We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four out of five stars”
Review of Monaco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Was the hotel of choice for me on my week-long trip to the Algarve as it was very close to the airport and also into the centre of Faro - as a newly-qualified UK driver, confidence was a major issue with regards to renting a motor when everything is on the opposite side!

The staff were very friendly and chatty, and were always eager to help.

The hotel was very clean during my stay, and the bed was also pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was included in my price plan as it was the cheapest option on the website where I booked my stay; it wasn't extensive on the occasion I went down for my morning brew (not a big breakfast fan, myself), but seemed to be very good value. The area around the pool was also very clean, as was the pool itself.

The only pointers I would have to say is that there were a couple of issues regarding the drinks at the bar... don't be expecting your cocktail to be perfect, as it most likely won't be. Unfortunately, it hugely depended on the member of staff behind the bar, but this isn't exactly a major issue! I also noticed that the hotel claims to have a 'fitness centre', which it doesn't. There is a massage room, and a disappointment I did encounter was that the Jacuzzi was out of use outside.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Monaco to all Algarve travellers!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah-Mcgarrigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is good choice to someone, who arrive late to airport or has early flight, because hotel provide free transfers (we has problem with call to hotel, but finnaly succesfull). Our room is clean, bed is comfortable, nice staff. Breakfast some modest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomasz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just stopped overnight following a very late flight arrival as the hotel is only 5 mins from Faro airport and provides a free shuttle service for guests. The room was a reasonable size, clean and quiet. The buffet breakfast was not extensive but good value and there was plenty of everything, as the hotel was largely empty only part of the breakfast room was in use. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we were very happy, a very good value stopover hotel. Not sure however that I would want to use it for an extended stay as the actual area does not have much to recommend it other than easy airport and road access. Would certainly use again when we have a very early or late flight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great location a stones throw away from the airport which is handy and stress free lovely staff. Breakfast was lovely and the rooms are clean. Faro isn't to far away either I would defiantly encourage people to visit and stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josh1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Returning from a recent holiday in the Algarve booked an hotel for night before departure. Hotel Monaco montegnro about 3km from Faro with a regular bus to Faro and free. hotel shuttle to airport, comfortable room and friendly staff great pizza van 100 meters away. If you want to spend a few nights in Faro check it out. price on booking.com €29!

Room Tip: higher floor on the front of building There is a pool and leisure centre but hadn't time to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iaclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Monaco for 4 nights. It was booked with relaxation in mind, and that is certainly what we received. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful; all members of staff I encountered were fluent English speakers and provided sound advice in regards to local amenities, bus routes etc.

The room itself was simple, yet very clean and well maintained. Mini fridge and air-conditioning worked splendidly and the bed was incredibly comfy.

The rest of the hotel reflected the bedroom: basic but tidy. For a quiet and relaxing break it was ideal; I can count on one hand the amount of people around the pool area and the atmosphere around the place was chilled out.

Taxi service into Faro was another plus point. We often booked this as late as an hour before, but I would try to this earlier if you go at a peak time. The buses to and from Faro were frequent and reasonably priced.

Overall, I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel. If you want five star luxury then you may want to go elsewhere, but for a clean, relaxing, friendly atmosphere then look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzhou_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have stayed in Hotel Monaco only one night.
Location - very close to Faro Airport, no supermarkets behind.
Room - clean, good equipped (fridge, aircondition, etc), needs renovation.
Receiption - not very friendly, but professional, speaks English, German, France, responsive (quick response to emails).
Breakfast - very good (omelet, sausages, bread, yogurts, water, juice, tea, coffee, no fruits).
Pluses - provides free shuttle to/from airport (upon availability, 8:00-24:00).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,688 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,063 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
0.8 mi away
Hotel 3K Faro Aeroporto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Baptista Severino | Urb. Monte da Ria, Montenegro, Faro 8005-237, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £42 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monaco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing