We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value”
Review of Monaco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Only 35 Euros per night which included a very decent breakfast. Great place to stop off before moving on. Only 2 minutes from the airport. They did include a shuttle service but we never took advantage of it. Flew in late on the Wednesday night so we were anxious to get to our room. Upon leaving, the wait time was over 30 minutes so again we took a cab. All in all no complaints.

Room Tip: Not there long enough to determine that. this was just a stopover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed here 3 nights and really enjoyed its relaxed atmosphere and lovely staff. Nothing was too much trouble including giving me a room on the 4th floor when they were incredibly busy and letting me stay in my room 3 hrs after checkout time. The air conditioned room had a lovely view and was very clean. BBC world news, a minibar with bottles of water only, a safe, and free WiFi. There is a pool with toilets and showers and a bar selling drinks and snacks (burgers, pizza, salad and sandwiches). There is a free shuttle bus to Faro (5 mins away) at 10.30am and 5.30pm.

The hotel is close to Faro airport and you can usually get their free bus but as my plane was delayed I paid 9 Euros for a taxi (inc after midnight tariff). The area is quiet and residential so no nightime noise at all. There is, contrary to other posts, a small high street with cafes and a supermarket nearby- certainly walkable. The hotel breakfast has been maligned in other posts but its standard European fare - fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cheese, ham, croissant, rolls and scrambled egg, with juice and coffee. It is a very relaxed affair and you can have as much as you want. I was there alone with no problem at all, the hotel has meeting rooms and it is good for couples and families. All this for 30 Euros a night, I'd definitely return as it is an ideal hotel for a stop over or a short break

Room Tip: I enjoyed the 4th floor over looking the residential area, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissPStLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Hotel is very good located close to center, rooms are clean and big enough for a relaxing holiday. it is a 3 star hotel, but breakfast is not so good. it is a general problem in portugal, mostly breakfast is not what we waited for. Internet is free and avaible also in rooms. from the hotel you can easly go to the faro beach. I recommend the hotel coz of it"s cheap price but only for some days if you are making a tour around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deniztuzun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This hotel was in a nice neighborhood near the highway and close to the airport. We walked around in the evening and found good food. It just took us a couple of minutes to get to the airport in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel is the closest one to the airport but set in a residential area with no restaurants or shops nearby. It still requires a taxi to the airport AND to the town center and the quality is below average. I recommend staying in town, walkable to beach, shops, restaurants, etc. and then taking a taxi to the airport which isn't far.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiedtothedock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here once again for one noght before moving on to our stay in Alvor. Such a close proximity to Faro airport approx 5 mins away and the hotel provided free transportation. Rooms very clean, has tv & air conditioning. Bar area quite large with big screen tv & relaxing. As well as selling drinks they have a small selection of hot & cold food at reasonable prices. We went for a walk & about 10mins away is a parade of shops including bars & restaurants. Faro town is approx 5 mins away in a taxi. Staff are very friendly & informative.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mixedblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

English-speaking staff on Reception 24 hours. We arrived 10pm and were received courteously and efficiently. 4 floors and two lifts. Hotel and rooms were spotless - we stayed 2 nights to start and then another night before flight back, both times in room with a kingsize bed. Fairly quiet suburb of Faro and we slept ok, and only minutes from the airport using the hotel courtesy minibus. The pool looked inviting but we didn't use it. Hotel has a good breakfast room 7.30 to 10.30 but does not otherwise operate a normal restaurant. Rooms do have a Safe for valuables but these didn't work in our rooms - the first safe was missing its door! Overall a nice, friendly and clean hotel very convenient for the airport.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room better than the 3rd floor one, but both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,678 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
470 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#9 of 28 in Faro
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Baptista Severino | Urb. Monte da Ria, Montenegro, Faro 8005-237, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £42 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monaco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing