We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 stars!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winniehill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winniehill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Faro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“6 stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have spent five nights (in two shifts) in this wonderful B&B and we did really appreciate our stay. The house has a wonderful location with a beautiful view over Faro and the sea.
Fiona and Robin are very good hosts: interesting and interested but without being intrusive.

Winniehill is 5 kms outside Estoi and a 20 mins drive from the airport. Directions from Fiona got us there faultlessly. During our stay Fiona and Robin had several suggestions for beaches to visit, restaurants to dine in (they even made reservations for us), and immedeately provided us with directions how to go. Very nice.

We stayed in two different rooms, one with a roof terrace, and one on the poolside. Both were very clean en pretty, the poolside room being a little larger.

But the best part is still to come: breakfast. Fiona and Robin conjure up a great breakfast every morning at 9am. Wonderfully fresh bread, freshly baked muffins (our favorite was the banana one), fresh cereals, just to much to mention. Highly recommended to everyone! When we had to leave at 8am the last day to catch an morning plane, it was no problem at all to make us breakfast at 7.15.

We think Winniehill is a very romantic and pretty B&B, with an excellent value-for-money. A definite must-go!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puzzy51, Owner at Winniehill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank for your lovely review , you were so kind .
We really enjoyed having you at Winniehill .

We would like to thank all our customers for their reviews and hope to see you all again at Winniehill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have tried several B and B’s in recent times. Winniehill is up there with the best, worldwide. It is a lovely place to stay - clean, comfy, with super location and views, brilliant breakfasts, good evening meals, if you book the meal in time, and lovely hosts. Robin and Fiona are up there with the best generally but are world champions for their directions to places to visit and dine (very important in the Algarve). When you ask about something, they inevitably come up with a printed set of directions to and from where you want to go which make the puzzle of Portuguese roads fathomable.
We were there for three days, after staying at other parts of the Algarve. We noticed that guests coming to Winniehill while we were there came for between one and three days. Winniehill is good for longer stays. It is good for chilling out, over a period, as well as offering relatively easy access to most of the Algarve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

A friend and I stayed at Winniehill at the end of a three week vacation. The beautiful and immaculate home is high in the hills in a secluded and stunning setting.

Fiona and Robin were wonderful hosts. Fiona's famous breakfasts were by far the best we had in Europe. In good weather breakfast is on the terrace overlooking the pool. Fuschia colored bougainvillea and flowering shrubs frame the view to the sea. Fresh fruit and jams from the garden, hot baked breads, and sumptuous egg dishes and meats, all adorned with flowers and attractive dish ware, made us feel like royalty. We also had one of Fiona's delicious home cooked dinners on the terrace. The broiled sea bass and vegetables were fresh and expertly prepared.

We stayed in the sun-filled Seaview room, which faces the sea. The only challenge was using the small wash basin in the separate bathroom without splashing water on the floor. That being said, I would stay here again. Fiona and Robin also created a comfortable living/tv area for guests that opens to the pool and sea view. It is a perfect place to watch a video, read, talk, play games, or even take a nap. Fig, plum, and orange trees were full of fruit, so we picked sweet juicy plums for snacking.

I had just come from Lisbon where I attended a Rotary convention. Robin happens to be a Rotarian and kindly offered to take me to his Rotary club meeting, but the timing didn't work out. Robin and Fiona's experience in hotels and hospitality is clearly evident. They have done a masterful job of creating a warm and welcoming environment, and made excellent shopping, dining, and sightseeing suggestions. Winniehill is a great choice. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SierraMadretravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Robin and Fiona made us feel welcome from our arrival until we left. It is a beautiful villa and lounging round the pool one can fantasise that it is all yours. It is very small in terms of capacity for visitors, but that is part of its charm. Fiona's breakfasts are unbeatable, we even had to ask for less food! And she is amenable to guests keeping their muffins (which are amazing!) back for morning coffee. Snacks and the honesty bar are very reasonably priced. Sadly we did not try an evening meal as we had commitments elsewhere, but on the evidence of our breakfast, we are sure they are excellent - we will let you know when we return, which we certainly will. Part of the joy for us was the presence of Winniehill's much loved dogs, Rupert and Puzzle.

Room Tip: Only two rooms and hard to choose. Juliet balcony over the pool and stunning views in one, and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Unfortunately my review will be short and sweet as we only stayed 1 night! All I can say is that it was very good! The location, room, food, hospitality etc was excellent and the only downside is that we were flying home the next day, so it was a short visit! We will definitely return and I have no hesitation in recommending Winniehill.

I do firmly believe that a lot of people like to find fault with anything and I can 100% say that this was one of the best places we stayed on our trip across the Algarve!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egypt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our stay last year was so good that we went back again this May for another week and this time took our parents too. Fiona and Robin are wonderful hosts, amazing breakfasts, fabulous meals cooked for us on three different evenings, and all the guidance about the local area you could possibly ask for. Room, pool room and gardens are lovely and the villa commands excellent views down to the sea. Within 20 minutes drive you can be at lots of different beaches, all beautiful and not at all crowded even during half term holiday week end of May/early June. Fiona sorted out an amazing boat trip for us with a brilliant local guide. We can't wait to return. Thanks again Fiona and Robin, on behalf of mum and dad as well as Vanessa, Tommy and I.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy503975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We came to rest & relax. Winniehill was perfect for us. We visited at the beginning of June and had fine weather. Robin & Fiona were very welcoming. The breakfast was an amazing feast. "Snacks" are available to buy, as we were too tired upon arrival to go out to eat. Home-prepared, they were delicious. Lovely to sit by the pool at sunset, by candlelight and enjoy local cheese, meat & wine. To us, it was served up with warmth & hospitality. Regarding the weak wi-fi and toilet paper rules - We have been at a hotel in Greece & in an ice cream/bakery in Faro, which banned flushing of t.p. It's not just WInniehill; some of these towns do not have the plumbing capacity to deal with paper, so it is a cultural issue. Yes, internet was not strong in certain rooms/zones. Since we wanted to be unplugged, it was not a big deal. Brought mosquito repellent but wasn't so necessary in June.

Room Tip: If you need to be online alot, request a room that has better connection. We had the downstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbrauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
2.7 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
7.5 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.4 mi away
Aqua Ria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winniehill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winniehill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Winniehill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 155-Z Alcaria Cova | Estoi, Faro, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winniehill ia a beautiful renovated farmhouse with a stunning panoramic view of the sea with private pool in a charming rural setting in the Eastern Algarve. For total relaxation Winniehill is the perfect place to unwind. And only a 15/20 mins drive from Faro airport. It lies half way between the pretty town of Estoi with its restored palace and the quaint market town of Moncarapacho.Winniehill offers 3 double bedrooms with private bathrooms We are not really suitable for very small children , the pool area has many steps . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Winniehill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing