We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in the center of town”
Review of Stay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is a very good place. Just in the center of town near everything. Very clean and with an all smiling staff. The buffé breakfast was very good..
Free WiFi. The only negative was the beds, in my opinion to hard.
The hotel has restaurant, café and bar.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the end of February 2012 and found the Hotel Santa Maria to be an excellent base for Faro & the surrounding area. Good value for money and the breakfast choice and quality was much better than we were expecting. We would have preferred more choice of TV channels (Sky News was the only English language channel), but as we only spent a small amount of time in the room, this was not a real concern.

Faro is a nice town, particularly the old quarter. However, it is very quiet on a night time, although this could be due to us visiting off season and during theearly part of the week.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJLetsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I don't generally like hotels but this one has a pleasant vibe, and offers excellent off-season value. It also has a very good coffee shop (two coffees and a pastry for €3.50!) and a handy little café/restaurant. We found the beds comfortable, once we'd removed the plastic-backed mattress protector. Good breakfast, good location, quiet, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Willandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just had a 3 night stay in Hotel Santa Maria. Stay was brilliant. Hotel very good value for money clean i, kept in good oreder . Reception staff excellant very helpfull and informative. Breafast offered a variety of choice. Position of hotel great central to all sights in this compact and underated picturesque city

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thfc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just returned from a 3 day stay at Santa Maria.

Clean and friendly service. Room perfectly acceptable and good value. Beds ( like other reviews) hard and not particularly comfortable. Location - really central, near shops, marina, bars and restaurants. Breakfast - okay but again what you pay for.Always a great selection of bread, but hot dishes weren't particularly inviting. Staff really friendly although we did have to go and find a taxi ourselves ( 1/1/2012) to get us back to the airport. Slightly stressed as we had asked night before to organise and were told this wouldn't be necessary ( I'm sure on any other day wouldn't be a problem). Also if you plan on visiting other areas of Algarve, take the reception staff accuracy of timings with a pinch of salt - told 20 mins to Albufeira, actually took 1 1/2 hours on bus!

Read reviews of restaurants on trip advisor as they were pretty accurate.

Rio Formosa boat trip, definitely worth it.

All in all a great visit and the New Year celebrations, although toned down because of the economic situation, was great. Fireworks in the marina.

Portuguese people are lovely and really appreciate if you try to speak the language!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaznles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

In a good central position and staff very helpful, breakfast was of good quality and choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nurioopta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

In a small road just 300 meters from waterfront and marina this moderate size hotel is situated.
A friendly receptionist wellcomes you - and you will find your way to medium sized rooms (free internet all over the hotel). The beds are not so comfortable (not so soft mattresses). Brekfast in basement of hotel - quality is certainly OK for the price - and at basement level there is a little café/restaurant.
No view from the hotel - but location is ideal in center of Faro.
I got a very compettive price in November!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roarmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#3 of 28 in Faro
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#2 of 28 in Faro
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
470 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel

Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000-281, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £38 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 meters from Rua Santo Antonio and 200 meters from the Faro Marina and the Jardim Manuel Bivar, the STAY HOTEL Faro has a terrace, a bar and free Wi-Fi throughout the premises. The rooms of STAY HOTEL Faro have simple furniture, tile floors, and other typical regional elements to make you feel welcome. Some rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. The STAY HOTEL Faro offers you a buffet breakfast with a wide range of sweet and savoury dishes. The STAY HOTEL has facilities including a tourism desk and a ticket service at your disposal to help make your stay special and unique. Our dedicated staff will provide you with any information you need. The historic city centre and cathedral are a pleasant 5-minute walk from the STAY HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing