We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stay Hotel
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Almaty
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I liked my stay there. Location is very good and convenient, close to all attractions. It is very clean and conditions are even better than in some more expensive hotels. They serve tasty breakfasts with good diversity of morning dishes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zhamilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    154
    97
    22
    11
See reviews for
36
165
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billinge, Lancashire
Level Contributor
533 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A very good hotel with very pleasant staff.



We had a basic twin room which had everything we wanted bathroom was small but good with good workmanship, even supplied toiletries.

Rooms made up each day and towel changed if desired. Aircon is very good. Beds are firm which is what you would expect really.



Hotel has a rooftop solarium for sun bathing with good views of the old town and marina and the airport planes fly close by for any enthusiasts.

Hotel has a bar as part of the reception area and reasonably priced Café’ also a restaurant for evening meal and used for breakfast in a morning.



Breakfast is mostly everything, one can name, all types of bread, buns, Croissant, different cheeses and wafer meats, different preserves, about 5 types of cereals. fruit cocktail all individual fruit and fresh fruit.

All types of tea, coffee, six different juices. Hot selection, beans tomato, wafer thin bacon sliced sausage, scrambled egg & mushroom.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LairdandLady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our second choice hotel our first having been a disaster so we were ready to compromise a little. 3 star it certainly is and just about worth the price. Clean it certainly is but not spotless. The room was average to small with an ok functioning bathroom. Breakfast was ok and the one quick pasta lunch we had in the café was fine , we have to compliment them for opening the kitchen up after their normal hours for us. The aircon did not work and despite promises was not fixed until the last day of our five night stay. The reception was a bit touchy - they tried to blame the ac fault on open windows which we opened BECAUSE there was no ac so there was a difference of opinion. The location was so ideal that we have to give it a very good but the service was without a smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Sundowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and arrived around 630pm. I was greeted by a lovely very easy going receptionist who gave me every information about the hotel, rooms, breakfast times, and even told me where I could go to do my laundry if I didn't want to use their services. That evening I accidentally broke a glass in the room and I personally came down stairs to ask for a brush and pan. She was more than happy to come up and clean the glass up for me. I offered but she was definite about coming and had a lovely chat and they were very understanding. As for the other receptionists... very dry! Personality of a dead camel!!!!!!!! Very straightforward and not the Portuguese hospitality every one raves on about. One night at the restaurant I had a meal of grilled beef with vegetables. Unfortunately the meat had a strange smell to it. It could have been a fish sauce or something but it didn't taste the best. I spoke to the waitress about the meat and she got all defensive saying that the meat was fresh and she saw the cook take it out herself. Anyone would think she owned the abattoir and I was having a go at her cattle! LOL. Wasn't something I expected. Kinda almost felt embarrassed i even mentioned it. She was very apologetic about it later and I survived the bad smell.
So, over all, service is only good when the night receptionist is about . LOL.
Room a little meh, mini bar is dodgy, never knew I could smoke on the balcony LOL. If i knew that I'd have stoppd doing the "nigel no friends" out the front of the hotel! LOL.
beds are hard and pillows so need to be replaced!.
Location is fantastic but for a newbie in town you need to ask for directions.
My lesson in Faro - Learn a little portuguese so you don't get treated like you're some upper class ignorant snob! I do know Falo Inglese LOL.

Room Tip: if you're a smoker, ASK if you can smoke on the balcony. I only realised this from another trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhysiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Santa Maria on the 8th and 9th of Sept 2013. We were welcomed by friendly staff and advised about free parking for our car very nearby. The hotel's location is perfect for discovering Faro and we could reach all the places we wanted to visit on foot. We enjoyed the free Wifi and could contact our children in South Africa. The hotel also recommended. a restaurant where we could enjoy a light meal after 10 o'clockon the noght of our arrival. This hotel was good value for money.. The breakfast was really good and we started our holiday in Portugal on a high note.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reisigerPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Location is fantastic as has been mentioned by others.
I am a smoker but smoking was restricted to very small balcony - I don't have a problem with that but an ashtray and seat on the balcony would have been appreciated.
Personally I found the room a little small but spotlessly clean. The bed was very hard and I found this rather uncomfortable but that's a matter of personal preference. Bathroom had shower only and was very small indeed.
Like other recent reviewers found that breakfast was perfectly fine with a reasonable variety, given the class of hotel. I found the quality of the food acceptable for the grade of hotel. Supplies were replenished when necessary and staff visible and pleasant.
Another reviewer mentioned the reception staff and I agree that they did not volunteer information but whenever I asked them for information they were pleasant and helpful and I found that they had all the information I required. Although plans are not provided in the room, if you ask reception staff they will provide a small plan of Faro with information as to restaurants and attractions.
My biggest gripe (and not really anything to do with the hotel) was the noise and disruption from the pastelaria across the road from my room which was disruptive at all hours of the day and night. Despite reasonable double glazing I was awoken several times in the early hours of the morning by staff and patrons of the pastelaria.

Room Tip: If possible avoid rooms facing Rua de Portugal because of noise from surrounding establishments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Great location - right in the middle of the city centre and only 5 minutes walk from the marina. Rooms were fairly large and clean.

Breakfast quality wasn't very good but amounts sufficient.

On the whole and enjoyable experience and will definately be returned here in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#6 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel

Property: Stay Hotel
Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new hotel is set right in the heart of the commercial downtown of the Algarve’s capital Faro. Experience the historical Villa of Se which guides you on a magical journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing