We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Stay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Pristina, Kosovo
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent one night at the hotel and I liked the room, though it was tiny. Breakfast was nice and the location is great. Very close to the sites and the shopping area. The service at the hotel was very nice, kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    166
    105
    23
    14
See reviews for
37
181
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We come in hotel for only one night between flights. it was clean and nice room for small rate.
Breakfast was excellent, better than in some brand hotel. Hotel is in city centre, great location, reception woman was kind and helpful. The choice of accommodation in Faro is not so good, so this hotel was great deal for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FileST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The room was fine (simple, but big enough and clean). A good choice of tasty food was offered at the breakfasts. The staff was helpful with all needed information about the city and transport. The location is very close to the old town. Restaurants and shops are just around the corner. The bus and train stations are 5 to 10 minutes walk and you can get anywhere from there. Very convenient base for exploring Algarve!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktoriya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I booked the hotel based on the good reviews. I do think the hotel was good value as I got quite a good deal, however I was disappointed with the wifi signal in my room. The T.V only had one station in English and that is the news. It was impossible to watch videos on my ipad because the wifi signal was non-existant in my room. After the first night of not being able to even access the internet I complained the following morning. They told me my problem must be temporary and that I should try again later if it still doesn't work. The wifi signal worked somewhat in the lobby but the connection was too weak to even properly do google searches as it took 45 seconds for each page to load. Think of dial up circa 1996!! I couldn't even properly look at trip advisor to see what there was to do in the region because the connection was weak. It was very frustrating. I continued to complain to staff, and despite being polite, ultimately they did nothing but apologize and tell me that nobody else has complained. They also told me I would not have this problem had I brought my laptop as they say that macs and tablets and phones have poor wifi receptors. I had 2 phones and an ipad that could not connect to the wifi service. We shouldn't have to lug around our heavy laptops on vacation.

The breakfast is a full breakfast and is well worth it. The room is standard and what you would expect, but the twin beds were hard. The a/c worked well and was nice to have.

If you like using your tablet, download all your videos beforehand as there is no way to do so there.

Room Tip: Bring your laptop to get a wifi signal. Get the included breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Alba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed three nights here after a week in Carviero. It was a fantastic base, v close to the old town with its great reasturants etc.
Do get a superior room, it provides a huge terrace with views over Faro.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, freshly prepared and enjoyable.
It is also convient for the bus and train stations for trips to other towns etc.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I just arrived at home from a two night stay at Hotel Santa Maria and only have wonderful things to stay. The rooms were clean and worked perfect for our girls weekend. The hotel staff were super friendly and provided excellent customer service. They arranged a boat tour of the Algarve along with transportation to and from the boat. As well as restaurant recommendations and even re-printed a friends Ryanair ticket for us. The free breakfast consisted of cheeses, juices, assorted breads, fruits, yogurt, cereal, and many other breakfast items. Highly recommend!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank English_Arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Santa Maria is a modern hotel with a fresh, clean interior & lift to all floors. Rooms have white walls & red flooring & are attractive & comfortable. The room safe was useful for safely storing passports & cash. The en suite was clean & had hair dryer & the usual toiletries. Its shower cubicle was a little small, but this would only be an issue if someone was very big. Staff were helpful & pleasant & the buffet breakfast was plentiful & varied. The location is great, being around the corner from the main pedestrian streets, a few minute walk from the old town & having the Theatre of Lethes at the top of the street. For comfort, cleanness & convenience at a relatively low cost this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
927 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 28 in Faro
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel

Property: Stay Hotel
Address: Rua de Portugal 17, Faro 8000-281, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Santa Maria Faro)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 meters from Rua Santo Antonio and 200 meters from the Faro Marina and the Jardim Manuel Bivar, the STAY HOTEL Faro has a terrace, a bar and free Wi-Fi throughout the premises. The rooms of STAY HOTEL Faro have simple furniture, tile floors, and other typical regional elements to make you feel welcome. Some rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. The STAY HOTEL Faro offers you a buffet breakfast with a wide range of sweet and savoury dishes. The STAY HOTEL has facilities including a tourism desk and a ticket service at your disposal to help make your stay special and unique. Our dedicated staff will provide you with any information you need. The historic city centre and cathedral are a pleasant 5-minute walk from the STAY HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing