We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair to middling”
Review of Hotel Alnacir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alnacir
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fair to middling”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I can't say much about the hotel. The staff were pleasant, the room was clean enough, the elevator was a bit tricky. The beds were typically over-firm just like most of the hotels in Europe. No surprises here. We didn't pay too much for what we got. If you want somewhere walking distance to the old town that doesn't charge too much, this hotel is just fine. There are some good restaurants in the old town, and we walked back to the hotel after dinner. It was fine.

Room Tip: We had a triple room overlooking the street. It was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    76
    46
    9
    10
See reviews for
28
71
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A basic hotel and a bit over-priced for what is offered (58 euro for a double with breakfast). The room was clean, but in desperate need of refurbishment, with a repaired basin and some cracked tiles. The pillows were hard as rocks, had to use a spare blanket instead. The breakfast selection is extremely limited and rather low quality. The staff are extremely professional and friendly though, as other reviewers have noted. All in all keep expectations low.

Generally, I would not recommend staying in Faro - it's a much better idea to take the train to nearby Olhao (8 km) or other villages on the eastern coast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotSoMardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel is what we expected from a two star hotel. Quite worn, but fine for a single night. On the positive side is the staff - they were were very friendly and helpful. And the hotel is only a 15 minutes walk from the old city. On the negative side is parking and breakfast. We had to park a 10 minutes walk from the hotel as we arrived late and there were no free parkingplaces near the hotel. And breakfast is just white bread, cornflakes, coffee and juice, served in a dark basement.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFromDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcos de valdevez
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I arrived too late at the Algarve it was not justified paying a stay in an expensive hotel for what was a night in this board. I could not sleep with the noise from the street, the room smelled bad, it was cold, the air conditioner is not heated and made a huge noise. The breakfast .... not touched. The water bottle was "recycled", creased, old nut. The bread? the juice? (smelled of "tang"). The coffee? never again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritinha_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Faro hotels

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great shower, clean beds (duff pillows but better if you take the plastic cover out of them!). Basic but filling breakfast....ok the coffee is an aquired taste but by the third day I loved it! what really makes the hotel is the staff. They could not have been more helpfull. Just dont expect a five star hotel and you will be laughing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrischardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Alnacir is a nice hotel in Faro, well located in Faro. Hotel was clean and nice. For the price you shouldn't expect the earth but it was very good. Staff were friendly, breakfast solid be it simple and quiet on the back side of the building.

On the flip side the lift is TINY, felt like a coffin, this was very uncomfortable. The staff also are very keen to clean your room. Staff entered my room to clean it on more than one day when I specifically had a do not service sign on the door.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Palin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast was included and Ok. Parking was on the street but it was first come first serve. It was not close to the beach. It was probably a 10 minute walk to the historical part of Faro. The beds and pillows were hard but they had a nice bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#5 of 28 in Faro
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#8 of 28 in Faro
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
0.6 mi away
Stay Hotel
Stay Hotel
#9 of 28 in Faro
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alnacir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alnacir

Property: Hotel Alnacir
Address: Estrada Senhora da Saude 24, Faro 8000-500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alnacir 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alnacir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing