We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Faro
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level Contributor
418 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in good location”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel was nice. Not only was the service really good, you can also enjoy the the sunset from their lovely terrace. Breakfast was reasonable, although perhaps not the strongest point of the hotel. Internet was cheap (10€ for 24 of usage) and of excellent speed. All in all a very good hotel to stay in. Since I didn't pay the bill, I don't know about price/value, but I heard fellow colleagues mention very reasonable prices. I'd personally return anytime.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room to the front (praça d. gomez)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    357
    133
    39
    23
See reviews for
116
432
67
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

From the outside the Hotel Faro looks like a white box but don’t let the appearance put you off. Inside the reception and public areas are furnished in a modern style and the bedrooms are comfortable with good beds. The bed linen is white and it was a treat that all towels and sheets were changed every day. The bathroom is large with a shower over the bath.

Breakfast is excellent with a good choice of fresh juices, fresh fruit, hot selection, cheeses, meats and salmon, croissants, lots of different rolls and breads and Portuguese cakes. The restaurant/bar is located on the top floor of the hotel with spectacular views over the river and inlets.

The staff at the Hotel Faro are an asset to the hotel and we found the restaurant staff and receptionists very pleasant and anxious to please. The receptionist recommended the restaurant Adega Nova, which is approximately10 minutes walk from the hotel, near the station. The food was excellent and it was very popular with local Portuguese with only a few tourists.

Several other restaurants are close to the hotel.

The hotel is a short walk to both the bus and train station.

If you wish to have WiFi in your room, the costs are high but the receptionist can give you a password which allows free WiFi use in the reception and ground floor area of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rover33507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a short break in Faro, we booked to stay in Hotel Faro for three nights and were delighted with our choice. The hotel is in a great location close to all amenities The hotel receptionists are so helpful and friendly, Marcia recommended a restaurant for us, booked a table and when we arrived there we were greeted like old friends, she dealt with every request promptly and she deserves a really big "Thank you".Vanessa arranged for us to keep our room until we left at 1.30 pm at no extra charge, this was helpful and very kind. The restaurant staff are great too.The rooms are very spotless and well equiped, the beds are particularly comfortable. Breakfast was amazing it was hard not to overindulge! I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CecilyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins_Coelho, Front Office Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Ms. G and Ms. L,

Thank you very much for such a nice comments that you posted.
We are very glad that you both had a nice time with us and we will be more than happy to welcome you again next time (it’s always a pleasure to have such nice guests with us).
Wishing all the best

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harris22
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here for one night only at the weekend. A clean, well equipped and spacious room. Super friendly and helpful receptionist staff. A fabulous view from the bar/restaurant on the top floor. A superb buffet breakfast. Highly recommended and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the harbour if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sionp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is a 4 star hotel, well-maintained ad located close to coach and train facilities.
M husband an I spent 5 nights here and the service was excellent, freshly ironed sheets changed every single day, delicious fresh and very varied buffet
breakfast in last floor restaurant with view over the laguna. Marvelous terrace for happy hour and photos.
Lovely dinner in the evening.
Would certaiy stay there again.
We travelled in low season (nov 2011) and the staff wee all very attentive and welcoming. Very fluent in Englsh.
The hotel Eva, across from HoteL Faro, is sleek and ultra modern, but front desk attendants were cold and uninterested in making our stay enjoyable, so we were very hppy to keep the last floor room, no 329 for only 65 euro a night. Watch for internet specials.

Room Tip: Ask forlast floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank craig186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We loved everything about our room in this excellent hotel. We were lucky in that we were given a harbour view room from which we could watch the amazing sunsets every day we were there. The weather in early January was very mild and there were cloudless skys. The hotel is well situated for easy access to public transport so we made trips in both directions along the coast and inland. There are many restaurants nearby.
Just one small critism. The breakfast was on the whole absolutely excellent with an enormous range of hot and cold choices (the fresh fruit was exceptional), however the hot food was just not kept sufficiently hot so it was never more than luke warm when one ate it. Maybe this happened because the hotel was so empty at this time of year that the items did not get replenished often, though I felt they could do a bit better with this. Great views from the restaurant where breakfast was served.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JKn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins_Coelho, General Manager at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review of our Hotel, our guest’s opinions are important for us.
Our location is really wonderful, the view from the terrace is fabulous, the colours of the sunset keep surprising me…
Your opinion regarding our breakfast “The breakfast was on the whole absolutely excellent” is important and the issue regarding the hot food we’ll take a look at this situation.
We look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Martins Coelho
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We wanted a short break in Faro after Christmas and found Hotel Faro on Venere.com. The location is ideal. We used the underground carpark at 12 euros a night which was expensive but at least the car was safe.
We had a superior room but we couldn't work out why it was 'superior' as it seemed basic to us. It was very clean apart from one of the chairs which was badly stained.
The room safe was a bit of a joke as it was not secured to the wall in any way and it could be picked up!
The roof top terrace and dining area is really good and the afternoon tea is good value. The breakfast was wonderful and the waiting staff work very hard indeed.
We went to the New Year's Eve 5 course dinner. At 90 euros a head we expected something really special which it was, if you like minimalist food! We had a really good view of all the street festivities and also the fireworks.
If you are considering booking the Hotel ask first if there are any music events in the park opposite as they are very loud and go on most of the night, you will need earplugs if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: Harbour view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbug183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
1,434 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 27 in Faro
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#11 of 27 in Faro
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Property: Hotel Faro
Address: Praca Dom Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro's restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing