We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Faro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Eva(Faro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,110)
Filter reviews
1,110 results
Traveller rating
390
465
170
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
465
170
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubrooftop restaurantold townthe bustop floornesting storksfree shuttleair conoverlooking the marinalovely hotelside streetexcellent locationbreakfast buffetsmall poolria formosareception staffthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 1,110 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Faro for just two nights during mid-March 2014 and on a bed and breakfast basis.

This is a modern four star hotel directly opposite the marina, minutes away from many shops and restaurants and a two minute walk to the old Moorish city walls and Faro cathedral.

The hotel is just a five minute walk to the railway station with connections to all the popular Algarvean towns and also connects the Algarve, via an inter-city service, with Lisbon. A shorter walk will take you to Faro bus station which provides similar services to the train.

On arrival I was checked in by a friendly and efficient receptionist and allocated a room on the second floor. The room didn’t have a balcony but was air conditioned and the window opened to allow you a partial view of the marina and promenade.

The room was equipped with comfortable twin beds covered with the whitest of white bed linen to match the bright white walls and gives an immediate impression of cleanliness. It was also equipped with two easy chairs, an occasional table, mini-bar (which was empty) and a large flat screen television with over seventy channels. Interestingly, a lot of the films/programmes with an English dialogue were shown with an English sound track and Portuguese sub-titles.

The room didn’t have a safe but one was delivered to my room within minutes of my request and was free to use.

The en-suite bathroom, like the room, was very clean and contained a bath with over the bath shower, hairdryer and a small selection of good quality toiletries.

Breakfast was taken in the fourth floor restaurant with an option to eat Al Fresco on the terrace and comprised a very good selection of hot and cold dishes and freshly made coffee.

The terrace is undoubtedly the best feature of this hotel and is perfect for watching the sun set over the marina whilst enjoying a nice bottle of reasonably priced Portuguese wine.

The hotel is modern and functional and is predominantly for the business traveller rather than holiday maker with no recreational facilities to speak of. However, it is in a perfect location, with friendly and attentive staff and is ideal for a short stay and with the airport just a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed four nights in March 2014. I reserved online requesting a non-smoking room, but was placed on the smoking floor. The room was OK, but for a supposedly four star hotel it was a little lacking. The towels were thin and rough. There was no tissue box, so I had to use toilet paper to blow my nose. The toiletries were limited and not replaced by the maid until the last night. The lobby was seedy and the furniture was stained and dirty. Some of the staff were inexperienced and it showed.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Anneksp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a well run establishment.

From the entrance hall to the rooftop restaurant there is an impression of space with polished floors and pristine white walls. This does mean that the hotel is a trifle impersonal and the long corridors can seem hospital-like. Staff are reasonably friendly though and do their best to make your stay a pleasant one. Fresh sheets and towels each day.

The guest rooms themselves are quite cramped in contrast to the rest of the place. We were disappointed to find no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and no mini-bar, just a little fridge with two small bottles of water (replaced each day). However, the receptionist found us a kettle, and we rounded up some cups from the bar. Tea and coffee and milk was obtained at a Mercado not far off. No big deal but you get to expect these things to be laid on.

It was off season, of course (mid-March), and the hot food at the breakfast bar was warm at best. Not much cause to keep replenishing it with only a few guests about. Thankfully the healthy options were plentiful - lovely orange and pineapple slices. We ate in the restaurant one night and it was a lonely experience, although the waiter did his best. Once again the food was not as hot as it might have been and quite expensive but tasty.

This is a good hotel and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghHeretoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had an early flight so just stayed one night here. The Hotel was very impersonal, rooms small but well equiped and clean. The balcony had no view but we hadn't paid for one. We had dinner in the Restaurant on the top floor which had lovely views, the food was good but as we were the only people dining at 8.00pm on Friday night it wasn't a particularly enjoyable experience although the service was attentive. We left too early for breakfast but they provided a tray the preivious evening with a continental breakfast obviously with no tea or coffee.
The location was great, right by the harbour and a short walk to the old Town and shops. We had asked for non smoking rooms but there did seem to be unpleasant smells in the corridor and I couldn't get the room the right temperature. It probably caters more for the conference trade and I certainly wouldn't want to stay in it for more than one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

On returning to Faro we stayed in Hotel Faro again. This being our 2nd stay in a period of 2 months, we knew exactly what to expect. Indeed, the hotel is still as clean as ever, the lady at the reception (new to us) was possibly even more helpful and friendly than the receptionists we met last time, and the location is of course still as great as ever :-) A few thoughts this time around though: the internet did not work at all! I'm not talking about it being slow, it was just impossible to send even the smallest note over the internet - understandably so, people gathered around the reception area to send their messages as the internet was fine there, just not present in the room. The hotel needs to work on that as internet is becoming indispensable to most travellers. The aircon also did not work properly. We could not get the room to cool down at all. In the end we left the window open to get some fresh air in at night. Again something the hotel should look at. We had a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the beautiful square where the marina and the city garden start, which was great. There was however, a hell of a lot of noise (till about 3 a.m. keeping my boyfriend from any form of sleep (with windows closed!)). I am a sound sleeper and no noise bothers me, but if you don't sleep like a log, be sure to get a room on the other side of the hotel. Having said that, these 3 issues needed to be said to be fair to other travellers, but none will keep us from returning here on our next visit. The pros far outweigh the cons. It being right in the marina, a 1 minute walk from the historic centre and less than a minute's walk from the shops, this hotel has your ideal location in Faro! This time around we also discovered a few new great bars, also in less than 2mins walking distance from the hotel. If you like a laid-back atmosphere with cheap prices, friendly service (and when we were there, excellent live music that was not too loud), go to Maktub! It's in the Rua do Compromisso, across the road from the hotel. Although the hotel offers a good selection at breakfast, if you're feeling a bit peckish and want to get a great pastry or sandwich with an excellent coffee, please don't give Cantinho da baixa (Rua do Montepio) a miss. It's hidden away between the shopping area and the gate leading to the historic centre, and not a place where you will find any tourists. English is spoken only a little but they'll try anything to understand you and make themselves understood - the owners are SO friendly! We paid 3,10 for 2 espressos, a bottle of sparkling water and a bottle of lager. I think I'll go live in Faro ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews