We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quiet in January”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Valmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Valmar
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Bottesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very quiet in January”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Enjoyed our 3 weeks stay during January 2014 at this friendly and very quiet hotel. At times we were the only guests! The 'busiest' night there were 4 other rooms occupied. Good breakfast delivered to room each morning instead of buffet, as so few guests. Staff very helpful. Would recommend superior room on top of block overlooking pool and facing sea/sunsets. Two restaurants a few minutes away on beach - preferred Campimar, although also enjoyed Antonios.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandMarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    39
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for a week at the end of November. It was a lovely hotel, the girl at reception was very pleasant and really helpful. Because of the time of year the hotel was very quiet and we did not try out the pool but it looked very clean. Wifi was only available close to reception and the tv had just 2 English speaking channels. Our room was spotless, quite large with a lovely balcony with a sea view. The room had a fridge, kettle, some coffees and teas and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was big, with a bath and a good shower and the towels were changed daily. The beach was a 10 minute walk and was beautiful. The town was a good 20 minute walk from the hotel and we got lost almost everytime as all the streets looked the same! The bed was comfortable. It was good value for money. I would upload photos but the photos on the hotel website are the same and in no way misleading.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreathnachI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed at Valmar Villas for a week at the end of August. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly girl at reception who was helpful and suggested restaurants to eat at locally. The building itself is very unusual and has retained all its original brickwork and original features.

The bedroom was exceptionally big and although it did have 2 beds they were two doubles so we didn't mind. The room does slightly smell of damp but nothing that would be overwhelming. I was a little worried when I saw the shower as it is over the bath and a little dated however it is very powerful and always hot. There is a large fridge hair dryer and kettle in the room. The cleaning of the room wasn't up to the standard of other hotels I've stayed in. Although towels were changes every day the tea and coffee and bottled water were not replaced at all through our stay etc.

The pool is very nice and clean although a little cold! There always seems to be plentiful pool loungers and the pool area is very quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast is very good but not to everyone's tastes. It is a high quality continental breakfast, however hot food isn't to be expected. Fresh fruit and bread every day. After breakfast there isn't any other food available in the hotel so to eat you would need to walk to a local restaurant or supermarket.

The hotel location is unlike other reviews may have suggested not a half hour walk from the centre of lagos! It is 15 -20 minutes, taxis cost approx. 5 euro.. A car would be beneficial(we had a car for 2 days out of 7 but not absolutely necessary!) I would say the area has a lot of hills so it may not be suitable for older people or children to walk. The nearest beach is Porto de mos which is absolutely stunning, I would say one of the nicest beaches in the area, quite a hill walk back to the hotel though.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at valmar villas, peaceful and relaxing away from the noise of the centre of lagos and close to a fantastic beach! Would definitely return if coming to lagos.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Valmar Villas and loved it. It's close to the Porto do Mos beach (5-10 minutes walk) which is beautiful. The pool is also nice, very clean and well maintained. There's a great sea view from the pool. The staff was nice and helpful. The room was quite spacious and well decorated. The beds were a bit too soft for us but they were comfortable. Rooms were sound proof and the area was extremely quiet at night. A/C was working well. Wifi available in lobby area only. An excellent place to just relax. The breakfast was quite good too with lots of choices.

Be aware though that this hotel is outside the city center. If you want to spend some time in the city center and don't have a car, it's about 25-30 minutes by walk. By taxi it's about 5 minutes and costs about 5-6 euros. Not the ideal place to stay if you're not driving and want to discover the city and the other beaches.

Also, we were a bit disappointed for not getting a double bed as we had booked. Instead, we had 2 single beds that we had to put together ourselves... There was no other room available unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobachisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Close to the beautiful beach with a good restaurant Antonios. A must do when you stay here, sunset dinner!
Superior room where spacious but noisy. Located not in the main building Beds where not ok for us… to small and old. We had to unplug our refrigerator because it did make to mush noise.
To bad.
The rooms could use a makeover.
Breakfast was incredibly ! Sparkling wine is included! Lots to choose from… honestly I never saw such a big breakfast for a rather small hotel.
Large Pool and lots of relax beds. Wifi only in the lobby.
We believe that we paid and honest price for our stay.
Also personnel was helpful and friendly.

You’ll need a car to get to Lagos centrum.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building or with a view on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel in April 2013 and found it very comfortable. Our room had a balcony over looking the sea and the hotel pool and came with a fridge and tea making facilities. A large bathroom with shower over bath.
The staff were exceptional, helpful, even when we turned up for breakfast too early they accommodated us. Breakfasts were the best we have ever had with everything you could wish for European style. Overall we found the place exceptional. No complaints at all from us! We didn't need to have fried eggs

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapoleonSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

As we have a hired car the location is just perfect, nice, peace and quiet. The breakfast was superb lots of varieties from cold cut meats, different cheeses, assorted fruits, pastries etc. We even managed to ask for fried eggs( there was and earlier review about lack of fried eggs or something), try to come earlier before it gets busy and they will obliged. Had spoken with the humble hotel owner himself Mr. Olivera and learnt from him and thru observation that the hotel still maintains and manages a decent occupancy rate despite the lean season, this speaks volume of Villa Valmar, definitely would recommend the place to my friends and if we are in the area would stay again in this Villa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
2,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Valmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Valmar

Property: Villa Valmar
Address: Lot 11 Estrada do Monte Carapeto | Meia Praia Lagos, Lagos, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Valmar 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Valmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valmar Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing