We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party place in Lagos”
Review of Rising Cock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rising Cock Hostel
Ranked #49 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It's a hostel, don't expect to waltz into the showers barefoot without contracting some weird foreign fungus. Accomodation is basic but the party, people you meet and mama's crepes more than makes up for it! Great spot in Lagos, pretty central to everything and beautiful hidden beaches are a nice little walk away. Be careful not to miss the booze cruise, you won't get your money back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Rising Cock Hostel is in a fantastic location and the staff are very friendly in the family run hostel. The daily crepes made by mama every morning for breakfast make the stay even more enjoyable! Affordable prices for young budget back packers.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a straight up Party hostel . If you are not bothered about the cleanness then this is best hostel to be in Lagos for partying . well located closed to the bars and the beach is 5 mins walk .
They have pub crawls every day . This is the best party hostel I have ever been in my life .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our stay at Rising Cock was perfect. My friends and I had an 4-bed room with an ensuite to ourselves, so we felt more like we were staying at a hotel. But we still had the social hostel vibe which was great. Mama is amazing! She makes crepes every morning for breakfast and makes you feel right at home. We didn't want to leave. Would definitely stay here again! We're already planning next years trip back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen_e06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hostel was a lot of fun from the very first minute, we were delayed in arriving but were shown to our rooms at 11pm and then drawn into the common area where the party was happening and it [pretty much set the tone for our entire stay there! Mama makes you free crepes and lemon tea in the morning. You can have nutella or honey or other spreads on your crepes. The vibe is fantastic and basically what you pay for, the rooms are ok and the bathrooms alright but having fun is the main thing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This place is by no far the best hostel just by the look of it but you pay for the experience and that's exactly what you get- a mama who is hilarious and makes u crepes every morning, the whole hostel goes out together and plays drinking games. Serious fun happens here!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chooke198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I literally had the time of my life here! The booze cruise is super crazy and the local bars close by are always an awesome night out! The staff are all such great, fun people who party alongside everyone!
Such a great vibe, really close to the beach and mumma makes endless amounts of crepes in the morning!
If you want to get lots of sleep, this isn't the place! Was an awesome extra touch that their were some double bunk beds in the dorms for couples!
Highly recommend The Cock!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#38 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Quinta das Barradas
Quinta das Barradas
#1 of 1 in Odiaxere
6 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa do Joao
Casa do Joao
#1 of 1 in Barao de Sao Joao
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Cock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Cock Hostel

Address: Travessa do Forno 14, Lagos 8600-632, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: £21 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rising Cock Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing