We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Monaco faro”
Review of Monaco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Close to the airport,lovely large clean room with excellent fittings. Ignore other reviews I am fussy,and this is really a good hotel. Yes the pool is small,but it is not a holiday hotel!! Plenty of sunbeds..... nice clean pool and it was very quiet whilst we were there although didnt really use it much. We needed a hotel close to the airport and also close to the football stadium. You would probably have to use taxis into Faro,we had a hire car so this wasn't a problem. Breakfast plentiful,although don't expect a full english. Be up early for the scrambled egg though after 10am and you have missed out. Bar prices expensive,but found every bar/restaurant to be the same.
Carol & John (Newcastle supporter) Newcastle won!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Monaco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Wanted a couple of days in the sunshine and so cheap flights with easyJet and Monarch booked. Arrived late but short journey by taxi from the airport (€8 max

Hotel 1: Check in easy and given room 202. Really a bit crummy, dirty, neglected- no absolutely terrible but certainly not somewhere you'd want to spend much time. Tried the Aircon and it wasn't working so went to reception to see if they could fix it. So late, no one on duty so they gave me room 406

Hotel 2: room 406; lovely fresh, modern well decorated room with flat screen tv and great aircon, nice views- everything that would get a good review here. Hard to believe they were in the same building.

The facilities are fine, nice sun beds next to the pool, free towels if you're lucky, none available on Sunday for some reason. Pool smallish but enough to cool off in.

Staff very friendly, free transfer back to airport in their minibus, food typical but not expensive, beer cheap enough - 0,5l lager and huge pile of chips and a decent cheeseburger with plenty of change from €10

Breakfast has taken a kicking here in some reviews and it's a dark room stuck in the 80s but was fair enough, some fruit, breads, coffee, tea, eggs and hot dogs with cold cheese and meats. Again, standard stuff, just one complaint.

The Muzak. I don't really like loud music while I eat, and this was fairly loud, but was muzak not music. Worse still, the cd player seemed to be stuck on repeat so for the 40mins I was there, first day "I would do anything for you" played endlessly like something that should have been banned under the Geneva convention. Next day it was a Muzak version of "isn't she lovely" again and again, and again and again

Oh, someone mentioned that the tv /bar area had competing loud sounds of the radio and tv; ask the staff and they'll turn off one or the other or just turn off the tv if it's bothering you.

Wifi is also free here, Skype worked fine,

Overall, a nice place to spend a couple of days to relax, would go back if I could be guaranteed a room on the forth floor, but no way would I accept a second floor room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a new room, fourth floor good, second floor terrible
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalPlumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

While this hotel is close to Faro airport it still isn't easy to find if you are self driving. As I was arriving late into Faro I booked this hotel but as there was no eating opportunities nearby I had to go into Faro in any case for a meal.
Rooms were adequate but the breakfast in the basement was woeful.
Only consider this as a one night stand it arriving late or leaving early. There appeared to be better options in Faro and it isn't too far away. Certainly there is NO entertainment within walking distance of the Monaco Hotel

Room Tip: All rooms will be fairly quiet as you are pretty well in suburbia
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Only stayed in this hotel by chance for one night, as somewhere to stay was needed before moving on to our booked hotel the following day!

The receptionist was very helpful and very friendly, willing and able to answer any and all questions we had!

The rooms are very warm but nothing the air conditioning can't sort out!

Bar area is excellent, much nicer than expected, with two large TV's and free internet too!
The only issue is by the poolside, there is very little space, I wouldn't like to see what would happen if the hotel was full!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel is located very close to faro airport and if you find yourself travelling with family/young babies and the flight your on lands late in the evening or you have an early departure then make your life easy by staying here.

We have stayed at this hotel many times and the staff are fantastic, hotel rooms clean a nice swimming pool and ice cold beer on tap!

We emailed ahead and asked for two cot's in our room which they did for us, the price is very reasonable as are the bar prices.

Anyway, there you go don't do the drive west late at night when you can be in the bar within 30 mins of landing wake up refreshed enjoy a nice brekkie then head off on your holiday..

Happy Travels :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gowersurfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This has been our secon year staying at this hotel. the staff are lovley and helpful and the hotel itself is spotess.
it has a lovely pool and waterfall and it is nice to spend all day lying there enjoying the peace and quiet and a well earned holiday. i would definitely recommend this for couples.

Room Tip: when booking ask for a room on the 4th floor that way you can see the whole of faro and beyond lit u...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was our 2nd time at this hotel for a night stay with a group of friends en route to another destination. Very close to Faro Airport approx 5 minutes away & about 8 Euros in a taxi, situated down a quiet road. Very prompt check - in, rooms were quite large and had a large sliding window which brought in loads of light. There was a swimming pool and garden area to the side although I did get bitten by midgies. The bar area of the hotel was very large and had very comfortable loungers & had 2 televisions. The barman was very friendly & they also do snacks hot & cold. We went into Faro for a meal in the evening & the barman gave us a good recommendation for a Portugese restaurant. Breakfast area had quite a few tables but the food was basic. No hot food apart from a toaster, cold meats, cheeses, cereals & fruit. Apart from the breakfast I can't fault this hotel for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mixedblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,605 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 3K Faro Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Baptista Severino | Urb. Monte da Ria, Montenegro, Faro 8005-237, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £43 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monaco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing