We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find - authentic and welcoming”

Mullens Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #17 of 402 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great find - authentic and welcoming”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Personally I loved this place. The potato and spinach curry was superb. Husband loved the fish dishes. Service was relaxed and attentive. Piri piri chicken was served on the bone which was a bit of a wrestle for Grandma and teenager but every morsel was eaten and enjoyed. Other teenager didn't enjoy her steak much. Great night thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JobiFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    159
    38
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Steak of a lifetime”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you want a steak in Lagos, this is the only place to go. Cooked on a barbecue, and served with a huge accompaniment of sides, I'd have have been happy to pay double the 14 Euros that I did pay (though I hope they don't take this as a recommendation to put the prices up, haha!) My friends had the beef mozambique, which had come highly recommended and didn't disappoint. The service was wonderful (I believe we were served by the owner, who was a thoroughly nice chap). All in all, a must visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielWarburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is like no other we tried in Lagos. There was a lot of space between tables which was great. The staff are young but very friendly and well informed. The food was great. We both had the Beef Mozambique which was delicious and more than enough for two. Be careful as you can't pay by card and they don't tell you that when you sit down. It's been a long time since we had to count how much money we had and eat accordingly! The only other issue is to make sure you check the bill which they got wrong twice. They were very happy to change it and it did make us laugh that they got it so wrong. Will definitely come back

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic but great meal”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had a family meal here on 9/8/14..arrived without booking and got a table within a few minutes..nice friendly service and great food..salmon in particular was excellent and Mozambique beef that my lads had they described as fantastic..great value and would happily return..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bromsgrovefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best salmon in town!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

we were recommended this restaurant on a day that i really wanted to have some local fish. its a very busy place just off the main street and true to the recommendation that we recieved the salmon was to die for! a huge fillet with a herb butter beautifully cooked. if you enjoy spicy food then you must try their signature dish of Mozambique beef ( which is still being talked about now) a wonderful rich beef stew (thick sauce) full of spice and flavour and worthy of its signature dish title. our last meal in portugal and it lft us very happy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BertieBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mullens Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Mullens Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing