We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Alnacir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alnacir
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Check into this hotel with my family for a short holiday at Algarve to meet up with some friends. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Basic amenities, so is the breakfast. Can't complaint since room charges are decent. There's a supermarket nearby where there are loads for shopping and food. Ask direction from the reservation counter and staff there speaks good English, which is very helpful. There's free wifi service at the lobby. Cross the road and head towards the left if you want to drink at a few night spots and the road can lead you to the marina.
Overall, nice place to stay if you want a place close to many places of interest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csfKuching_Sarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is basic, dont go here expecting 4 star because you wont get that. You get what you pay for, good service pleasant staff a decent location. We stayed for 5 nights and it was worth the price we paid, if you want to spend your break in the room then pay more is all I can say. The breakfast was basic but it was enough, the only down fall for me was the beds were rather hard and the pillows too but it didnt ruin our stay. Thumbs up! Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abbielouiselowtherx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The hotel was exactly what you would expect for a budget hotel. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. Definitely no frills. The wifi did not seem to work while we were there but the staff did try to fix it. It's close to the city center but the beach is a 15 minute bus or 10 min taxi away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdc278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Faro
11
Reviewed 4 January 2013

rooms and hotel in generaly are oldfashioned but very hygienic, staff is friendly and always trying to help you out, for example by searching for train hours, calling a taxi or looking out for things to do around the city (for example the activities at new years eve).
The hotel is at walking distance from the city center, in a quiet street (silent at night) and about 10' driving from Faro airport.
Good value for your money!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Must say i was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here but there was no need! The hotel is clean, the day staff are very helpful and greet you with a smile, the room was bright and airy, the bathroom spotless, the beds were comfortable. For smokers there is a nice little sun terrace on level 7.
The chap on reception gave us a choice of rooms and advised that room 402 can be a little bright at night time as the hotel sign is right outside the window (nice of him i thought) so we chose 502.
The linen was fresh, ample amount of towels, mirror, writting desk and chair, beds, side tables, bath with overhead shower, toilet, b day, sink. There are no kettle's in the rooms but there is a cafe 2 minutes walk (out of the hotel door, turn right, keep walking) called Lido's that served lovely coffee. (Make sure you ask for Cafe with milk otherwise you end up with tar in a thimble (Esspresso!)
The breakfast is continental (cheese, ham, croissants, rolls, bread, jam, cereals, fruit) which on the 1st morning was enjoyable, by the 7th morning it had gotten a little tedious but rather that thean no option!
The cleaning ladies were lovely! I chose to use the stairs everyday and would see them cleaning the rooms. Each would smile and say "Hi".
It takes 5-10 mins to walk in to Faro, the reception can give you a map and tell you the best direction to go.
The only downsides would be the pillow was hard (i expected this though) and the night porters were a little odd (Dont let this put you off though as you rarely see them!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Found the hotel to be very pleasant; clean rooms and good service. Did not want to spend loads of money on the last night of our holiday before a 6.45am flight to stayed here. Paid 67 euros for a twin room but you could probably get it cheaper by ringing the hotel direct (we did it through Expedia). Hard pillows but that is my only negative. Helpful reception man made the call for the taxi. Can't grumble at this price! So happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need one - reception was happy to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I can't say much about the hotel. The staff were pleasant, the room was clean enough, the elevator was a bit tricky. The beds were typically over-firm just like most of the hotels in Europe. No surprises here. We didn't pay too much for what we got. If you want somewhere walking distance to the old town that doesn't charge too much, this hotel is just fine. There are some good restaurants in the old town, and we walked back to the hotel after dinner. It was fine.

Room Tip: We had a triple room overlooking the street. It was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#2 of 28 in Faro
1,660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#1 of 28 in Faro
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
1.4 mi away
Monaco Hotel
Monaco Hotel
#20 of 28 in Faro
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alnacir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alnacir

Address: Estrada Senhora da Saude 24, Faro 8000-500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: £31 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alnacir 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Alnacir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing