We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - poor housekeeping”
Review of Hotel Eva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Eva
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Birmingham
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good location - poor housekeeping”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Arrived late in the evening, 15 minutes from the airport, check in was efficient all the staff were friendly. We had chosen a marina view room which had a great view. The lifts are tiny (says 6 people) any more than 3 it is very cramped.
Room - very underwhelmed by the room which was much smaller than expected, if you sat on the stool at the mirror there was no room to pass, you had to climb over the bed, it was meant to be a double room, did have a double bed but only 1 chair, 1 tumbler and 1 wine glass. Small fridge, small TV with a number of English speaking channels. Wardrobe had enough hangers for the week. The bed and pillows were comfortable. No tea/coffee making facilities and only one electric socket by the bed at floor level. The room was quite grubby, the dressing table was sticky and had drink rings along the length so had not been cleaned before we arrived...worse still it was not cleaned for the whole week, there was also 'bits' on the carpet, they were there for a couple of days before the carpet was hoovered. During the week we never saw anyone doing the rooms. The AC only worked on heat, it was quite stuffy in the room but could not get the AC to cool so we had to sleep with the balcony door open . The free WiFi only worked if you sat by the door to the room, it dropped out immediately if you sat on the bed so couldn't use on balcony, it was so slow even by the door it was almost unusable. The local bars all had good free WiFi.
Bathroom - Glass door to the bathroom with toilet just inside the door - did not like this, a good door for privacy is needed. The bath and shower were OK but could not get the shower to stay at a constant temperature. Toiletries provided and good towels. No tissues which would be expected for a 4* hotel.
Balcony - my pet hate here, the balcony was furnished with cheap plastic chairs and low table which was dirty and stayed dirty. The balcony was swept once during the week but the low dirty plastic table with its coffee stains remained without cleaning. The balcony rail had the paint peeling off and the walls had dirty marks as well as cracks.
Breakfast - Cold meats and tinned fruit, a small amount of fresh fruit. Cakes and pastries were very few and far between. Scrambled eggs, bacon every day, we had to ask for fried eggs which were cooked for us when asked. Breakfast not the hottest and the same every day, when something ran out the staff had to be asked to replenish. Make your own toast which was good so it was hot and toasted to our liking. Coffee passable. Only tea plates provided for breakfast so 1 egg & a couple of rashers of bacon and the plate was full. Not the variety or choice expected of a 4* hotel.
Overall at good base for exploring the Algarve region, Faro itself is not worth staying in, on Sundays the whole town is closed and even during the week there are only a few bars and restaurants open. The hotel looks tired and in need of a paint job which looks as if it may be being done as scaffolding was going up around the hotel as we left.
Would not give the hotel 4 stars...3.5 at the most and a little expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: A marina view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente geral at Hotel Eva, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate thoroughly your experience at Hotel Eva, Please rest assured that we will look into all the points you were less satisfied with, hoping that in the near future we will be able to welcome you. We also take this opportunity to inform that we are currently painting and renovating all the balconies - furniture included.

Our best regards

Pedro almeida

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    662
    264
    65
    40
See reviews for
195
838
81
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Everything from start to finish was perfect: the location, the rooms, the breakfast buffet...we loved it!
So easy to get around when using this hotel as a hub, we got the train to Lisbon one day and the bus to and from the beach and airport is just outside the door.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cailinontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Where there this weekend, we had a superbe service by the staff, perfect breakfast, an amazing view over the harbour. We had a drink next to the swimming pool. The hotel is perfect situated next to the airport and the old town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Hotel Eva is a great place to stay! The staff were all excellent, polite and very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, the rooms were spotless and the view from the restaurant was amazing. Would definitely stay again if we come back to Faro. We were on the side of the hotel near the street and had no problems at all with noise as mentioned in previous reviews.

Room Tip: Room 419 was fine, near the road but noise was not a problem with the double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have just returned from this hotel and it is excellent. We booked a room with balcony and view of the marina and it was worth every penny. The staff were friendly and helpful and always pleasant, the breakfast was gorgeous with plenty of variety. The rooms were spotless with everything changed daily. I couldn't recommend this hotel enough and will return next year.

Room Tip: Go for the room with the sea view and try dinner in the hotels restaurant, the food was gorgeous and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, General Manager at Hotel Eva, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this great feedback. It certainley makes us feel proud of our staff and the sens of accomplishment is a great motivation for all of us.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights here in late February, to see a bit of Faro. The hotel was delightful, with friendly helpful staff and a comfortable room. The great bonus is the fifth floor restaurant, which has a fine view over the marina and the public buildings beyond several of which had storks nests, with these beautiful birds coming and going. We arrived by car, and parking was a bit tight in the hotel's few available parking spaces. There is a nice looking swimming pool on the roof, but February was too cold for us to try it. Also we did not try the gym, but it looked well equipped.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodwill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
896 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 28 in Faro
426 reviews
13.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eva

Property: Hotel Eva
Address: Avenida da Republica 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#3 Family Hotel in Faro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eva 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town Faro, by the marina and just a few steps from the historic and commercial centre of the Algarve capital city, Hotel Eva is the ideal choice either in leisure or business.Faro airport is easily reachable in less then 10 minutes drive, as well as all Ria Formosa beaches easily reachable by boat or car.The Hotel has 134 rooms and Suites suitable to families, groups, couples or single travellers, 2 restaurants with great views, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool (May-Oct), and a modern Health Club with Day Spa, gym, group classes, sauna and steam bath.Please note: Access to the Health Club is only allowed to guest over 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing