We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful Oasis" by Gary from Canada”
Review of Casa de Estoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Estoi
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This B&B lived up to its supreme ratings and reputation. It is situated in the old town of Estoi that is filled with history and character and only 10 minutes drive from Faro and the beach. This castle is strikingly beautiful that provides the feeling of an authentic old castle, which cannot be fully captured by the pictures on the Internet. The castle is equipped with modern day amenities such as free wifi, immaculate pool accessible by your own private staricase, with individual terraces. Each room includes private bathrooms which are exceptionally clean and well decorated in keeping with the style of the castle. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. Each room offers air conditioning that guests can regulate (by remote control) as needed. The staff are incredibly friendly and courteous and helped as much as they could. Breakfast is included and provided a nice variety of meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereal, cakes, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea- everything you want to start your day. This place is perfect for a peaceful getaway but only minutes from the hustle and bustle of Faro and surrounding towns in the Algarve. I highly recommend it and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room that overlooked the pool and had easy access to it so ask for these if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have spent 7 nights really happily here. The bedroom was quiet, the beds were supremely comfortable, we enjoyed having the terrace and being able to walk straight down to the pool. Breakfast was fantastic, scrambled eggs were produced every morning and nothing was too much trouble. Ozanna (sp?) even did our washing mid-week after we had been cycling for miles into the hills.

When we arrived, we were worried that we'd chosen somewhere too far inland, and we didn't have a car, but a quick call to Resolvcar (details in front hall of Casa) solved that: Nelson turned up within an hour with a car for rent and we were sorted, at a very reasonable price!

Estoi is very well placed to explore central/eastern Algarve, though if you go on the motorway the western end is accessible too (we decided not to, as it is a toll road and it sounded like paying the toll would be a hassle). We discovered that the coastal areas are quite developed, but north of Estoi it is beautiful and rural and peaceful, so woudl definitely recommend staying here. Faro beach was 15 mins drive away, parking anywhere was easy and mostly free/cheap, and altogether we had what is possibly our best holiday yet.

Room Tip: Our room at the back with a terrace, which faced south, was very nice - can't really comment on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

As other guests already have pointed out; this is not a hotel in Faro. It's a hotel/B&B in Estoi some 11-12 km outside Faro. If you don't have a car, you must depend on the bus (doesn't run in the evenings) or taxi (about 12 Euros). Having said that, I loved the place and I didn't mind the bus. The house is beautifully renovated (so why use artificial flowers...), breakfast is very good (best fresh orange juice ever...) sitting half inside - half outside.Our room + terrace was absolutely great! Estoi is a quiet place, nothing really goes on here. In spite of that, the noise from the traffic is at times quite disturbing. We enjoyed spending time at small, very local cafes - where we could see village life unfold. It's also possible to go for a small walk in the countryside. Of practical reasons and work we moved to Faro the two last nights, but regretted... If I ever come back to this area, Casa de Estoi would be my choice number one!

Room Tip: If possible, go for the rooms with a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were looking forward to our last night here however there were problems with the water heating. Hortense had been trying to contact us but we had no phone - left it on the desk at home! She met us and went out of her way to find us somewhere else to stay. We ended up in Olhao (about 20 mins drive) resulting in an upgraded hotel by the coast at no additional cost to us. Hortense recommended a great local sea food restaurant and we had a lovely stay. Thank you Hortense we will stay in Estoi next visit

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank clonardLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

From being collected by donna Hortense from the airport to the excellent cooking by Oxana, the whole week of our holiday was just great, I think just about the best break we've had.
The house is very elegant, I felt like royalty. The room we had was very comfortable, with a terrace overlooking the heated pool - it was a bit too cold, even for me- so I didn't sample this delight.
Oxana's cooking is something else - her cakes and pancakes were just heaven for my husband, I loved her fresh orange juice and home-made bread rolls each morning.
All in all, great break, we'll be coming back next year.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard, with the terrace overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slavikovaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Fabulous place. Not quite up to the standards written about by other reviewers (I would imagine it was because we were out of season...we were certainly the only people in the hotel) but everything you could wish for. We were offered a choice of rooms; everything spotless and recently decorated; breakfast good but somewhat limited (stuff put out at beginning of week still there halfway through); friendly staff. Should point out that, although this is listed as 'No 1 Hotel in Faro', it isn't in Faro but in Estoi about 11km away so a car is necessary (something we didn't realise until the day before we traveled) as there isn't much in Estoi (Roman ruins and the Palace are worth a look) and, if you're in the room we were (can't remember the name but it was first door on the left at the top of the stairs) the hot water takes an age to come through.
Make sure you visit Cafe Vanessa across the square. The owner, Ana is a lovely lady who took two very tired and fraught English people and told them to 'relax' which was just what we should have done and what we did! Good food, good company. And the fact that she didn't know us from Adam and trusted us to come back later and pay for the drinks we had had, rescued what had been up until then, a pretty disastrous day (thanks again Ryanair).
In Faro we would recommend the restaurant ATELIER DE COMIDA STO ANTONIO (see my other review).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigfozbelper_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This fabulous casa could give any Pousada a run for the money. We stayed 2 nights in mid October and were immediately offered a choice of rooms, ending up (at no extra cost) with a suite with our own sitting room, roof terrace and private outside steps down to the courtyard (which also leads to the breakfast room) and swimming/plunge pool. Idyllic. The next day was very warm so we put off the sight-seeing to soak of the ambiance of this country house and the courtyard pool. The Casa has a well-heeled, old family charm about it - you feel as if the duquesa has just left to take the air (in her red-velvet upholstered carriage) which we had seen waiting in the courtyard area.

After a guided tour of the house we took the air ourselves in a short walk to the Roman ruins and the next day to the gardens of the Pousada in Estoi (some of the public rooms with beautifully painted ceilings were also open to non-residents to see). We also took in the Church of St Anthony right across the road from the Casa (the bells stop at 9 pm!) and we also made sure we took in the delicious lasagne served at Vanessa's, also across the road at the foot of the stairs to St Anthony's.

We were sorry to leave our Casa. As we were on a trip to 'discover' Portugal we reckoned we had made our first important discovery with this hotel. The complimentary bottle of red wine left for us in a basket with two sparkling wine glasses was much appreciated. Nothing was spared to ensure our short stay would be memorable. Thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms we were invited to see were gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2twigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
5.8 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,000 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
138 reviews
5.4 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
296 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Estoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Estoi

Address: Rua de Faro 80 | Estoi, Faro 8005-463, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Faro
#4 Family Hotel in Faro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Faro
Price Range: £50 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Estoi 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa de Estoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Estoi Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing