We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great flat. Amazing host.”
other travellers have booked this property
General view of the property seeing the apartment at first floor.
The host lives at ground floor.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
General view of the property seeing the apartment at first floor.
The host lives at ground floor.
Tripadvisor Excellence Certificate. View of the pool from another perspective.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
General view of the property seeing the apartment at first floor.
The host lives at ground floor.
Tripadvisor Excellence Certificate.
View of the pool from another perspective.
Arriving at terrace seeing the entrance of the apt..
Terrace view with some aminities for your relax....
Terrace view...
Terrace view...
Terrace view....
View of the pool from another terrace....
Bedroom with 2 twin single beds. Previous decoration.
Bed room with 2 twin single beds. Previous decoration.
Bed room with 2 twin single beds. Previous decoration.
Bedroom with 2 twin single beds. Actual decoration.
Bunkbeds for two people  (big enough for 2 adults ).
Living room.
Living room.
Bathroom.
bathroom
Kitchinette all equiped.
Riding horses....
Natural Park of Ria Formosa
Riding horses nearby....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Faro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Wander673...
1 review
“Great flat. Amazing host.”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We loved our stay at the Gambelas Flag House. The flat was lovely, clean and exactly what we expected it to be. João and Maria were truly wonderful host. João went out of his way for us on numerous occasions. He helped figure out how to see all of the sites we were interested in visiting. It's because of him that we were able to accomplish so much in such a short visit. Thank you so much João and Maria for all that you did to make our trip special.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2016
Thank you for your nice review.
Looking forward for your next stay .....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarinze
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were met at the airport by Joao who drove us to the lovely apartment with the most beautiful pool. The apartment is brilliant with all the things you need for an easy self-catering stay and we used the terrace of course for eating and lounging which I personally loved. We visited Faro beach which is about 10 minutes away and least I forget the new Aldi store which opened the week we were there is about 2mins away – very handy for stocking up on essentials. We didn't rent a car so used the bus service into Faro which was really good, the bus stop is about 100m from the apartment. Joao was really helpful he went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. Joao also kindly took us on enjoyable trip so we could see the sites of the Algarve. The kids loved the bunk bed and we all loved the pool. Although my son isn’t very keen on dogs Joao respected that and kept the dogs on the other side of the property which was really considerate of him. Thank you so very much Joao, Jude, I and the kids really enjoyed our stay at the Gambalas House and we will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the peaceful surrounding
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you for your nice review.
Look forward to host you and your family/friends more times in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew d
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic base to explore the algarve”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We are just back from an unfortunately short stay at gambelas flag house. It is a short taxi or bus journey from faro centre and so peacefully quiet. There is a private pool and two private terraces, one with bbq one with a hammock. Joao was a perfect host, nothing was too much hassle. We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a place for relaxation and ideally placed to explore the algarve with a rental car or using trains/buses from faro as we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you for your nice review.
Hope to host you and your family more times in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I'm not usually one for rating and commenting on accommodations, but had such a lovely relaxed time at Gambalas House that thought it was warranted. First, 5 minutes from the airport was fantastic, the pool was immaculate, the hosts, Joao and Theresa, were brilliant and welcomed us into there home and friends. We stayed for 2 weeks and had an amazing time! The villa is great, all the things you need for an easy self-catering stay for a small family(2 x adults 2 kids). The terrace was great for eating out on and lazing on the lounges for a read. The gardens and pool area were always well kept. The beach at Faro was probably one of our favorites, we traveled beyond Portimao and Lagos and found that although the beaches differed in the views and water temperature, Faro beach was great and only 5 minutes away. The only thing I would suggest, although we didn't attempt any public transport, would be to hire a car as it made our visit so much easier. We would just like to again thank Joao and Theresa and would highly recommend Gambalas Flag House

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review. Looking forward for your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jo and Theresa
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for your Super Kind and Super nice review!...
I'm very happy that you had such a beautiful honeymoon!...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review. Looking forward to host you more times in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John O
Killorglin, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, very clean, suitable for children.”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Thanks Joao.
I, my wife & 2 children flew to Faro. We were met at airport by joao who drove us to his beautiful apartment with an outstanding large very clean pool. It was a very short drive from the airport which we found great. The children had a fantastic time they loved the bunk-beds and the pool !, joao was way beyond helpful and courteous. He and his family made us feel comfortable and welcome and we loved meeting his 3 very happy dogs. joao did everything he could to make our stay a great experience. I would recommend this property greatly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: safety aspect and cleanliness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review. Looking forward to host you and your family more times in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing