We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard central city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Hotel Faro Centro
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A standard central city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

The hotel was central, close to restaurants, 5 mins from the bus and rail station (which is why we chose it). Clean and comfortable. As they were full, they upgraded us from a standard room to a superior room, it was very small so I would not like to see the "standard" room. It was a one-night stay so our impressions were limited.

Room Tip: Our "superior room" was very small, but perhaps they have bigger "superior" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    156
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
36
169
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here on arrival in Portugal with our 2 sons, so that we didn't have to travel late and get to our 2 week resort stay in Praia Da Luz very late that evening.
The hotel was a 10-15 minute taxi trip from the airport and we were given an interconnecting room which was really clean and had lovely ensuite bathrooms to each. The hotel was located in the centre and a few minutes walk gave us a great choice of restaurants and shops.
The breakfast in the morning was very good, with plenty of options for all people. I am coeliac, my wife vegetarian and with 2 teenage boys the choices were enough to keep us all happy.
We then caught the train from Faro to Lagos and a short taxi ride to Luz, the money saved in taxi fares from Faro to Luz went towards our overnight stay in Faro :)
Will do it again when we next go to Portugal!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

a short overnight stay...lets start my saying this is by no means a luxury hotel but is in fact in my opinion a 3 star,,,,but it does what is supposed to very well,,,the location is very convenient to central faro and easy to find,,good buzz always around the marina and shops,,,but it isnt noisey at all ....front office staff v helpful and gave great directions to an idiot like me ,,,the rooms surpringly spacious beds small but comfortable overall cleanliness was excellent,,,,tv worked as did air con,,,oh a full sized bath too,,,breakfast was a nice small continental buffet though there was a hot selection too,, no iron but hey can forgive them that,,,yes id def go again ... this place is ideal if you are getting an early ft from or arriving late to faro,,,dont look anywhere else pse enjoy

Room Tip: im not sure if there is a pool or fitness centre my room was on the first floor ,,ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacklon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Nices place to sleep. Double room is a little bi tiny but it's clean and it has all you need (Air cond, bathroom, tv, fridge...) the breakfast was also ok (continental buffet) and some portuguese "bollos"

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crazyserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed In Santa Maria on a short 3 night break. The overall hotel was of average standard. The rooms were of a good size and were spotlessly clean but our view from floor one was terrible! We had a few problems with our room, some which were resolved and some that weren't. On arrival our room was an interconnecting one which was wide open! The safe nor the hairdryer worked. WiFi in the room worked perfect for us but we soon got bored of the only English speaking channel on the TV which was Sky News. We found the room quiet noisy especially listening to people walking up the wooden staircase. The bed was terrible, it was like lying on concrete and the waterproof sheet crinckled eveytime you moved. Breakfast was poor, the water for tea was luke warm, the food was not re-stocked quick enough so if you went at the wrong time some choices were gone! and the cooked breakfast choice left a lot to be desired. We hired a car and although the hotel has no parking they offer for 10 euros/24hours an underground car park about 2 minutes away which we would recommend. Faro itself was lovely and as we were there during The Euro's the big screen by the marina was fantastic. I recommend a stop at Cinderlla's over the road from the hotel where they sell "Tetley" tea and a wide choice of pastries for less than 2 euros. A great day out for 10 euros each is on a boat trip to llha desserta. You can catch the boat at 10 am and stay as long as you like, boats return about every hour to hour & half. You can rent two sun longers & a parasol for 20 euros. It was very quiet when we went. It is part of the Ria Formosa Nature Reserve so has a lovely walk too and great for bird watchers. It has a restaurant & cafe offering resonably priced food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1970TravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Faro is an attractive town, well located, with a pleasant centre, calm and without hordes of tourists that affect some parts of the Algarve. The Hotel is conveniently located, close to the Bus and Rail stations (5 min walk) and right in the centre, with the old town nearby. The rooms are attractive, comfortable and spotless, with good bathrooms and effective air conditioning. Downstairs there is a nice public area with a bar, sitting area, television and a cafe. Breakfast is good. The whole place feels very well run and has lots of nice touches which make it feel a cut above the ordinary - nice vases, flowers, pictures etc, well placed with a touch of flair. Service was great - efficient, and above all warm and friendly. I would definitely go back at the rate I paid through Opodo (£30 a night for single occupancy of a double room).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomaso38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Hotel Santa Maria is very well situated - 5 mins walk from the port, 10 mins drive from airport, 2 mins from shops.
We paid £150 for a double room for 3 nights, price included a well stocked buffet breakfast.
The room was a nice size, and very clean. Came with a full (reasonably priced) mini bar, TV, telephone, and working air-con. The staff were very helpful too.
Only faults were a slightly broken toilet seat and the light in the bathroom flickered - although the maid clean the room everyday - neither were fixed. I would have given a higher rating but, although the rooms were nice, we thought it was quite noisy. We could hear people talking in the corridors and the shower in the room above. Still, pretty good for the price.
Make sure you check out the Japanese Sashami/Sushi Restaurant - Kyoto, in the square round the corner - amazing!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry_Ketang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faro Boutique Hotel
Faro Boutique Hotel
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Faro Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Faro Centro

Property: Stay Hotel Faro Centro
Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Faro Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 meters from Rua Santo Antonio and 200 meters from the Faro Marina and the Jardim Manuel Bivar, the STAY HOTEL Faro has a terrace, a bar and free Wi-Fi throughout the premises. The rooms of STAY HOTEL Faro have simple furniture, tile floors, and other typical regional elements to make you feel welcome. Some rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. The STAY HOTEL Faro offers you a buffet breakfast with a wide range of sweet and savoury dishes. The STAY HOTEL has facilities including a tourism desk and a ticket service at your disposal to help make your stay special and unique. Our dedicated staff will provide you with any information you need. The historic city centre and cathedral are a pleasant 5-minute walk from the STAY HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Hotel Faro Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing