We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay, close to the train station!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sol Algarve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sol Algarve
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Faro
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overnight stay, close to the train station!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Although we only stayed overnight there are many good points about this hotel. Firstly we had no problems checking in at almost midnight, with a helpful english speaking receptionist, where as some hotels will charge you a surcharge for arriving that late.

Breakfast in the morning was simple but nice in the courtyard, with very attentive staff.

And best of all it was about a 3 min walk to the train station! Easy for trains to Lagos!

Also it's easy to get to the airport, about a 10 euro taxi fare.

My only negative point is that we had to have a twin room as there were no double rooms left even though we booked 2 weeks in advance.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_beanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    174
    93
    28
    9
See reviews for
59
190
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
281 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We arrived in the evening and left the next morning so I didn't spend a long time in the hotel. What we saw of it was fine though, the room was simply furnished but clean and faced onto the road, which was a little noisy due to traffic and passersby, but I slept OK. There are other rooms facing a courtyard which are probably quieter but the hotel was full (July) so we couldnt move (we actually got a twin when we'd booked a double too). The hotel is about 5 minutes walk to the harbour and old town so is well located. Breakfast was standard buffet style and was OK. The price was fair too for the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Hotel is simple, but very nicey located in the center of Faro. The breakfast terrace is very beautiful and it has all that is needed.

Faro itself is a lovely city with not that much to do, really recommendable is to take a boat to the islands in front of Faro ( Ilha Desserta for example).

Our room was not very big, but ok if you stay the whole day outside. Bathroom was clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with private balcony (they are not more expensive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamaican_Girl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Started off a bit poorly, being placed in an extremely smelly smoker's room despite being asked if i smoked, so obviously moved out of there. Then the wi-fi didn't work so I helped them fix it!
Everything was sorted out but it's not setting the world alight. Location-wise its a short trek south to the main sights in Faro, I ended up wishing I'd found somewhere closer to the old town though. The beds were ok and the street it fronts onto is extremely noisy from about 6.30-7am, quite a popular thoroughfare. Major positive would be the spotless bathroom and the cheerful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for one night before heading off to Lisbon the following day. We chose it because it was a two minute walk to the train and bus station. Room was basic but clean and had a (very) small balcony overlooking the street. Also had a hairdryer. The centre of town was a short walk away. Reception staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast was what you would expect for a 2 star hotel, but we were allowed to eat early as our train was at 7am. Some hotels won't let you do this. Espresso coffee was 55 cents extra. There is also a small coutyard with tables so you can eat al fresco. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the internal courtyard might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for one night after landing in Lisbon, and taking the bus down to Faro. The hotel is close to the bus station which was great. A little tricky to find, but that's the case in many smaller, European towns. Staff was very nice and helpful (good directions and advice for restaurants nearby). Breakfast was boring (roll, meat, basic coffee). The room was small but both the room and en-suite was clean, no complaints there. My only real complaint was that I wouldn't want to walk around the area at night alone though, but with someone else/a group it felt safe enough. Overall it's a basic, clean hotel that's very well priced in Faro.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sduncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
5.7 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 27 in Faro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Algarve

Property: Hotel Sol Algarve
Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 52, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sol Algarve 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sol Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Algarve Faro
Residencial Algarve Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing