problem except we had to get two adjoining rooms to fit two adults, a toddler and a baby. The cot etc was however all set up as requested which was appreciated. The only real negative was the breakfast. Although there was a good selection of food, I would prefer to pay another euro or 2 to have some decent coffee and juice as unfortunately the quality of these staples was very poor.

The pool looked inviting but we didn't have a chance to use it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.1 mi away
Hotel 3K Faro Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Faro

Property: Hotel Ibis Faro
Address: Rua Poeta Antonio Aleixo 206 | E.N. 125 Pontes de Marchil, Faro 8005-174, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Faro
#1 Best Value Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ibis Faro 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Faro hotel is located 2 km from the centre of Faro, 3 km from the airport and 6 km from the sunny beaches of Algarve. Book one of our 81 aircondtioned rooms or 2 meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences and make use of our restaurant, bar with a terrace area and serving snacks 24 hours, outdoor swimming pool and private outdoor parking. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi broadband Internet access. There is a tennis court 2 km from the hotel and a golf course 10 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ibis Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing