We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Faro
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Close to the airport and great location for exploring Faro. Staff were friendly allowing us into our room early and were extremely helpful with maps and directions. Dinner and breakfast were both amazing. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmals23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    357
    133
    39
    23
See reviews for
116
432
67
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Only stayed here one night on our way home. It was very close to the airport. During our short stay, the staff were helpful and the rooms were clean. No free wifi in the rooms though. The hotel restaurant was nice but over-priced, and showed off a pretty amazing sunset.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London ,W4
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I attended the Faro motorcyle rally July 17-20 2014. This hotel normally falls in the €50-70 per night band. I paid €130 per night for a double room and I can accept that supply/demand dictates pricing. What I cannot accept is rubbish service,shoddy knackered rooms and meagre breakfast selection . If I ran this place and hiked the price to €130 pn I would ,at the very least, nip out and buy some fresh water melon and other local stuff. They served up orange squash (in a country where they grow oranges ?),cheap and nasty processed cheese,croissants and bread. This is all fine and dandy if I'm paying €50 pn .The rooms are tired beyond belief: broken bathroom light switch & tiles,dirty carpets , shabby curtains too. Management not interested when I said anything!

Room Tip: avoid this hotel unless you are paying €50 per night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank softailtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This is the 4th and last time we will stay in this hotel. The first thing that happened when I walked into the room I stood on a finger nail. Only one of three lamps worked. I bent down to plug in my phone and the dust on the floor and skirting boards was bad. The bed was comfortable and clean. The fridge had 6 bottles of water and no prices. Then came breakfast which I was really disappointed with the pineapple juice was watered down a lot the toaster was very slow and only did one side of the bread. The rolls were hard and the croissants cold there was a layer of burn on the scrambled eggs at least that's what it is think it was the bowls of peaches and pears had gone so had the muffins. Cut backs I presume. It is so sad to see somewhere go down hill but as I said I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vonniek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

everything about this hotel.was.poor...firstly the receptionist is the rudest person...lack of manners..no respect...couldnt even help on the easiest thing..was also very rude when we asked her the most basic thing..acting like we were bothering her...when we asked her the location of the nearest supermarket

THERE IS.NO HOT WATER!. no such thing as a kettle or tea...no amenities...no shaving...slippers...there was only soap

location is very touristly but also populated with beggers...was hassled at least once each day

the only thing that was ideal was the breakfast buffet...the portugese tarts were hot...all the food was fresh and hot

there was no service...poor quality...not worth spending money on

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MZTluilui .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Ok so this hotel is located perfectly. I was here for 2 nights, but managed to travel easily to so many town by train (train station 5 min walk away). The old town can also be discovered by foot which is also very convenient. a short walk from the hotel to the marina will get you a boat to Illhas desertas which is a desert island 30 mins away by speedboat. Also theres Kayaking, which I highly recommend! A Kayak can be hired for 30€ for the day and you will be able to paddle to a deserted beach about 30 mins away! Ok so back to the hotel... the service was decent, rooms were very basic with no tea/coffee refreshments. The basic elements of this hotel make it a 3 star and definitely not a 4. The breakfast buffet was average again with a decent spread. I would book again simply because of the location.

Room Tip: Higher the better. The city can get rowdy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smokinhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night before catching flight home, convenient for airport. We were offered a lovely room over looking marina but preferred a room with a big balcony at the back, smokers needs to ask for smoking rooms. Room basic but very comfortable and clean. Breakfas on roof with marvelous views, eat in or out. Very substantial breakfast, though food could have been a little warmer. Gear coffee. Location excellent for touring old town and around marina. Would recommend for short breaks

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
1,434 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Casa de Estoi
Casa de Estoi
#4 of 27 in Faro
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#11 of 27 in Faro
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Property: Hotel Faro
Address: Praca Dom Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro's restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing