We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to start or finish your Portuguese holiday”
Review of Hotel Sol Algarve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sol Algarve
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here back in July for one night after a late flight into Faro and before a two week driving trip around the southern half of Portugal and really glad we did. Rooms are quite basic and I'd get claustrophobic if I was here too long but the staff were really friendly and helpful, especially at breakfast which was great. Excellent value for money. Pleasantly surprised with Faro - definitely worth a view, especially at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed here for two nights in October. Small basic bedroom but it everything is clean.
The hotel is conveniently located for the town centre and the staff are friendly. A good hotel for the price paid.

I forgot to bring my electric adopter to charge my mobile phone and quickly loaned me one for the duration of the stay.

The breakfast did not have an extensive choice but was adequate. There is cereals, bread, ham and cheese with coffee or tea.

They have a small bar on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALreporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This was ideal for the one night we spent in Faro. Cheap Hotel and the staff was very friendly. They all spoke good english and we felt very welcomed.

The room we stayed in was adequate with a double bed, a small TV and a good sized bathroom. We didn't spend too much time in the room though.

The Hotel is close to the Marina and the Faro shopping area.

Breakfast was OK. Nothing special but enough to get you started for the day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aefbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I will definitely be echoing some of what Global35 said. I stayed with a group of friends here (we were on a lower budget) and the service and friendliness of this place is something that really needs to be appreciated. The staff was very efficient, compassionate and always took initative.

We were greeted by the english speaking service personnel and after just a few moments we were given our two large rooms. The rooms were very clean and had almost everything we needed, though mini fridge may have been nice. When we decided to go for dinner we were given a few suggestions. We ultimately chose a restaurant literally down the street called Adega Nova. Great seafood there! The broth seafood risotto like dish is fantastic its called- Arroz de Tamboril.

This brings me to how impressed I am that the staff takes iniatitve. Example 1) When went to Ilha Deserta (A one day excursion I highly recommend. Just hang around the harbor and or ask the tourist office. Very affordable ) they gauged based on the way that we were dressed that we may need some extra towels and a sunshade. They were happy to provide us these free of charge. 2) We also needed to leave quite early on our departure date and noticing our stress the staff openened the breakfast buffet early for us. After downing a few cups of juice and making our sandwhiches, (They had a great breakfast selection. We could have really been full.) we left in time!


PRO: Most everything! Location is great. Faro is small but still 6 minutes to old town, 5 to the port, 5 to the train station. They even have a nice little patio outside. A little cafe is nextdoors too. It seems convenient for those feeling pekish. I didnt try it.
CON: Touchy showers in one of the rooms but the staff acted promptly once informed.

Bottom line: I will be staying here again if I have the opportunity to return to Faro

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

If any couple students are reading this then this is the hotel for you! My boyfriend and I stayed here because we wanted a hotel but we didn't want to break the bank. It was the right choice. The room was nice and clean, the bathroom was well equipped (the water temperature was a bit hot and cold but was quite fun trying to get it right!) and we also had breakfast in the morning...cheese, ham, coffee, juice, croissants, bread etc.

It was perfect. Even when we went to the beach they gave us beach towels and sunshades for free and also kept our bags when we arrived before we could check in. The best part was the easy check out and when we said we were leaving v. early and could not make breakfast they gave us a packed lunch. How nice is that?

We also got lots of laundry done for just 9 euro which I thought was good value and they even delivered it all freshly pressed to our room :)

We loved it and would definitely recommend to student couples trying to pinch pennies but wanting to have a lovely time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel Sol Algrave offered everything we needed for our first night - a warm welcome with english speaking hotel staff and a simple en-suite room. A small balcony allows you to look out down the street. Breakfast was a simple buffet of cereals / bread and cheese and ham and there is a nice courtyard where you can sit out as well as an enclosed dining room. It's perfectly located on a quiet street, ideal for an evening stroll down to the Marina and centre of Faro and a quick ride by taxi from the airport. Maybe not special enough for a romantic break but ideal for the first night as we arrived late.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the graffitied and derelict buildings near the hotel - Faro is a wonderful t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Although we only stayed overnight there are many good points about this hotel. Firstly we had no problems checking in at almost midnight, with a helpful english speaking receptionist, where as some hotels will charge you a surcharge for arriving that late.

Breakfast in the morning was simple but nice in the courtyard, with very attentive staff.

And best of all it was about a 3 min walk to the train station! Easy for trains to Lagos!

Also it's easy to get to the airport, about a 10 euro taxi fare.

My only negative point is that we had to have a twin room as there were no double rooms left even though we booked 2 weeks in advance.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_beanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,641 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Algarve

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 52, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sol Algarve 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sol Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Algarve Faro
Residencial Algarve Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing