We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very nice hotel tops marks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
secretsquirreltrips
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very very nice hotel tops marks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Vila Gale Lagos is definitely not lacking in style. I loved staying at the hotel. I felt as if I was living in a vogue magazine with the Portuguese fashion images. But my favourite part about this hotel was my room.

The bed was so comfy, the bathroom had a lovely shower and toiletries, the balcony overlooked the pool and the sea and I enjoyed relaxing in front of the tv with some cheeky chocolate cake from room service on my first night.

My second favourite place was the spa enjoying the swimming pool and sauna after travelling from cold Glasgow was the perfect start to my holiday the only thing is to remember to either take a swimming cap or 3 Euros cause the fancier hotels like you to have your hair covered.

This hotel definitely has a wow factor when you enter with a very nice lobby which had a wine tasting when I arrived from their own vineyards in their other hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for couples, families and golfers due to it being so close to golf courses and I over heard them talking about special rates that they give their guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank secretsquirreltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    499
    123
    27
    11
See reviews for
496
516
22
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

My husband and i stayed at the Vila Gale Lagos last October for a week, it was a combination of work/pleasure trip (although pleasure played a big role on that occasion).

We run our own business (fashion related) and this hotel was recommended to us by a friend who had previously used it for business purposes. This was a reconnaissance trip in order to check not only the hotel but also travelling time from airport (and costs) since we are taking a team of photographers and models for a photo shoot to Lagos sometime this summer.

Again our friend came in handy and suggested to us a very good (indeed) transfer firm called lagostransfers com, 5 star service, no fuss, always on time, free gift and loyalty scheme in place, and they have already come up with the perfect solution for our very demanding schedule for this summer. Good value for money.

The Hotel is simply a gem, it’s new, very comfortable beds, it has everything you need, fabulous views, quite location, amazing food (breakfast is out of this world, what a choice!). Plenty of restaurants in and around Lagos, only 15-20min walk, or take a taxi, €5 for the ride. Staff at the hotel were always at hand to give us some tips regarding places to eat, we tried once the a la carte restaurant, no regrets there, amazing food again.
In short, great customer service, very attentive staff, lovely food, they have my approval. See you in the summer and thank you again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulouk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

The group I travelled with were almost the only guests in the hotel but we were offered the full works. All the receptionists were professional, friendly and a mine of information. I have not encountered a better set anywhere. The service in the restaurant and bar was very efficient without being overpowering. Special diets were no problem especially with the helpful staff always ready with advice. The location of the hotel appeared at first to be isolated but we soon discovered the beach, the walk to the Marina and worked out the bus system. Shared taxis proved the best way of getting to and from Lagos. The bedrooms were spotless and very well serviced. The lady who did my room spoke no English but had a beautiful smile and a radiant personality. The whole group had a very happy, relaxing and successful stay despite some showery weather.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayfarer1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I stay here only one night and I only can speak about the infrastructure of the hotel. The room was very modern with all the nice details from the furniture to the towels in the bathroom. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant is a little bit expensive, but you have an excellent buffet sevice with wonderful food and a flawless presentation. The breakfast it's also impeccable, I could take my breakfast there every single day :)
All the details of the hotel were thought: the decor, the garden, the pool, the restaurant...
I definitely recommend this hotel even for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaMaria-Lisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Lagos on your next trip to Algarve.

Best Regards

Porfirio Perdigão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

The good thing about this Hotel is that is brand new. Therefore is quite nice and clean and with new confortable accomodation. The pool is also quite nice and clean. It is quite near the beach, but we had to cross a very busy national road, and the railways (!!!) by foot. Beach is quite ok. Around the hotel, there is no shopping or restaurants reachable by foot.

Now... its quite tacky because is supposedly a hotel dedicated to fashion, with big outdoors of catwalk pictures and some portuguese stylists frocks, but at the same time is a beach hotel. These two things do not combine. Fat people wearing flipflops (like me) do not combine with the higher standard of the hotel. I could see this hotel in the middle of a fashionable metropole, but not in this setting. Its a pitty, really!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charadf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Not a bad hotel. but not great. The rooms bathroom extractor fan only came on at certain times of the day so the bathroom was often smelly and steamed up. The rooms AC smelled of mould whenever it was switched on after coming into the room.

The hotel is about a mile from the nearest bars/restaurants and shops.

The restaurant buffet meal is €22.00 ea - ridiculous price for a bog standard buffet meal.

Hotel claims ot be "on the beach" but in fact it is a 10 minute walk across a main road and a railway track

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pugshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Vile Gale for the last 2 weeks on September. We booked this hotel the day before we arrived (as the hotel we booked through alpharooms had double booked us - not impressed!!), therefore i wasnt able to you my usual reseach, so I was relied on trip advisor reviews - and my god I wasnt disappointed.

We arrived at the hotel, and were greeted by very friendly receptionist, who organised for a man to bring our bags to the room, on route to the room, this man we was very pleasent, and recommended plenty restaurants and things to do around lago. When we got the room, he showed us how to use air con, safe etc? Very impressed.

Views from the room were amazing (we got a sea view), bed very comfy, good selection of TV channels, proper shower and good size bath, towels and sheets cleaned every day. Couldnt ask for much more. we ate twice in the a la carte restaurant - it was fantastic! really good value and amazing food!! I also got a message in the spa!! brilliant!

Breakfast was very good, fresh fruit, breads, hams and cheeses, hot buffet, etc - very very tasty!! and the bar at night time was pretty good too- it was quite, but enjoyable.

The beach is across the road (2 min walk), the marina is a 15 min walk, and the old town is a further 5 minute walk, but a taxi back at night time was only €4.

The only downsides are:
1. the gym costs €10 to use (€5 off peak)
2. Tea/Coffee Facilities would have been nice in the room
3. We were woke up early every mornign with the cleaners moving furniture around

All in all it was a great holiday, and would defo be back again! would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeansterIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#12 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Property: Vila Gale Lagos
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing