We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A joy to find for a vegetarian in Faro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Faz Gostos

Faz Gostos
Reserve with
Faz Gostos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 307 Restaurants in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Under new management since November 2012, FazGostos Restaurant is located in the heart of Faro's Old Town, where it explores the concept of typical portuguese cooking with some french cuisine twists. The cozy ambience, complemented with a friendly staff and classic and contemporary decoration throughout the dining room, turns the place in an ideal location for a business lunch or a more intimate dinner. The cooking, inspired by local food, elaborates plates for all kinds of taste, which present familiar flavours complemented with a modern touch. The restaurant also offers the possibility of visiting its wonderful wine cave, which will definitely have something suitable to your taste
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A joy to find for a vegetarian in Faro!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I know from previous experience that eating out in Portugal - particularly southern Portugal - can be a bit of a nightmare for vegetarians. Having had some pretty disappointing meals on our recent holiday in Faro, I was delighted to discover Faz Gostos (the downside was: we discovered it at lunchtime on the day we were leaving!) Although the lunch menu (very economically-priced) didn't list a veggie option, when I asked they had no hesitation in offering me the stuffed aubergine option from the main menu as part of the lunchtime deal. It was truly scrumptious, as was the salad starter. I'd go back to Faro just to visit this restaurant again. Nice decor, extremely friendly & helpful staff, fab food. What more could one ask?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionamarg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    133
    32
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quarteira, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant find in Faro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was like stepping into a top restaurant in big city. The waiter was top class and he never missed an opportunity to refill our water or make sure we were comfortable and our food was nice. The food was delicious, I had the prawn risotto after the two tone spinach soup and my partner had their homemade sausage and the milk lamb and will all the lovely cover nibbles and fresh hot bread neither of us could manage dessert which I was gutted about as I'd already seen creme brûlée on offer! Next time we go I will skip lunch!!
We will most certainly go again next time we are in Faro

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AAWortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscheid, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I though I wouldn't want to eat anywhere else ever again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Fantastic, no more to say. THE restaurant to go to in Faro. No comparison with the other restaurants around even though the others are nice too (we tried them all).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maliiiiice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We visited faz Gostos in the middle of our second week in Faro. It was different to any other restaurant we had visited. It was not a tourist, high volume restaurant. It was the kind of place you would go on a special occasion. The service was formal but friendly. The amuse bouche was a nice touch. The waiter recommended a really nice bottle of wine, and it was quite cheap, certainly by Irish standards. The attention to detail was excellent. However, a number of large groups of diners arrived shortly after us and the waiter and waitress on duty were under serious pressure to cope. They managed admirably but, the intervals between course grew loner and longer.However, it was a relaxed atmosphere, a meal you would like to savour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank niceneasy091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great tastes and large portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A great restaurant with good service, great food and wine. We walked in without reservations based on a listing in the Michelin Guide, and were pleased to get a table. Will visit this restaurant again before we leave Faro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Faz Gostos also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 
 

Been to Faz Gostos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing