We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel close to centre”
Review of Hotel Sol Algarve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sol Algarve
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed one night after a late arrival. We had a family room which was a generous size although the bathroom was a little dated but the room was clean. The breakfast was basic but it was nice to eat in the courtyard and for the price we paid very acceptable. The hotel was very convenient for the old town. A good stop over hotel on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judithvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Sat here in my room using the very fast wifi connection. Great little hotel. Clean air conditioned rooms and a good selection at breakfast, which can be eaten in the nice quiet courtyard. A few uk channels, mainly news and sport but Portuguese channels show English films. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Daz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

the Sol Algarve is tucked away in a small street, very close to the rail station where the Airport buses terminate. It's also convenient for the centre of Faro. Small, but clean and quiet, bedroom. The included breakfast was excellent, although coffee was weak*, taken outdoors in a quiet courtyard. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and there was ample space for our bikes in the underground carpark.
In June, the price was astonishingly reasonable for such a good hotel.

* still much better than the dreadful machine coffee we encountered in other Algarve hotels

Room Tip: We had a room above the street, but didn't suffer from noise disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank geoffreyLerum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

All the staff were really pleasant and that makes a huge difference. Room was small but tastefully decorated and comfy enough (pillows could be softer though).

The medina-like courtyard was a pleasure to hang-out in mellow style whilst consuming the moderate but adequate breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the courtyard for a bigger balcony and sun in the mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here after our flight home was cancelled due to air strike! Great location but area a bit run down! Short walk to centre and harbour. Hotel first class for price comfy bed, air con great. Staff were all friendly and breakfast included. Will come back here again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronaandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Have stayed here on several occasions, nice friendly staff, very clean, very central location, near bus and rail stations, the marina is just a short walk down the road...Will stay there again on next trip to Faro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theslimbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room 21 on the second floor overlooking the courtyard was typical size. It was quiet,clean and the towels were changed every day.The breakfast was your typically continental variety with fresh fruit,cheese and cold meats. The staff was helpful and spoke very good English. The location was excellent, less than 5 minute walk to the bus and train station.This location meant is is convenient for walking to the marina, old town, shopping and restaurants. We will certainly use this Hotel again when in Faro.

Room Tip: Rooms over the inner court yard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,063 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
5.8 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
5.7 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#5 of 28 in Faro
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol Algarve

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 52, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sol Algarve 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sol Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Algarve Faro
Residencial Algarve Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing