We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hostel I've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baixa Portugal Terrace Hostel
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Faro
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hostel I've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is such a beautiful hostel - it's in an enormous renovated mansion in the town centre. All rooms have wonderful high ceilings. I stayed in a four bed dorm which had the most generous amount of floor space I have ever seen in a hostel. Huge lockers too.

I loved how every part of the hostel has been decorated thoughtfully with great art - such a pleasure to walk around. Breakfast good - includes decent ham and cheese instead of the usual variations of types of bread. And the rooftop...phenomenal!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annacmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
8
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

If you like beautiful high ceilings, historic buildings, fantastic roof garden and interior design then this place is for you. Luis, the owner is great company and full of suggestions on what to do whilst in Faro and the surrounding areas. This place does not feel like a hostel more of a designer mini hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavinix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the hostel last summer. It had been open a month or so. The place is one of the best and most pleasant hostels that I’ve stayed at. The staff go out of their way to make you feel happy and comfortable.
It’s a lovely flower bud which will blossom over time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at this hostel with a couple of friends recently. The hostel is new (opened, or at least substantially refurbished, in 2013 I think). The rooms are clean and spacious enough. The common areas are cool with some interesting furniture and objets d'art about the place.

The hostel gives guests a wrist band each with sensors to open doors, which is very handy and will surely be in many more hostels soon.

The terrace is great - the best I have seen at a hostel. Perfect spot to read a book or chill in the sun.

The location is near many places to eat and a short (5-10 minute) walk to the train/bus station and marina area.

If you're looking for a hostel in Faro I suspect this one will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndPulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The owner (Luis) is really nice and is always around making sure everything is perfect.

Breakfast is amazing and it's served on the Terrace. ;) The lady that is helping out with Breakfast is really helpfull as well :)

The all place is clean, beds are comfortable and the common areas are well decorated.

*Everything is marvelous and new.*

Make you want to come back to Faro, just to stay there :)
I will surely come back and recommend it to my friends. Thanks Luis!!

P.S.: They have the better home-made lemonade ever!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I'm Portuguese and really enjoyed the day I spent on this hostel. It's the best terrace I've ever seen in a hostel and I've already been in a several hostels. The location is not the best but it's only 10 minutes from train and bus station. Next time I go to Faro I will stay definitely on this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helio2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Baixa-Portugal Terrace Hostel is a really nice place to stay. Very cute rooms with atmosphere. Everything is clean an new. Not easy to find, looks like a living area. Landscape is nice.
The service is good and familiar. Good start for a trip through the south of portugal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#9 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 27 in Faro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 27 in Faro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baixa Portugal Terrace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baixa Portugal Terrace Hostel

Property: Baixa Portugal Terrace Hostel
Address: Rua de Portugal 36, Faro 8004-010, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BAIXA TERRACE HOSTEL is located at the heart of the lively city of Faro in a vintage building from the 40's with lots of character. It offers all the commodities that a real traveller needs. You can enjoy our local lifestyle in a retro atmosphere with a contemporary twist. The icing on the cake is our rooftop terrace overlooking downtown Faro where you can enjoy breakfast and the sunset get-together parties.BAIXA-PORTUGAL TERRACE HOSTEL offers 12 rooms. We have dorms with 4 and 6 beds, female dorm (6 beds), twin bedrooms and couple bedrooms, all with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Baixa Portugal Terrace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing