We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly no frills base to explore the eastern Algarve !”
Review of Monaco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Faro
grays essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly no frills base to explore the eastern Algarve !”
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We arrived late at night in the pouring rain. the hotel is easy to find and close to the airport. The staff in reception was expecting us to arrive and were very friendly and helpful. Fortunatly we had a car, as this hotel is in a quiet residential area , and you really need your own transport to get anywhere. Our room was clean and comfortable. The only downside was the monotonous breakfast. Scrambled egg and a few unappatising frankfurter type sausages floating in murky liquid was passed off as a hot breakfast. Tinned fruit, watery juice and rolls and cakes were the safest option! The Hotel restaurant seemed to be permenantly closed. Saying all that, we still had a good holiday in the Algarve. The hotel was a comfortable and adequate base for our needs,and Very easy to get to Faro for nightlife and evening meals.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterGraysEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    101
    68
    45
    26
See reviews for
36
131
18
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff south wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This is totaly reviewed without looking at anyone else"s,and have just got back yesterday from a four night stay at this hotel.
Firstly it"s about 8 minutes away from the airport that cost us 7 euro"s fare,the hotel is clean,has been decorated to modern standards,it has a comfortable bar area with large flat sceen televisions and modern furniture.
The rooms are clean,spacious,well decorated with air con,a mini bar,good size bathroom with bath and shower,also plenty of room and a flat screen Tv on the wall.
The pool area is also clean spacious and well looked after,just to let you know that it"s not heated so they rely on the sun to heat up the water and as it"s not hot enough yet it was quite cold but still swimable.
The main town is about 3km away from the hotel but has a bus stop,about 100m from the Monaco hotel,and the buses are very frequent and cost about 2 euro to the town of Faro.
The only downside was the reception staff were quite miserable and anything that I asked about seemed as if it was too much trouble,also the free bus to the local beach goes when it suits them.
But all in all my wife and I enjoyed our stay and very much recommend this hotel,as long as you avoid bothering with reception!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rysmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We booked this hotel through hotelconnet.co.uk, the hotel was better then advertised on the website. It was a 3 star hotel, but our room had a tv and AC, very good value for money!! The rooms were cleaned daily and the hotel staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel offered a free shuttle to Faro town centre each day, which was very convinient. Once you get to Faro town centre - you can get public transport to other parts of the Algarve (e.g. Lagos, etc). The hotel is less than 10 minute drive from Faro town cenre and Faro airport, which was good. If we ever visit the Algarve again, we will be staying at this hotel!

  • Liked — It was very close to public transport
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loved_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

The Hotel is close to the Airport and rather close to the University. If you want to go downtown, you will have to take a taxi (10-15 minutes, approx. 8 euro). The Hotel has a small pool area. Internet is available but is not for free. The breakfast is very basic (limited choice). If you are interested in seeing a bit more of the town & beaches, I would not recommend this Hotel. If you are going to Faro for business and would like to be close to the Airport (and/or University), this Hotel is fine. The rooms are simple and clean.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Breakfast (very limited choice)
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LindaNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We stayed for one night in Hotel Monaco on our way back from a two week holiday in Lagos as we wanted to stay near the airport in order to be able to get away early next morning.

Going to the airport, follow the signs to Faro airport; you will see the name of the hotel in large letters on the roof on the left - there is an interchange shortly after you see the sign, follow the signs for the hotel - it's easy to find. Coming from the airport, there is a slip road into the hotel on the right after you pass the interchange.

The hotel is in an excellent location with regards to accessing the airport and for providing a relaxing end to a long holiday. But probably not a good location for a longer holiday as it's in a quiet suburban area & you have to get a taxi or drive everywhere. We got a taxi into Faro centre (7.90euro) in the evening and wandered around the old walled town - not a soul around in December on a Sunday night. We found a nice enough restaurant and had a pleasant meal & a few beers. We had to walk back to the bus station before finding a taxi to take us back.

The hotel room was clean, well appointed, mini bar etc. The hotel bar was closed for refurbishment & we didn't take breakfast. While there was a hotel minibus parked outside the door, it wasn't offered when we looked for a taxi back to the airport (taxi cost approx 5euros).

The staff were pleasant & helpful.

A comfortable pit stop before starting or ending a holiday in the area.

  • Liked — Location close to airport
  • Disliked — Having to take taxis everywhere
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Taistil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Reception staff were so helpful. All queries were promptly dealt with. The rooms were very clean and we received 2 complimentary baskets of fruit on our short stay. The bar staff seemed to be on happy pills----always smiling. The downside of this hotel was the location. It was in Montenegro-----outside of Faro and there are not a lot of places to eat out in the evenings. The pool is great and is certainly not used to full capacity. A great hotel------especially if you have your own transport.

  • Liked — Such helpful friendly staff members
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfwidowStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
724 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

Just had a four night break here. Breakfast was very good. Buffet with scrambled egg and frankfurters if you wanted hot. Plenty of croissants and muffins, cereal and tinned fruit..Took advantage of the free hotel shuttle to the beach one day.It didn't operate the next day due to a national holiday. There are a few bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel in Montenegro. We didnt have dinner in the hotel but the menu looked fine. Staff were very friendly. Pool was clean, although chilly. We did swim in the sea which was great when you got in.A taxi into Faro was fractionally cheaper than the bus for 4. The bar was very comfortable. All in all a relaxing enjoyable sunny Autumn break. Eating and drinking out was very reasonable.Taxi to the airport was about 5 euros.

  • Liked — Comfy bed
  • Disliked — Having to cotact reception to use safe, not sure if there was a charge
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
74 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,513 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.8 mi away
Hotel 3K Faro Aeroporto
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 28 in Faro
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Property: Monaco Hotel
Address: Rua Joao Baptista Severino | Urb. Monte da Ria, Montenegro, Faro 8005-237, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monaco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing