We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fun kayak on Ria Formosa”

Lands - Turismo na Natureza
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We organize tours and activities in Ria Formosa and the Algarve: sailing boat trips, kayak tours, birdwatching tours, guided walks and kayak rental & hire. Daily available departures throughout the year.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There have been many great reviews here and I think it is important to validate and review those reviews. We did the 2 hour kayak tour with Lauro (tour guide). Lauro was very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area and this confirms many of the other reviews. We took the double kayak which requires teamwork but it also seemed possible to take the single kayaks if preferable.

Arranging a time for the tour was not straight forward but calling to make the appointment should solve any scheduling problems. The schedule listed is not always correct since it seems to be on supply and demand. This is something a couple of other reviews pick up on alongside the general customer service within the shop. It for us this wasn't a big dampener.

The tour overall was a nice balance between seeing the local wildlife (late June was sadly a bit too early this year for the best timing) in the nature park and enjoying the activity of kayaking. The water in that area is typically quite calm and therefore provides quite a relaxed safe location even for a novice to learn and enjoy.

Quick Tips:
Wear clothes and shoes you can get wet.
Have waterproof camera bag or camera if you want to take pictures
Stretch before you get in the kayak if you aren't the most flexible, trust me ;)

1  Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bárbara A, Gerente at Lands - Turismo na Natureza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jack,

Many thanks for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

Guests insight is very important for us so it's great to know you had a such a relaxing and fun kayak tour in Ria Formosa with us. We want to thank you also for your comments about our guide Lauro which makes us very proud of our work and our team.
We'll be looking forward your next visit here and on behalf of all our team @ Lands we send our warmest regards,

Bárbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"local wildlife"
in 5 reviews
"kayak trip"
in 4 reviews
"double kayak"
in 4 reviews
"ria formosa"
in 19 reviews
"bird watching"
in 5 reviews
"low tide"
in 4 reviews
"perfect length"
in 2 reviews
"nature park"
in 3 reviews
"the atlantic ocean"
in 3 reviews
"hour tour"
in 3 reviews
"small boat"
in 2 reviews
"visiting faro"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"barbara"
in 10 reviews
"lakes"
in 19 reviews
"skiing"
in 10 reviews
"lagoon"
in 6 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Went on a quality short boat ride with the kids. One child went free. The skipper was a great host very knowledgeable, the boat was solar powered which was very peacful so we will be going back for a longer cruise to the ilha deserta before we go home.

Thank Javed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bárbara A, Gerente at Lands - Turismo na Natureza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Javed,

Many thanks for taking your time to review your solar boat trip in Ria Formosa. Your insight is very important for us @ Lands so we're very happy to know your boat tour was such a great experience.

We want to thank you also for your lovely comments about our guide Lauro that makes us very proud of our team and our work.

We hope to see you next time here and send our warmest regards on behalf of all our team @ Lands,

Bárbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Lands is a well-run company with extremely knowledgable staff. We did not have much time so we could only do the 45-minute tour. But our guide LAURO, was extremely knowledgable and professional. By training he is a marine biologist, and he mixed science, nature and humor perfectly to give us a great experience on the barrier islands of the Ria Formosa.

Tour left on-time. Boat was awesome because it was 100% solar (!) powered. Lauro is smart and passionate about nature in the Algarve. We did the tour in March, and it was just myself & my partner with Lauro...so really like a private tour without the private-tour-price.

You'll have a great day with Lands, and Lauro rocks. Don't skip this when visiting Faro.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bárbara A, Gerente at Lands - Turismo na Natureza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Paul,

Many thanks for taking your time to review your solar boat trip in Ria Formosa.

Your insight is very important for us @ Lands so we're very happy to know you had such a great experience on the barrier islands of Ria Formosa.

We want to thank you also for your lovely comments about our guide Lauro. Knowing he was extremely knowledgeable and professional mixing science, nature and humor perfectly make us very proud of our team and our work.

We hope to see you next time here and send our warmest regards on behalf of all our team @ Lands,

Bárbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We never got to do the kayak trip as the not-so-helpful receptionist advised us against it for wind reasons (even though there wasn't much of a breeze). Afterwards it seemed to us it had been in her own interest (so we could fill the big boat for the next tour) but of course we could not prove it...
The boat experience we did instead was good in the end though, a bit too much bird-watching for our taste, as that was not the intent of our excursion, but the guide Francisco was very funny and made a lot of effort to include every and each one of the nationalities sitting on that boat!

Thank Barretina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

The wetlands around Faro are full of wildlife, including an amazing variety of birds, and can best be viewed by getting up close in a small boat. I have some kayaking experience but I took a novice with me and he picked it up easily enough. If you want to make it all the way through the wetlands to Praia de Faro, where you can land and take a short boardwalk across to the Atlantic Ocean beach, then you will need to book a 4 hr session for €35 as it took us just over two hours to get there (coming home was slightly quicker as we had the wind and tide with us). If you want to sunbathe or picnic on the beach, or take your time and explore the creeks, then you would need to book the full day. The price is per kayak, not per person and they have both single and double kayaks available. The booking desk is on the front of the harbour and the boats are collected from the slipway at the far side of the harbour, along with paddles, life jackets and a map! It is best to book if you want to go out first thing as we were told that they opened at 9am but it took until 10am for the man with the boats to get us out on the water. However, I must commend the centre as I had gone the day before and been advised that it was too windy and choppy and that we would enjoy it much more and get farther into the wetlands if we waited for the next morning. It was excellent advise (much better to go out against the tide so that you know you can get back easily) and we had a wonderful trip. Much more exciting than the ferry boat!

2  Thank Faburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bárbara A, Gerente geral at Lands - Turismo na Natureza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Faburt

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important for us and it's great to know you had such a wonderful time kayaking in Ria Formosa. This area is indeed full of wildlife and one of the best ways of exploring it is kayaking.

We want to thank you also on your comments on our team and our center. We try our best to advise guests to a great experience so your comments make us very proud of our team.

Once again many thanks for your preference and best regards from all our team @Lands

Bárbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lands - Turismo na Natureza also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Lands - Turismo na Natureza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing