We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location”
Review of Hotel Eva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eva
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February in a Marina view double room.
Location: Excellent - the hotel looks over the marina, and the marshes around the Rio Formosa; it is also just a short stroll from the Old Town, and also from streets full of shops, bars and restaurants. It is also within a short walk of the railway and bus stations.
Room: The bedroom was smallish, but had a very comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, a fridge, desk and coffee table and chair. The bathroom, again, was smallish but had all the necessary amenities. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The balcony was of a good size, having a table and 2 chairs, and space for more. The balcony had a wonderful view, and got the sun from dawn until early afternoon.
Meals: Breakfast was served on the 5th floor, again with wonderful views. It was a buffet breakfast with all the usual suspects. We also ate one evening meal in the hotel restaurant - a good menu and well cooked; not too much more expensive than local restaurants.
Staff: All the staff we came in contact with were friendly and helpful.
There were also spa, gym, and swimming pool facilities which we did not use.

Room Tip: Go for a Marina vew room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Eva is right in the centre of the old town and many of the rooms look down on the marina. Friendly staff, excellent room, great breakfast buffet -- and walking distance to just about everything you want to see in Faro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking down on the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortuGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a great little hotel overlooking the small harbour in Faro. The hotel is modern and clean and the staff are very friendly. This is the perfect place to stop if you want a night or longer to explore what Faro old town has to offer. Rooms were modern (if a little small). The location of this property makes it perfect for those wanting to explore the town or somewhere close to the airport to stay if you have any early flight (it is less than 15 mins - but I didn't notice much noise from the planes coming and going).
There is roof top pool (which I didn't get to swim in).
One thing to watch out for is that the rooms with the best views (at the front of the property) also over look the mian square where you may find live music on a weekend which can go on until the early hours of the morning!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front over look that marina & central square (which can have live music on until th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have spent 4 nights in July there. Hotel is ok, with good food (especially buffet breakfast). One thing to complain - it is not about hotel itself, but people in Faro... Simply sad, very serious. Had a feeling that they do not know what the word smile means. Do not give me wrong, the service in hotel is absolutely fine... Only when you are on holidays, you want to see people smiling, not sad... And do not understand, why in Faro restaurants/bars there is no music at all!!!
Choose this hotel if you want for any particular reason stay in Faro. Today I would choose Vilamoura marina, not Faro itself.
Big advantage for me - nice roof swimming pool (not very crowd) and only 30 minutes from beautiful Isla Desierta.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My wife and I visited the Eva for three nights in June, having stayed there previously for a week in the later 1960s. At that time the hotel was new, the city was in the process of being updated with many streets not yet paved and the country was in the Salazar dictatorship era. We saw, for example, only one advertisement in the city and no outside restaurants. Everyone ate in the Eva - the cuisine was superb. The Algarve was essentially empty.

This time was no disappointment as we knew the hotel's provenance and we received what we expected. We were quite satisfied. We noted however that the bathrooms appeared to have the same sanitary wear, although the surrounding tiles were now cracked. We ate out quite satisfactorily every evening, which is what one seems to do these days.

The Eva's not luxurious, compared with what can be found these days at not much higher prices, but very convenient for a short city-based break. One does however need to ensure one acquires a room overlooking the marina. The street view's a bit too busy these days.

Do note if you are a Senior that you pay half price on the trains if you show proof of your age (e.g. your driving licence card). We took the train to Lagos, which is a much trendier place, if you want this. The railway station's only a five minutes' walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just returned from 3 nights in this hotel - could not complain about a single thing - rooms nice and clean and modern, staff extremely friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast substantial and excellent location for town, marina, bus and train station.
hotel good quality and excellent value for money

Room Tip: rooms overlooking marina are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel in September, and booked a room with a sea view. We arrived at 10.30 pm, so it was not until the morning that we realised that the room in fact over-looked a dingy road. The hotel admited their mistake at the time and appologised but said we would have take up the issue of a refund for the diference in room tarrif with the compnay we booked through. Now two months later we have got absolutely nowhere, the hotel now say we should have checked the view when we arived, which in the dark would have been difficult, so no refund, and we have paid extra for a view we did not get.
The hotel is otherwise just about okay, but beware if anything does go wrong don't expect the hotel to be receptive, or put things right. There are other choices in Faro

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluesman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,027 reviews
6 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#3 of 28 in Faro
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
466 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eva

Address: Avenida da Republica 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Faro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#3 Family Hotel in Faro
Price Range: £67 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eva 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town Faro, by the marina and just a few steps from the historic and commercial centre of the Algarve capital city, Hotel Eva is the ideal choice either in leisure or business.Faro airport is easily reachable in less then 10 minutes drive, as well as all Ria Formosa beaches easily reachable by boat or car.The Hotel has 134 rooms and Suites suitable to families, groups, couples or single travellers, 2 restaurants with great views, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool (May-Oct), and a modern Health Club with Day Spa, gym, group classes, sauna and steam bath.Please note: Access to the Health Club is only allowed to guest over 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing