We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”
Review of Stay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I just arrived at home from a two night stay at Hotel Santa Maria and only have wonderful things to stay. The rooms were clean and worked perfect for our girls weekend. The hotel staff were super friendly and provided excellent customer service. They arranged a boat tour of the Algarve along with transportation to and from the boat. As well as restaurant recommendations and even re-printed a friends Ryanair ticket for us. The free breakfast consisted of cheeses, juices, assorted breads, fruits, yogurt, cereal, and many other breakfast items. Highly recommend!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank English_Arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Santa Maria is a modern hotel with a fresh, clean interior & lift to all floors. Rooms have white walls & red flooring & are attractive & comfortable. The room safe was useful for safely storing passports & cash. The en suite was clean & had hair dryer & the usual toiletries. Its shower cubicle was a little small, but this would only be an issue if someone was very big. Staff were helpful & pleasant & the buffet breakfast was plentiful & varied. The location is great, being around the corner from the main pedestrian streets, a few minute walk from the old town & having the Theatre of Lethes at the top of the street. For comfort, cleanness & convenience at a relatively low cost this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Santa Maria based on two reasons, reviews on the internet and the price. We have found it a great location to stay in Faro, the staff have been very helpful, room and public areas immaculate, breakfast more than adequate. We have a 5.30 start one morning but the night porter produced coffee and rolls to see us on our way. Nothing seemed to be any trouble. We will book here next time we visit Faro.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephenRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here and enjoyed it. It's located just on the edge of the pedestrianised zone. Had 3 good nights sleep. Breakfast was buffet with bacon, scrambled eggs etc with cereals, cold meats, cheeses and fruit, yoghurts and unlimited coffee and tea. WiFi was free and the people here were really friendly.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Oscarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great location, great service. WiFi free and works very well. It could do with having further English language TV channels but otherwise great! Good breakfast. Price increases along the year but that is to be expected given the location and seasonal demands.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expatEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I liked my stay there. Location is very good and convenient, close to all attractions. It is very clean and conditions are even better than in some more expensive hotels. They serve tasty breakfasts with good diversity of morning dishes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zhamilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A very good hotel with very pleasant staff.



We had a basic twin room which had everything we wanted bathroom was small but good with good workmanship, even supplied toiletries.

Rooms made up each day and towel changed if desired. Aircon is very good. Beds are firm which is what you would expect really.



Hotel has a rooftop solarium for sun bathing with good views of the old town and marina and the airport planes fly close by for any enthusiasts.

Hotel has a bar as part of the reception area and reasonably priced Café’ also a restaurant for evening meal and used for breakfast in a morning.



Breakfast is mostly everything, one can name, all types of bread, buns, Croissant, different cheeses and wafer meats, different preserves, about 5 types of cereals. fruit cocktail all individual fruit and fresh fruit.

All types of tea, coffee, six different juices. Hot selection, beans tomato, wafer thin bacon sliced sausage, scrambled egg & mushroom.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LairdandLady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
997 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,635 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel

Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000-281, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £28 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 meters from Rua Santo Antonio and 200 meters from the Faro Marina and the Jardim Manuel Bivar, the STAY HOTEL Faro has a terrace, a bar and free Wi-Fi throughout the premises. The rooms of STAY HOTEL Faro have simple furniture, tile floors, and other typical regional elements to make you feel welcome. Some rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. The STAY HOTEL Faro offers you a buffet breakfast with a wide range of sweet and savoury dishes. The STAY HOTEL has facilities including a tourism desk and a ticket service at your disposal to help make your stay special and unique. Our dedicated staff will provide you with any information you need. The historic city centre and cathedral are a pleasant 5-minute walk from the STAY HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing