We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, first class facilities. Lovely relaxing holiday.”
Review of Hotel Eva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Eva
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Ballyclare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, first class facilities. Lovely relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I was very nervous about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised with our family room/suite which overlooked the Marina. (Pay the extra for this side of the hotel. The otherside looks over a street). Breakfasts were good, Spa was great, great views from roof top pool, (bring binoculars) plenty of lovely restaurants around. Wouldn't recommend hotel restaurant for a "dining experience" especially with so much to choose from elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    643
    261
    65
    39
See reviews for
188
813
81
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Travelled to Faro for a long weekend. We have Portuguese friends from Faro and they recommended this as being the best hotel in Faro itself. I would have to say I agree.

Very nice hotel with rooms that have been updated (hotel is approx 40 years old but doesnt look it). Very nice pool on the roof (which can get a bit windy at times but the wind is a welcome thing on a 35 degree day !). Good breakfast with lots of choices both hot and cold. We paid a bit extra for a sea / marina view and it was worth it - very nice and quiet and relaxing (there is a bus station on the other side of the hotel although I know that the windows are double glazed so you cant hear the buses unless you open the patio doors onto your balcony).

We also attended a baptism lunch there while staying (reason for our visit) and our portuguese friends had said that the food would be very good and it certainly was - very high standard and quality - impressive service too. As we had only had breakfast there and not had any other meals it gave us an idea of the restaurant quality and they were catering for approx 40 guests for the lunch we attended - very nice.

The one drawback I would say about this hotel is that the reception staff are unfriendly and sometimes a little unhelpful. This has already been mentioned on various reviews here so maybe the hotel will pick up on this and do something about it. As a receptionist myself I believe that a "SMILE" :) goes a long way in good customer service and creating the first and lasting impression of your business......the lady who checked us in didnt even smile at us when we arrived ! - there is one lovely receptionist with dark hair and a fringe who was very smiley and helpful every time we went up to her.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and even though there is no beach in Faro itself, the trip out to Faro Island (Praia de Faro) is WELL worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara_Dublingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Upon arrival you are greeted with an amazing lobby area, leading to smiling staff behind the reception desk.
A swift check-in we proceeded to the room. Arriving after midnight we were starving.
I was travelling with a friend and I had tried to request twin beds in an email. When we got to the room there was a double. I rang and they sent someone up within a couple minutes to take us to a new room. problem solved.

The next room had two nicely spaced comfy beds. The room was clean with a separate older style bathroom. Everything worked fine and showere was great. The room although did smell quiet strong of cigarette smoke when we entered although after leaving the balcony sliding doors open for the day it was completely fine.
After first arriving and flying easyjet never again! we were quiet hungry so went down to the hotel bar and had a drink ordered a fresh sandwich made for us off the menu which I thought was really nice considering we were the only ones there and it was about 1am. I'm picky about food also! so when i say it was fresh it was!
Our balcony, with a table and 2 chairs overlooked the busy street below and was private from the neighbours. I spotted what looked to be heavy machinery having done recent road work. I thought for sure we will be woken in the morning by this. We heard nothing! until we opened the doors in the morning. Obviously double glazed.
Breakfast was a buffet style on the top floor with the choice to sit either inside or out in the sun on the decking. An open roof top pool sits a short walk around the corridor. I did a few laps before breakfast. Amazing views from here over the marina.
Overall cannot comment on room service as didn't have any. The location was great and the staff were really nice. Its not 5 star but a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbutterfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Eva in August while travelling with my family and have to agree with many of the other reviews posted here.

The photos on the website of the lobby and breakfast room are accurate - they both look like they have been recently refurbished and impressive. I found the staff to be neither friendly nor unfriendly, just average. They weren't very helpful at fixing a noise in our room (room 100 on the first floor) but otherwise we had little to do with them.

Our room was quite spacious but the furnishings have seen better days. The sofa and armchair in the seating area were clean but had worn coverings. The seating area - where the beds for my children were - was separated from the sleeping area by a large slidiing door. There was a shower-room in the seating area and a bathroom in the sleeping area (handy when travelling with teenagers). The room also had a balcony overlooking the marina which was a plus. One downside was security. I'm used to staying in hotels that have a chain lock and peep-hole in the doors. Our room had neither.

Breakfast is served in a large room on the top floor of the hotel. There was a good selection of our bread & pastries, cold meats and fruit. There was also a small but adequate selection of hot foods. Faro airport can be seen from the breakfast room. Planes pass quite close to the hotel but the noise is not noticable inside the hotel (takeoff noise noticable when on the roof).

The roof-top swimming pool area looked like it had been recently refurbished too but the pool itself needs updating. It's quite large (25m x 10m x 1.8m max) but could do with a refresh. The pool itself is above the bus Faro station which is in the same building as the hotel. We noticed more noise from the late night concerts in the marina area than the bus station. Faro train station is also a short walk away (less than five minutes).

Overall the hotel is fine and in a good location. i don't agree with the four-star rating that it is given - I would rate it as a three star. If I were to visit Faro again I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanrammLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We booked this hotel through Booking.com and it was the cheapest hotel we could find with a 4 star rating. We paid 420 Euros for 3 nights including breakfast in a Superior Room. The hotel lobby looks brand new and very nicely furnished with modern decor. Just wait for the surprise when you get to your floor! Corridors with no lights on until you walk through, I guess this is to save on power and it's very different from the lobby. The room itself was very average and nothing special, not the standards you would expect for a Superior Room (no kettle, tea or coffee). The view was overlooking another building and below was a busy bus stop and rather smelly, so had to keep the windows closed and didn't use the balcony. There were very loud building works going on in the street below starting at 08:00am every morning until about 9:00pm - not the hotel's fault but why give us this view for 3 nights when paying 420 Euros? The hotel gym and steam rooms were very modern and new, which we used a lot. The roof top pool is great with stunning views and also has a bar (you have to walk to this, it is not a swim-up bar as advertised), however the service was poor and we found many staff to be unfriendly and only ever saw one person smile at us over 4 days. The worst part about staying here was the breakfast. They serve scrambled eggs and baked beans with tiny party sausages and toast. That is all you will find for your cooked breakfast (and the plates are TINY). You also have a choice of rolls and fruit, all very bland. (If you like bread then you will love it!) This was the worst breakfast I had ever experienced in a 4 star hotel - not even worthy in a 3 star. All in all, I did enjoy our time in Faro and at the hotel (at the rooftop pool), but next time I would not stay here and try and find a better hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller77121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Stayed at the Eva for 5 nights from 6th August. We arrived early (9am) and although we couldnt check in, we could leave our bags at the hotel and go for a walk around the town. Faro itself is lovely, old town very quiet, with lots of lovely little spanish style cobbled streets to get lost in! Shopping area is great too with lots of choice and prices pretty reasonable considering how rubbish the Euro exchange rate is at the moment!
When we went back to check in, the reception staff were very friendly, we were given a room on 1st floor overlooking harbour. Rooms clean, modern, small in size but everything we needed. The only negative was that the aircon didnt work, and after speaking with the reception, we were given a fan to use, and we moved rooms the next morning. No hassle, the reception staff were very good at arranging this, especially the older gentleman. He made sure we had a new room allocated to us and gave us the fan from reception which we really needed as it was 90 degrees every day!

The pool area on the roof is fantastic and was very quiet considering it was August. Pool lovely and cool and there is a brilliant view from the roof across the bay. There are plenty of sun loungers and umbrella's, plus a bar and some patio areas to sit in the shade.

The breakfast was very good, big selection, hot english style buffet breakfast, as well as more traditional continental breakfast and lots of fruit, croisants cheese, breads, nice tea and coffee and juice selection.

The best thing about the hotel was the location. Next to bus station, next to train station, next to town centre and shops, bars restaurants. I would recommend the Adega Nova for food, oppersite train station. Excellent value for Money!!!

Overall, a great break, would recommend hotel, just make sure you pay for a harbour view room as these are the best - the back of the hotel overlooks a busy street and bus station.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Reading some some of the reviews here, I was a bit worried about our stay, but all concerns proved groundless. The Hotel Eva is a lovely hotel, in a fabulous location. The staff were perfectly helpful and friendly and the whole stay was very nice indeed.

We had a family suite, which was far larger than I expected. The suites are on the corner of the hotel, with a very large balacony, large bedroom with kingsize bed and living room with pull out bed. There are windows running the full length of both rooms giving a breathtaking view of the harbour and city. I agree with some comments, that the furnishings aren't quite of the standard we'd expect of a 4 star hotel here, but the room was clean, and the beautiful view and having TWO bathrooms far out-weighed the slightly dodgy curtain choice.

The pool area was nice, although again, agreeing with some comments here, the bar prices were excessive. We only spent one day around the pool though, opting to spend our other two days at the Ilha Deserta beech. Some other points to note - the air-con was excellent, keeping the room nice and chilly for the duration of our trip. As a few people here have also mentioned, the safe didn't work, and although we asked at reception about it a couple of times, it never got fixed. It didn't spoil the trip though and there were far more positives than negatives about the hotel.

All in all, we had a very nice short break and I'd certainly consider returning to the Eva.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eva

Property: Hotel Eva
Address: Avenida da Republica 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#3 Family Hotel in Faro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eva 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town Faro, by the marina and just a few steps from the historic and commercial centre of the Algarve capital city, Hotel Eva is the ideal choice either in leisure or business.Faro airport is easily reachable in less then 10 minutes drive, as well as all Ria Formosa beaches easily reachable by boat or car.The Hotel has 134 rooms and Suites suitable to families, groups, couples or single travellers, 2 restaurants with great views, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool (May-Oct), and a modern Health Club with Day Spa, gym, group classes, sauna and steam bath.Please note: Access to the Health Club is only allowed to guest over 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing